We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“my home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albilad Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Albilad Hotel to your Saves list
Albilad Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Al Corniche | P.O. Box 6788, Jeddah, Saudi Arabia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 102 Hotels in Jeddah
Abha, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“my home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

there is not a better choice in jeddah for the location,price and service.
the hotel rooms are basic,but the beds are some of the most comfortable i've slept on.the rooms are very simple and have flat screen tv.the house keeper changes sheets and towels and refresh the toilleteries everyday.there is no coffee /tea facility in the room but the restaurant has many fresh choices for a couple of bucks.
there is renovation going on at the moment and there is some noise from 10 o 'clock in the morning till 4 in the afternoon.i am a light and late sleeper and i bring with me earplugs so no noise would bother me.
there is also the bungallow choice where the rooms are cozy, and have a big sitting room with a balcony with view to the albilad beautiful gardens ,tennis courts (there are a few)and the sea .
in a walking distance(maybe 20minutes) is the red sea mall,where you can find many brand or no brand name stores and a huge groceries store("danube")
the location of this hotel is most desirable because the corniche is right across the street and you can enjoy a stroll but you cannot swim in the sea at this point.there is the swimming pool ,beside the hotels building,only for men.
many years ago,i used to stay in other 4 or 5 stars hotels in jeddah,but i've never felt safe as a female traveller ,like in albilad,
i am happy to stay in this place ,because the service is excellent ,the accomodation is what i need( basic,clean and safe ) and the price is acceptable for the 4 stars rank.
there is ,still a courtesy buss to down town where you can see the old souk and buy souvenirs.
my only regret is that they don"t have the beach space ,anymore,where i could go and have many lovely days spent swimming and snorkeling.
the food served on their terrace is some of the best you can find as a buffet .everyday there is a theme buffet:saturday is "italian",sunday is "charcoal grills",monday is"red monday"(sounds like "red october"-lol),tuesday -"arabian night",wednesday is "french night",thursday -"the huge bbq",friday is my favorite "family brunch" (that is today!!!)and in the evening is the "asian night"!
at albilad,everybody wants to please and help the guests and that makes me feel welcomed and valued.
i would like to thank them on this way,but they are too many to write about them on here

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    19
    14
    8
    1
See reviews for
4
4
5
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hamala, Bahrain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

If you want a business stay-over in Jeddah with a relaxed, holiday type atmosphere, Albilad Hotel should be your destination. An oasis of hospitality within a tropical garden oasis facing the Red Sea on the posh Corniche, close to the new business district, it is only 15 minutes away from the international airport and 20 minutes from old downtown Jeddah.

It is an old hotel once managed by the Swiss Movenpick Hotels, and you can choose to stay in one of the 153 rooms located in the main building or in one of the 39 garden bungalows with private terrace or balcony overlooking the densely mature gardens and tennis courts. Some of the rooms had received a much-needed refurbishment the last time I was there, but even in the old rooms the theme was cozy and comfortable.

I have to select one of the pre-set "When did you travel?" dates below, but I should add that I have been visiting Jeddah off and on since 1985 and have never stayed anywhere but the Albilad Hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Rooms are very old, some of them they never get fully dry as humidity took over long time ago. Noise is continuous, they are renovating for more than a year, drilling and hammering starts at 10 am everyday, sometimes hot water is missing for one or more days. They have an arab wedding room and they use it quite often, this will bring music loud up to 4 am. Food is average and quite expensive. Reception staff is sometimes friendly sometimes not, I have been answered that was not their problem if I have to work early morning and the "disco" was fully on just one wall away from my room. Internet is quite slow. Definitely better to find another place...

Room Tip: Stay away from rooms near the "disco"
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

The hotel is not a fancy high end hotel but cozy, comfortable and quiet. Staff are friendly and hospitable. Continental breakfast is excellent with good choice of food. Has lots of green vegetation + good sporting recreational activities. TV on the bungalow suites are already Flat screen LCD/LED. Overall the hotel is not cheap but also not expensive but you get the value of what you pay for. And with its location being at the Corniche, its it is excellent place to relax.

Room Tip: My advise: bungalows are spacious and always quiet and always book way in advance as they are always...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Ar Riyad, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Hotel is not a fancy one but still cozy and have a lot of green spaces and always holding many activities in its outdoor restaurant, rooms are old style, TVs are CRT mostly but still clean.
The best thing is the location on the cornich road and they have another outer café on the cornich were they serve hot drinks, light food and sheesha,
You can never find a better value for money on Jeddah cornich road.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
69 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
137 helpful votes 137 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Albilad is an old hotel, currently under rehabilitation.

On the whole, service is good. Cleanliness is fine. The room is old fashioned, especially the bathroom, and AC is noisy. Otherwise, without AC, this is quiet and you sleep well. The hotel doesn't give any complimentary bottle of drining water. On some floors, AC is leaking in the corridor.

Buffet breakfast is good with a large choice of food: different sorts of bread, pastries, cereals, fruits, yogurts, salmon, salad, wafles, eggs, etc.

You can enjoy a nice 25m swimming pool (still needs a bit of rehabilitation and only for men), tennis, squash...

The beach on the other side of the road is dirty and you can't swin anyway.

The full rate is 120 to 150 euros. I would recommend this hotel only if you could negotiate a rate of ~ 80 euros. At that price, you would get what you paid for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

This seems to be a preferred choice of stop over for guests who want to enjoy the cheaper option to stay at the cornish (for walks). It given the impression of a motel rather than a hotel -evidently a very old. However still serves its purpose the house guests for what ever purpose they require. The lobby is hectic with people in and out or roaming - not convinced if they are all hotel guests. Strange atmosphere - not sure if I like it.
The access to taxis becomes a huge problem at night for some bizarre reason. All taxis hang around the Hilton hotel, which is a couple of blocks up the road. So you find yourself without transport at night unless you walk the distance to the Hilton Hotel.

There is a choice of hotel rooms or bungalows. The hotel has a TINY lift which you wonder if the doors actually will open once you reach the desired floor. The smaller hotel rooms are disgustingly smelly with the stench of cigarettes and you can hear every single door that slams closed. It feels more like a hostel rather than a hotel. The bunglows are double story - be prepared to carry your luggage up the stairs as the porters are very busy.

I have never seen or experienced a better buffet in the entire Jeddah to be honest - HIGHLY RECOMMENDABLE especially the seafood night. Starve yourself the day before in order to have the full value of this feast as the choice is so massive that you dont even manage to get through half of the buffet! The best of the best food - you cant imagine it until you see it with your own eyes. Unbelievable!

With regards to staff - I cant really comment too much on a personal level but have noticed that there are some issues. Having said that however, not surprising at the massive volume of guests that walk through the lobby - In all fairness, not an easy job for the staff I would say.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Albilad Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albilad Hotel

Address: Al Corniche | P.O. Box 6788, Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Location: Saudi Arabia > Makkah Province > Jeddah
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 102 Hotels in Jeddah
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Albilad Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Despegar.com so you can book your Albilad Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albilad Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.