We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mixed feelings” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Movenpick Hotel Jeddah

Save Saved
You added Movenpick Hotel Jeddah to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Movenpick Hotel Jeddah
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Madina Road, Jeddah 21451, Saudi Arabia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 87 hotels in Jeddah
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“mixed feelings”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Personally I dont like to stay at this hotel, but that doesnt mean the hotel is not any good.
I only stopped over very short stays- usually just for the night and early check-out and therefore cant really judge too much on the staff or general service of the hotel.
The beds were comfortable to sleep in. The TV channels very limited but typical for Saudi standards. There are small balconies with chair and tables however it is so filthy/dusty that you wouldnt want to even sit outside. Besides, the temperatures are unbearable - so not really an option unless it is winter season and you are a chain smoker who is desperate for a smoke.

What I can confirm however is that the photos of the hotel are a true reflection of the lobby and reception area, restaurant and pool - what you see on the photos is what you get.
With regards to the rooms - although the fotos show a very beautiful picture, the feeling in reality is extremely dark caused by very heavily lined dark curtains.
The rooms and bathrooms although large are missing the "wauw" factor (if that makes any sense).
The restaurant is an absolute pleasure and as a female it gives you a slight sensation of "light" and freshness with the view of the pool area through massive windows.

Internet is absolutely rubbish and a waste of time!!!!

Room Tip: avoid rooms facing the main road !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qadous, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Jeddah, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Dear Sir,

It is always pleasure with us heairng your positive thoughts towards Moevenpick Hotel Jeddah and rest of your comments. Meanwhile, we always have taken into account your feedback and let me assure you that such unpleasant experience shall not be repeated in the future and during your next stay with us you shall expect nothing but the best in terms of hospitality that Jeddah has to offer.

However, thank you for your efforts in taking the time by providing us with your valuable feedback that will contribute us to upscale our services up to our guest 100% satisfactions and expectations.

Please don’t hesitate to contact us if you have any other comments or suggestions to make your future stays with us more comfortable and enjoyable as we do always wish that you enjoyed your stay in Jeddah and it will be a pleasure to be your host at Mövenpick Hotel Jeddah in your next visit.

Thank you and best regards,
Adel Erfan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    40
    20
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
7
5
59
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2012

I stayed at the same hotel some 25 years ago when it was under different name and different management . The hotel has changed entirely to a good four star hotel. My room was in the 4th floor over looking Madina road, there is no good view I guess from all the rooms, but if you are a business visitor, you will need a good clean hotel, comfortable bed, a good breakfast buffet, free Internet and above all, good location near city center and this hotel has got them with a reasonable rate.
Just couple of observations, the concierge should have been an Arab, some one who knows the city and the language, and I also noticed that the phone next to the bed has technical problem (sound could barely be heard), i had noticed this at around 1am, the hotel operator immedialtey sent a technician and replace the phone set. And even though the carpet is clean, but still there is a bit of bad odor, may be coming from the AC or the room needs to have fresh air. But next trip, I will be staying at this hotel because of all the advantages

Room Tip: Always insist on a non smoking room, and open the window for few minutes to have some fresh air
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012 via mobile

I was expecting it's like other Movenpic hotels group but I was shocked from everything ...
Rooms & Locations are ok, even the old design I liked it... Free Internet is available
but services was a miserable, very bad restaurant ... Very limited parking spaces
Really I hated this hotel

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

I stayed at the Moevenpick for two weeks on business during Feb 2012. My room was on the non-smoking 4th floor. I was slightly disappointed with the dated decor of the room but maybe this is the style there. Heavy carpets, overbearing furniture and polished stone bathroom in dark coloured stone. Notwithstanding, the quality was very good, comfortable bed, flat screen TV and all the other accoutrements such as bath robe, slippers etc.

The hotel excelled in service mainly with nice personal touches. Most of the familiar staff remembered my name, how I liked my coffe in the morning asked me about my day etc.. Little things like this make it a more personal experience which I appreciated, having stayed in many bland coerporate complexes such as Novotels etc.

The breakfast buffet was highly impressive with plenty of choice of breads, pastries, fruits, hot breakfast in western and arab style, cereals and so on. More than enough to satisfy anyone. For dinner, I mainly took room service which was actually much cheaper than the dinner buffet. The food was always of a high standard and delivered timely.

Overall, I had a very comfortable stay here. The decor was dated but not at the expense of comfort. In anycase, the warmth of the staff more than made up for that.

Room Tip: Go for a room overlooking the pool. Also, the standard WIFI which is free is more than enough for we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

After the completion of our hajj- my husband and I were able to relax in Jeddah for a 2 days prior to our departure back to the States. The Moevenpick Hotel was by far the best hotel in terms of food, hospitality, and comfort on our whole trip. All the hotels we stayed at in Saudi were Moevenpicks and all were very good- the Moevenpick Hotel n Jeddah was just one notch above the rest. We were pleased at how accommodating and helpful the staff was as well as at how good of a buffet spread was in the restaurant. We had wi-fi that actually worked! The rooms were very spacious and clean. I would only suggest that perhaps the bathrooms are n need of a little updating- but other then that, I would not hesitate to stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kota Kinabalu, Malaysia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

This was a haven in Jeddah.
Traditional, quiet and peaceful
Indian (mainly) personnel were polite and courteous to the extreme.
At reception and on room service they know your name.
Rooms were luxurious, fully carpeted and clean.
Food was a little spartan but I ate most in my room where service was quick and efficient.
Everything was nice here!

Room Tip: Airport transport here is by limousine at a cost of 70 saudi
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

i have been staying in this hotels for few years

I choose this hotel because:

1) Good location, opposite of the road, i can go to my favourite fast foos reastaurant, Al Baik Fried Chicken

2) Staff service is good, actually quite good. In Saudi, hospitality service is quite rare.

3) Room is spacious.

4) Free Internet

5) Nice Asian restaurant in Level 1

6 ) Fantastic breakfast choice in the buffet line.

7 ) Reasonable price rooms.

8) They rate this hotel 3 star but it is more 4 Star Deluxe.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Movenpick Hotel Jeddah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Movenpick Hotel Jeddah

Address: Madina Road, Jeddah 21451, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Jeddah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 87 hotels in Jeddah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Movenpick Hotel Jeddah 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Saudi Arabian seaport city. The Mövenpick Hotel Jeddah is a first-rate venue for meetings and conferences, combining Swiss hospitality and Arabian flair. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Movenpick Hotel Jeddah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Movenpick Hotel Jeddah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.