We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Ok InterContinental, but Great for Jeddah” 4 of 5 stars
Review of InterContinental Hotel Jeddah

Save Saved
You added InterContinental Hotel Jeddah to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
InterContinental Hotel Jeddah
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al Hamra Corniche | P.O. Box 41855, Jeddah 21531, Saudi Arabia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
IHG Special up to 25% Off
Ranked #6 of 87 hotels in Jeddah
Yuma, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“An Ok InterContinental, but Great for Jeddah”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel has some ups and downs. It's not representative of the best the InterContinental brand is capable of offering, though it's a bit older than some, and also a bit off the beaten track. Rooms and amenities were at the expected standard, though you may find yourself wondering about the surprisingly short beds if you're a tall person. The restaurants are very nice and the location is very convenient. There are some renovations going on at the moment, but they are being handled very unobtrusively. For its few flaws, I'd stay here again, although there's a lot of competition in the area. I do give high points to the concierge, who was probably one of the best I've dealt with here in the Kingdom.

International travelers will be happy to note that a number of languages are spoken by the hotel staff. The lobby is huge and very comfortable for lingering over coffee.

The Positive

- Great location on the Al Hama Corniche. Prime views of the King Fahd Fountain
- Good Food - Ferdaus, the buffet restaurant, and Spears, the Brazilian BBQ were top notch.
- Huge Gym - Felt like you were at a small fitness club. Also a separate facility for the ladies.
- Comfortable for Westerners - Good for business travel. Helps mitigate the culture shock
- Late checkout for Ambassador members is a HUGE perk. The airport is miserable.
- Responsive and helpful concierge desk.

The "Needs Work"

- Availability of Club Level rooms was lacking, particularly as an Ambassador member
- The so-called premium room with the fountain view was obstructed by the restaurant building
- Jeddah tends to be an expensive city, but this was 5-star pricing for a 4-star hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, General Manager at InterContinental Hotel Jeddah, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at InterContinental Jeddah and for taking the time to share your experience with us. We greatly appreciate your recognition of our Concierge team and posted a copy of your comments for the entire team.

We appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving guest services and we promise to work it out and make it better for you the next time you stay with us.

Looking forward to welcoming you back at the InterContinental Jeddah whenever your travels bring you to Jeddah.

Sincerely yours,

Salem Al Shahrani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    56
    72
    25
    12
    7
See reviews for
8
7
18
133
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Great gym with good sized rooms. Breakfast was excellent, especially the steak and eggs. The bed was too soft for my preference but the room was comfortable. All in it was perfect for a business trip but not somewhere I'd go for a romantic break.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, General Manager at InterContinental Hotel Jeddah, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing.

With regards to the softness or quality of the mattress, please notify us in your next reservation to make the necessary arrangement according to your preferences.

We look forward to welcoming you back very soon and please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of assistance at any time.

Warm regards,

Salem Al Shahrani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013 via mobile

Hotel team is so much halpfull and professional , the room is well mentained with panoramic view of the famous jeddah fountin, the varity of food is excellent, the new provided luxery cars is another adding value to the hotel services.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, General Manager at InterContinental Hotel Jeddah, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you very much for choosing to stay at InterContinental Jeddah and for taking the time to share your experience with us. Indeed we are thrilled as to your overall positive comments.

We will look forward to welcome you back during your coming visit to Jeddah. And please let me know personally if I may be of any assistance to you.

Sincerely,

Salem Al Shahrani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Nice and huge hotel. I stayed for one night during a business trip. the rooms are big but you need to ask if you want a non-smoking room since you'd normally get a smoking room. there's also gym next to the main hotel building which is quite large and modern.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, General Manager at InterContinental Hotel Jeddah, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to leave a review. We strive to provide the best possible service and experience and it is always great to hear from our guests on how we are doing.

We already updated our record in our system with regards to your room preference, in order to assign a non-smoking room for your next visit.

We are very happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Salem Al Shahrani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

With a view overlooking the red sea and the famous fountain, and an outstanding level of service, this hotel is one of the best in Jeddah. Rooms and suits are very comfy where the quality of every detail speaks of luxury.

The food in the main restaurant is very good, but the two outlets; Spears and the fish restaurant, are super.

There is a nice out door pool and squash courts as well.

The prices are the only issue as they are getting higher every while. Might consider other property in the area

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, General Manager at InterContinental Hotel Jeddah, responded to this review, October 27, 2013
Thank you for your most kind review on TripAdvisor.

I am so pleased that your experience was excellent from arrival to the departure, I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit.

Sincerely yours,

Salem Al Shahrani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

I adore this hotel. It is showing very high standards from many aspects. Great location on red sea with direct view on Jeddah fountain and close from famous Palestine Road. Great facilities, Delicious Food, Claean Rooms but not big enough, Club Rooms are great choice and it will be the ideal choice if there is more varities in Bufet

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, General Manager at InterContinental Hotel Jeddah, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on the site for us and we are delighted that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay from the cleanliness of the room, location, view, facilities and the food taste.

I am so pleased that your experience was excellent from arrival to the departure, I do hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on a future visit.

Warm regards,

Salem Al Shahrani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

I've checked in this hotel twice this year and I was not disappointed thus far.

What I like about this hotel is the availability of women's gym, unlike its sister hotel Intercontinental Riyadh. Nevertheless, breakfast options in Jeddah is limited than in Riyadh.

The hotel is located on the Jeddah Corniche where you can take walks along the coastal stretch and enjoy a myriad of coffee shops, ice cream parlors, shopping malls, and fine dining outlets.

If you're on a business trip, it's a safe bet to go for this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
InterContinenta... M, General Manager at InterContinental Hotel Jeddah, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on InterContinental Jeddah. We are very glad that you were satisfied with the hotel services.

We will look forward to welcome you back during your coming visit to Jeddah. And please let me know personally if I may be of any assistance to you.

Sincerely,

Salem Al Shahrani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to InterContinental Hotel Jeddah? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Hotel Jeddah

Address: Al Hamra Corniche | P.O. Box 41855, Jeddah 21531, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Jeddah
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 87 hotels in Jeddah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Hotel Jeddah 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A GRACIOUS RETREAT OVERLOOKING THE RED SEA InterContinental Jeddah’s appeal goes beyond its locale just five minutes from downtown and the commercial district. Tahlia Street boutiques, the Old Town of Al Balad, Jeddah Fountain and scuba diving in the Red Sea are a few of the popular attractions nearby. The Holy Cities of Makkah and Madinah are short drives away... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your InterContinental Hotel Jeddah reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage InterContinental Hotel Jeddah, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.