We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best italian restaurant in Jeddah” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Portofino

Portofino
Rawdhah Street, Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #71 of 273 Restaurants in Jeddah
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Tashkent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“the best italian restaurant in Jeddah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

you can find delicious mediterranean cuicine , proposed by the owner Lallo , and proposals based on seafood available in the red sea of Jeddah

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    5
    4
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“good but not the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

One of the reccomend but not the best. The italian cuisine is quite tasty, but I have eaten better even if not cooked by italian cooker. Didn't like really the place, looks so sad... and dark. Big plus for the quality of the food, all made from italian ingradients (heard).

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“My favorite Italian Restaurant in Jeddah”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

Fresh Ingredients, 100% Italian recopies, amazing chef/owner, great atmosphere... in my opinion it's No. 1 in Pastas in Jeddah ..
It's always the highlight of my day ever time i go there ...

  • Visited July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent authentic pasta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

This restaurant serves the best pasta in jeddah! You must try the salmon when in season . Also the grilled seafood plate is a must to try.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“good food and hospitality, BUT !”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

Portofino used to be my favourite italian restaurant in Jeddah as it serves the real authentic italian food. However, since I worked at King Faisal Specialist Hospital (across the street from the restaurant), I recommended this place to a company that sponsored an event at the hospital in terms to have the group lunch there. I guess there were 30+ people and they served 3 courses lunch cuisine (a selection of sea food or veal). Almost everyone who had the sea food dishes had a severe food poisoning that admitted half of them to hospitals for few days.
I spoke with the owner of the restaurant and he was very cooperative in providing us with information about how do they purchase their sea food and storage.

I basically loved the atmosphere of the place, but after this incident, I will never go back there again.

TIP: avoid sea food, and just go with pasta and pizza..

  • Visited March 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Portofino also viewed

Jeddah, Makkah Province
Jeddah, Makkah Province
 
Jeddah, Makkah Province
Jeddah, Makkah Province
 

Been to Portofino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Portofino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.