We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly nice Japanese” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sakura Japanese Restaurant

Sakura Japanese Restaurant
Al Cornich Road | Crowne Plaza Jeddah Hotel, Jeddah 23212, Saudi Arabia
+966 12 6611000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 273 Restaurants in Jeddah
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Sakura is Crowne Plaza Jeddah’s signature Japanese Restaurant located at the ground floor of the Hotel and can be accessed independently from the main road, opening every day for both lunch and dinner. Offering a high quality selection of Japanese food prepared by the one of the best Chefs’ in the Japanese Culinary world Chef Ho Dinh Son who has a wide experience in Japan and Vietnam and has a records of many Openings of Japanese Restaurants
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Surprisingly nice Japanese”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

It's tucked away in the back of the hotel but is pretty spacious inside. You have a choice of sitting at tables or at the sushi bar - the latter is more interesting due to the action behind the bar. The service is warm and friendly. The place was pretty empty last week in the evening, though that might be due to it being Ramadan - people were probably just finishing their iftar at other places when we went in to dine. Their menu is the size of a book, loaded with options. The amuse bouche - a chicken salad with lemongrass dressing - was a nice touch to start off. The 32-piece sushi dishes come on a wooden boat - just the right bit of drama to enliven a dinner. I tried the teppanyaki wagyu beef, which delivered adequately on flavor. Overall, a nice meal with efficient service.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpjeddah, General Manager at Sakura Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your valued comments. We are indeed delighted to receive your good feed back with regard to staying at Crowne Plaza Jeddah . Again, thank you very much. If we can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us. Meantime, we are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you at Crowne Plaza Jeddah - "Traveling for Success”

Sincerely yours,

Rafique Izhiman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    26
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Very nice Japaneses Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Very nice Japaneses Restaurant with delicious SUSHI & Noodles.
Good Seating decoration & nice service with helpful staff.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cpjeddah, General Manager at Sakura Japanese Restaurant, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your valued comments. We are indeed delighted to receive your good feed back with regard to staying at Crowne Plaza Jeddah . Again, thank you very much. If we can be of any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us. Meantime, we are looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you at Crowne Plaza Jeddah - "Traveling for Success”

Sincerely yours,

Rafique Izhiman
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great sushi, and that's it....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We were there few nights ago and the ambience of the restaurant was quite impressive. You will be greeted with attentive waiters with the utmost warmth and the japanese music in the background is bound to make you relax in the right mood. Alvin was our waiter and he had all the information needed to satisfy my queries about the menu.
A pot of Japanese green tea, although not of a Japanese brand but one of Dilmahs, had put us abit off. True enough, the tea had no rich flavour like the powdered versions served in proper restaurants, and to my knowledge not as authentic as the tea leaves come from Sri Lanka.
We were also not very impressed with the Miso Ramen. The ramen noodles were not as 'springy' as expected and the miso broth not very flavourful, perhaps not enough miso and dashi?
The BBQ seafood with special sauce was alright with flavours akin to the Tomyum but not the same.
Finally, the saving grace of the day was the mixed sushi set. The freshness of the seafood cuts and delicate portions were all very well balanced with sprinkles of caviar / fish roe, all served in a nicely presented Japanese wooden sushi boat. Chef Ho Dinh Son has done a good job with the sushi. I only wished i had a better pair of chopsticks (a personal fuss of mine) than the disposables offered to dine his delicate sushi.
Dinner for two cost us 300 riyals ++.
In perspective, this is Jeddah and not Tokyo. And this is the best Japanese meal in town we've had after trying one after another.
I would go back, but only for the sushi.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“No 1 Suchi Dine in Rest in Jeddah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Amazing Dine in Restaurant. Perfect service, nice presentation, nice atmosphere. Maybe a bit expensive compared to other suchi restaurants in Jeddah but it's worth it. Food is great!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best Japanese Restaurant in Jeddah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Ambiance is great. A real Zen ambiance. The staffs are all courteus and very friendly. The food, the best japanese food I ever had. My week is never complete without a visit to Sakura.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sakura Japanese Restaurant also viewed

Jeddah, Makkah Province
Jeddah, Makkah Province
 
Jeddah, Makkah Province
Jeddah, Makkah Province
 

Been to Sakura Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sakura Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.