We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TRAVEL ALERT: SECURITY CONCERNS More info

“Good BUDGET hotel; great location and patio.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Beit Wakil

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aleppo
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Beit Wakil
Save
You added Beit Wakil to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Al Jdaidah - Sissi St, Aleppo, Syria   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Aleppo
Buckeye, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good BUDGET hotel; great location and patio.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2010

Since I travel on a strict budget, I am used to hostels, so this was no big surprise. It is not a 3 or 4 star hotel, but fine as a hostel. Location is its best quality. A fun way to be a part of the local culture........every street is an adventure. I would recommend this to my friends who travel on a budget, but not to those who require 4 star quality.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    15
    13
    15
    8
See reviews for
7
14
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

the courtyard is nice , the location ok. The rest is terible. The service and breakfast are bad. But the rooms : wouldn't keep my dog in them ! We travel every year for 3 - 4 months, but in 15 years we havn't seen such a room !!!! One star would be too much. And the bathroom ! Just look at the foto : they plug holes in the tiles ( electricity ?) with a plaster ( medic strip used for blisters or so ) . But the hotel doesn'y care.. they fill the rooms with unsuspecting groups ! Shame on Alepo , shame on Syria !
S

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2010

The public areas of this old mansion look promising on arrival but the guest rooms are simply dreadful: it is a very old conversion in every respect - and it shows. What there was in the rooms (not much, and there was no safe) didn't work, the beds were soft and smelly and the dirt was everywhere - in fact above the height you could easily reach with your hand Beit Wakhil hasn't been properly cleaned in decades.

There is no excuse for a place like this and we heard elsewhere that the lease on this place is coming up for renewal. I hope someone else takes it on and fixes it up though it will cost millions.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2010

I stayed here in 2007 and loved it - but standards have gone down. The service is not good, and the food barely edible. I guess with more travellers coming to Syria, they think they don't have to offer good service anymore.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zutphen
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

We spent 3 nights in Beit Wakil during our Syria-trip. We had a very large room (having seen 2 other rooms, I think we were very lucky!), but a very, very tiny and old-fashioned bathroom with a torn and dirty shower-curtain and plastic bathroom utilities. There was no 4 star luxury and atmosphere at all in the room and bathroom. Two separate beds with uncomfortable mattresses, one spare bed in the corner, two air conditionings of which one (the newest one) didn't work at all.
The room (nr. 12) and bathroom desperately need renovation, modernisation and re-decoration!
Beit Wakil is certainly not a 4 star hotel, however they pretend to be one.
The staff is rather stiff.
Above all this, it is not possible to pay with Visa for food and consumptions used in the hotel, not even if you have a room in the hotel (note: they have a large Visa-sticker on the reception door.)
Although the location of the hotel is good, and the building is beautiful, we would not recommend this hotel to anybody.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2010

This hotel was an absolutely wonderful experience.
The location is perfect in the old narrow streets in the old part of Aleppo with shopping, restaurants and the big citadel within very short walking distance.
The staff was very friendly and helpful and the inner courtyard was a bliss.
The sound of the waters of the small fountain, the view of all the greenery in the inner courtyard and the strong smell of jasmin, and the authentic Mamluk Architecture was all together making you feel like being a part of the 1001 nights adventure.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2010

This hotel is overrated by Lonely Planet. I am sure when it was first converted it was quite stellar. But our first room over the street was unbelievably cold - we couldn't layer on enough blankets. We moved rooms. The second room was fine but was stark and over the restaurant. We looked into moving into the rooms along the courtyard but they were tiny! I wouldn't recommend this hotel, but would certainly recommend the area.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Beit Wakil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beit Wakil

Address: Al Jdaidah - Sissi St, Aleppo, Syria
Location: Syria > Aleppo Governorate > Aleppo
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 28 Hotels in Aleppo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Beit Wakil 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Beit Wakil Hotel Aleppo
Beit Wakil Aleppo

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Beit Wakil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.