We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Habitat

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save Saved
You added Habitat to your Saves list
Habitat
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Madinah Road, Jeddah 21456, Saudi Arabia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 90 Hotels in Jeddah
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very Good hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

I have stayed here like 4 times in last 2 years. Once for a whole week
The hotel is very nice and first choice to Jeddah. The rooms and the interior are very nice. The hotel has a lot of inhouse furniture and decoration.
It is located on intersection of Hira street and Madina Street and has very good proximity to the airport (20 km), Mall of Arabia is 1 km away and the Exhibition centre is just 5 minutes walk. The only down side is if you dont have a car then you have to catch a taxi who sometimes charge you four times over sensing you are from outside, always need to bargain them to the quarter price. NEarest restaurants are on Hira street which is a 400 metres walk then you have KFC and other fast food but the area around the hotel is empty plots of land with debris and garbage on them.

If you have a car then it is very good location to get anywhere in Jeddah though the traffic on Madina street in peak times is maddening but you can go through inner roads.

The breakfast here is good and they dont have wi fi in the rooms but wired internet whcih sometimes tests ones patience. In house service is good
There is a swimming pool on the top . Nas Air also houses some of its staff here so there is lots of people around always.

Once I gave them some extra baggage (heavy samples) that I couldnt carry on my flight back to Dubai and they kept it for 4 months until my next trip.

I woould however always prefer to stay here though a lot of nice restaurants are further away and people would prefer other hotels down the road

Room Tip: always ask for a room closer to the lift and facing away from the main road. as some rooms to the ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    17
    21
    6
    4
See reviews for
5
3
6
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 via mobile

This has to be the worst hotel I have ever stay at. I had to change rooms 3 times because of the stench of urine in the bathroom, sticky floors the room feeling unclean. The air conditioning has only one temperature...freezing! When you turn it off, you will soon find the smell of damp and must. Beds and sheets are damp.

However, the rooms are quite big, you have a separate lounge which is very depressing and needs updating. Wifi in only available in this area and the connection is quite poor.

Check the water before you use the bath or shower. It is very brown and dirty. I have not experienced this in any other hotel in Jeddah.

I was not at all impressed with the food. I prefer to get room service. Avoid this. I had the same issue every night. Either the items on the menu are not available or the person at the other end of the phone does not understand what it is you want. They obviously don't know the menu very well. When you receive your food, it's either been reheated or overcooked and cold. My chicken was so dry and chewy.

I tried the Italian restaurant on the rooftop on my last night. They offer a buffet for SAR100. Pasta was undercooked, meat cold. Waiters are very slow. I was asked what I'd like to drink just before I left.

They offer an express laundry service for 30% ontop of the price. They say it will be ready within 3 hrs. I waited 12 hrs and only received it when I called for it to be delivered back to my room. They still tried charging me the extra.

There is no point in making a formal complaint to the General Manager there who is Italian. He has no concern about providing a service. When I complained, it resulted in him throwing his arms about and shouting at me. Very rude.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Staff good on arrival and suites are large and comfortable, with tv available in both lounge and bedroom. Furniture somewhat old fashioned but the bed is large and comfortable.
Breakfast not the greatest but fair dinner is available.
Service at the buffet dinner sadly lacking and we had to ask for cutlery after every course.
The hotel is within easy access of the airport and outside of the very heavy Jeddah traffic, even although it is on one of the main roads leading into the city.

Room Tip: Ask for external rooms as the centre core rooms have no windows facing outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

Terrible experience!
Rooms might be big and spacious but take under serious consideration all of the below comments;
1) dirt everywhere, especially in the bathrooms
2) no internet in the rooms, available only at the cafe on the 3rd floor
3) dark living room with no windows
4) stained carpets
5) outdated and worn furniture
6) worn towels, sheets etc
7) food below average
8) service below average

I would DEFINITELY not stay there again, even for a few hours

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

Ideal for business man that have to spend the night in Jeddah after or before a flight and for families. It is always packed of Saudi Families.

Room very big. Just avoid inner room that don't have natural light at all.

Breakfast buffet is all right even though nothing to write home.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The Habitat tries hard to be a decent hotel but unfortunately fails on my counts.
It is located in a very busy area of town on Madina Road where one needs to navigate through the infamous Jeddah traffic!

Inside, the decor is very Louis IV in a cheapish kind of way. The hotel has only suites, but one has to take this with a pinch of salt.

Although large, the suites have several problems. The living room area has no window, which means it is always dark and depressing. The furniture is clearly old and dated and cleanliness also leaves a bit to be desired.

The bedroom thankfully does have a window but the curtains in my suite had stains on them as did the carpet. The bed was quite comfortable but I don't really fancy a wall of bevelled glass behind my bed's headrest!

Food at the hotel is below average or average at best. When I went for iftar I was given a table but after a few minutes another two complete strangers were made to come and share my table! The same happened later at suhour - a gentleman unceremoniously joined my table obviously because there wasn't enough space!

The other problem is that it's not even cheap! I paid 800 Saudi riyals per night and for a little bit more one can get into a proper international chain hotel near the Corniche where everything is the way one expects it to be! I moved out as soon as I could find an alternative which in my case was the Crowne Plaza and later the Park Hyatt.

Unless you have no other choice, I would stay away!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Habitat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Habitat

Address: Madinah Road, Jeddah 21456, Saudi Arabia
Location: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Jeddah
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Jeddah
#16 Luxury Hotel in Jeddah
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Habitat 4.5*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Habitat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Habitat Hotel Jeddah

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Habitat, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.