We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mixed cuisine” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Siran

Chez Siran
Al-Rawdah Star Complex, Al-Rawdah St | GPS Coordinations: 21.55898,39.153135, Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
966-2-2616910
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #176 of 273 Restaurants in Jeddah
Cuisines: Lebanese, Armenian
Restaurant details
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“mixed cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

+
elevator
nice service
tasty dishes .. similar to Lebanese food


-
they serve shisha "kind of smoke"

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    5
    3
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
“Nice Resturant, but with downside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012

This is a nice Armenian cuisine (almost similar to Lebanese) food quality and service is very good
prices are moderate and the restaurant atmosphere is pleasant except for these two down side of the restaurant is the shesha smoke and car parking is limited

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Excellent to visit with a group”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

This is a lovely restaurant that is spacious and warm. Food is excellent and the portions are huge.

Try the sojok in earthware and meet with cherry. The reason why I like this restaurant with a group, cause it is not full all te time. Going as a couple may be a bit boring as you won't find many people around you.

But overall it's a really good restaurant

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
“A Nice Blend of Lebanese and Armenian Cuisines”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2012

This was my second visit for the restaurant. I really liked it the first time, but was not added to my list of restaurant that I must visit regularly. My biggest reason is the Shisha (Hubbly bubbly) that they serve in the dining space, which is the biggest put off in my book. Still I remembered how good the food and the ambience were, so I thought I should revisit. This is a restaurant that combined the Lebanese cuisine with the Armenian. It's the brain child of a Lebanese Armenian lady named Siran, hence the name "Chez Siran" which Armenian for Siran's Mansion. The anecdote behind the restaurant is written in its elegant menu.

The restaurant is divided into two levels, the ground level is for single men, and the first floor is for families and ladies. You can see from the outside how unique is the restaurant with its smartly design interiors. Simple wooden tables and chair, and white walls covered with colorful plates, nice and elegant. The big panoramic glass window that overlooks the parking lot gives it a feel openness and brightness. The hosts and waiters are graceful but they lack certain warmth and not the most personable. Still the service is competent enough and fast enough that I don't have a particular complain about it, to be fair.

Upon your arrival and while you are waiting for your order, a waiter would bring a basket of hot beta bread with olive and butter, and you can hardly restrain yourself from gorging on that delicious bread which they keep refilling when emptied, so this is one thing you wanna be on the lookout for while you there. I mentioned the menu above, and it is an extensive one. The strength of it is really not in the main dishes, which are great, but it's in the very elaborate number of Mezzas cold and hot. Mezzas are like Tapas in Spanish restaurants, small plates of different appetizers. My favorite is the Spicy Shrimp Coriander, which is just out of this world. We tried also the Soujoukh (diced Lebanese beef sausage) in tomatoes sauce, and Labne (sour cream) with walnut and spices, both were great. Su Boereg on the other hand (puff pastry with layers of cheese) was not that good. We only ordered one main dish "Metzanov Kebab" which is basically several beef patties topped with sour cream and roasted almonds and beta bread croutons. A simple unpretentious dish but very delicious. The waiters informed me that they serve a breakfast menu starting from 8 am, which I am yet to try, but became a big motivation for a near future visit.

The ambience of the place is very warm, despite the aloofness of the waiters (I have to stress that they are competent and respectful). The background music is a constant loop of Lebanese legend singer Fairouz which only adds to its warmth and authenticity. The place has a non-smoking section, but despite the clear effort in keeping it neat, clean, and pleasant, the effect of serving Shisha is unmistaken from the first sniff. The tobacco odor is something you can't miss or escape when you are there even though no one was smoking in the floor at the time we were there. Regretfully, it comes with the territory for Jeddah residents and visitors, and nothing we can do but to put up with that. Price-wise the place is affordable, not cheap and not very expensive. A meal for me and my wife with four different Mezzas, 1 main dish, and 2 juices, sent me back 212.75 Saudi Riyal (US $56.75) including 15% service charge, not bad for the meal we had.

To sum it up, the place deserves at least a visit, mainly for its great food. But I recommend not going for dinner on weekends, because Rawdah Star Complex, which houses many restaurants and cafes including "Chez Siran", is infamous for its impossible parking and noisy crowds.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Siran also viewed

Jeddah, Makkah Province
 
Jeddah, Makkah Province
Jeddah, Makkah Province
 

Been to Chez Siran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Siran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.