We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty old hotel” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Jeddah Al Salam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Jeddah Al Salam to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Jeddah Al Salam
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   King Khaled Street, Makkah Road | PO Box 6582, Jeddah 21452, Saudi Arabia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #22 of 102 Hotels in Jeddah
Antwerp, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dirty old hotel”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This hotel is dirty. Excepted for the TV and the light bulbs it gives the impression that nothing is renewed in the last 15 years.
Big signs indicate that in the summer of 2013 renewing of the hotel will start.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faisal M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Jeddah Al Salam, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Dear Filip,

As you noticed the hotel is undergoing renovation and first phase of the renovation will be completed by end of July.

We sincerely apologize the inconveneice caused to you and we look forward to welcoming you in our renovated floor in a few weeks.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    80
    66
    27
    28
See reviews for
15
5
15
176
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairo, Egypt
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Being a priority club platinum member, I've done my fair share of travelling and staying at Holiday Inns around the world. Having said that, this is hands down, by far the worst.
The hotel is extremely old and could be an excellent location for anyone wanting to shoot a movie depicting the 80s.

I checked in very late at night, with the check-in process taking longer than it was supposed to, and eventually managed to make it to my room. The bathtub is chipped in all sorts of places and there is mold on the ceiling. At some point in time i assume the tiles were white, now they are a lovely shade of yellow.

Anyways, was far too tired to go through the hassle of changing rooms and it was only going to be a single night. The internet isnt complimentary, having purchased an internet pass, i was very dissapointed at the speed i got in return, which probably went with the 80s theme that is prevalent throughout the hotel.

As the cherry on top, i got stuck in the elevator with me having to call reception or house keeping several times for someone to come, eventually someone did come to open the doors due to my banging. The whole fiasco took something in the vicinity of 30 minutes.

The only benefit to this hotel is that it is very close to Makkah gate if you intend on going to Makkah, other than that, stay clear of this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faisal M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Jeddah Al Salam, responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Mr. Khairy,

We rergert to know that you were not impressed with your stay in our hotel last year. We are delighted to update you that we already have replaced two elevators and the remaining four will be rplaced by end of june. We have closed two floors for thorough renovation which will be completed by end of July.

We appreciate your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you in our renovated rooms and and new facilities later part of the year.

Yours sincerely

Faisal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

For this business Trip, our company did bookedus at this Hotel. Itis a typical Holiday Inn, with the usual Standard. Very customerorientated Employees, who had been very friendly all the time during our Stay there. The only thing we did ot like, isthe Elevator Problem. They shouldrebuilt it immediate ...! Breakfast was good and large Selection of Items!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faisal M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Jeddah Al Salam, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your time to share your comments with TripAdvisor. We have noted your concern about the elevators. We apologize if any inconvenience caused to you. We already repalced two elevators and installation of the remaining four elevators is in progress. All the elevators in the hotel will be replaced with new elevators by end of June.

Thank you once again and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again at Holiday Inn Jeddah Al Salam.

Faisal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

Other than the lobby and swimming pool there is nothing good about this hotel. The rooms were so old and smelt of damp. The bathroom was small and smelly. The breakfast was a shambles...the coffee machine wasn't working and while everything looked appetizing....it tasted stale.

The lifts are so old and actually quite a scary experience if on your own!

To top of the awful experience...the hotel charged for the kids when their own website clearly states kids stay for free!!! What a rip off. We had no time to argue as we had a plane to catch.

I should have listened more carefully to other reviews...if you have the choice and at least until the hotel has been renovated I wouldn't stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Jeddah Al Salam, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear issanasrin,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. Please accept our sincerest apology for the overall issues you had during your stay. I want to assure you that our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product. For that reason, I have sent you a private message to obtain some additional details regarding your experience. Thank you and we look forward to hearing from you soon.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed in Holiday Inn Jeddah Al Salam for three nights which i consider satisfactory. The hotel is located on old Makkah road, i had some difficulties during locating the hotel ( i rented a car ).
The rooms were clean well equiped and wide enough.
I suppose the Elevators are very old and slow. May be the hotel should undergo some renovation. There are not enough parking space within the hotel. Most of the Guests were families and groups coming for Haj & Omra.

Room Tip: I think the rooms are similar, we had to relocate our rooms looking for rooms with connected door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faisal M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Jeddah Al Salam, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Mr. Alhmadi,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments on TripAdvisor. We are glad to know that you enjouyed your stay with us. Two new elevators are functioning from yesterday, 14th April and installartion of remaining 4 elevators is in progress. Expected to have all new elevators by end of May. We already started renovating the hotel with no incovenience to our guests.

Mr. Ahmadi, thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Jeddah Al Salam for your stay in Jeddah and look forward to serving you again soon.

Best regards

Faisal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

This is a hotel with an elevator problem! Only one working in a VERY busy hotel. The rooms are clean but not well maintained with exposed wiring evident. As with the Red Sea Palace hotel which I also stayed at on this trip, apparently there is a renovation programme going on but I did not see any evidence of this. The bed was comfortable enough and the air conditioning was blissfully quiet so I did get a good night’s sleep. You will need two-pin (round like in mainland Europe) adaptors to use your own electrical appliances. WiFi was available at a daily charge but signal strength was not very good. Breakfast was available at an additional charge and was nicely presented as a buffet in a modern clean and peaceful restaurant. The selection was varied and good quality. The restaurant was not busy but tables were set and everything well stocked.

Reception staff were efficient and welcoming. Between this and the Red Sea Palace I would say this is definitely the better choice. I do not know Jeddah at all so cannot speak about location i.e which is better but if I have to travel to Jeddah again I would be happier here. The hotel does need to get the elevator situation sorted out though.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faisal M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Jeddah Al Salam, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear sir,

it was a pleasure hosting you at Holiday In Jeddah Al Salam. The new elevators are on trial run now and will open to our guests from 1st of April. We apologize if any inconvenience caused to you during the installation of the new elevators. Renovating the floors will be from 1st Of April which will start with 2nd floor. We have noted your remarks on Wi FI connectivity and we will take necesary action to sort that out.

We look forward to another opportunity to serveing you in a near future.

Best regards

Faisal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I would like to comment on the excellent customer service that I've received from Mr. Omar. His warm personnality and hospitality have made my many visits to the Holliday Inn Al- Salam enjoyable, and I will frequent this hotel in future visits to Jeddah.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faisal M, Director of Sales at Holiday Inn Jeddah Al Salam, responded to this review, March 31, 2013
Dear Joel,

Thank you very much for your comment and we are plesed to know that you have been impressed with services of our Front Desk staff Mr. Omar.

Joel, we are looking forward to welcoming you again at Holiday Inn Jeddah Al Salam in a near future..

Faisal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Jeddah Al Salam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Jeddah Al Salam

Address: King Khaled Street, Makkah Road | PO Box 6582, Jeddah 21452, Saudi Arabia
Phone Number:
Location: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Jeddah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 102 Hotels in Jeddah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Jeddah Al Salam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 319
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the commercial center of Jeddah. Five minutes to the Red Sea and the financial area. 40 kms to the international airport and 2 kms to the city center. The nearest hotel in Jeddah to the Holy city of Makkah and 5 kms to the beautiful resorts of the Red Sea. 319 rooms and suites; 11 floor high rise building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Jeddah Al Salam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Jeddah Al Salam Hotel Jeddah
Jeddah Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Jeddah Al Salam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.