We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful old colonial house” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sayo River Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Sayo River Guest House to your Saves list
Sayo River Guest House
Vat Xieng Thong area, along the Mekong River, Luang Prabang, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #115 of 226 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Suzhou
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“wonderful old colonial house”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2011

Wonderful house, we had a beautiful corner room with a mezzanine for the children, it had a lot of charm and character. Located very centrally so very convenient for everything in Luang Prabang. The people at the desk were also really helpful.
One minus point: there is no breakfast in the hotel, with small children it is a little cumbersome to start the day looking for a place to have breakfast (there are many places but we somehow couldn't find a really good option).
Also no wifi in the rooms.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    40
    22
    9
    9
See reviews for
5
53
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
143 reviews 143 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2011

I stayed for 6 nights in one of the cheaper "back" rooms at Sayo Xiang Mouane. The hotel location is excellent. The room was simple but large, clean and quiet. The hotel service was adequate and I had no problems (reported by other TA reviewers) about reservations not being held. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado springs
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

We chose this hotel because it was right on the riverfront at the boat launch area, but that turned out to be totally unneccessary as the town is fairly small. The rooms were quite functional, roomy, basic and comfortable, but there are also lots of more upscale hotels around. There was no breakfast, but the guesthouse is very close to a number of decent eateries. The desk was quite helpful, but Luang Prabang is very touristy so it's easy to get info everywhere. It was fine, but unless you are on a very specific budget, I'd encourage trying a more luxurious place as there are so many in Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2010

Yes, it is clean, my room was big and they have WIFI (but so does every other place in town). The price (40 US) was too much as they do not serve breakfast. Just have a look around, and you can do much better for a similar price or less. Although guest houses in this range and this part of town all will be charging more or less the same. As I arrived late and was tired I stayed here for one night, but I moved a few doors down for 30 US including breakfast the next day.
Sayo has 3 places in Luang Prabang, so do not get them mixed up.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinjarra, Australia
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2010

We stayed there for 4 nights at US$40 a night. Very large rooms with fridge, T V and A/C. The bathroom was huge and had a bath, but no shower curtain and try as we might, we still managed to flood the floor, with the floor waste being behind the toilet and the whole floor had to get wet before it would dry as the water made its way across the floor to the outlet. The staff were helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2010

We are a gay couple who visited Luang Prabang.
Firstly, there was a mix-up with the taxi at the airport picking us up. From then on, the staff at the guesthouse were extremely unhelpful and rude. We requested an upstairs room, but due to a lot of bookings (don't know why!) we had the room downstairs next to the reception. This was noisy and the decor was old an tired. It was impossible to use the shower without spraying water all over the bathroom and the windows afforded no privacy to walkers-by on the street.
We were told there was a midnight curfew but found the place to be closed up at 11:30pm. The staff were not helpful in changing our bookings for a river cruise (which they had booked for us) due to a clashing timetable. The room rate does NOT include breakfast and there are NO tea or coffee facilities in the rooms.
The guesthouse is a medium walk from town. The US$40 rate per night is steep considering there is no breakfast provided. I would suggest staying closer to town, especially as our room did not have a view of the Mekong River.
The website says it is popular with younger travellers, but I did not see any other younger couples while I was there.
The Lonely Planet guide for Vietnam, Cambodia, Laos & the Greater Mekong (2009) had a good review, which it appears was quite out of date.
Overall, an extremely disappointing experience.

Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

The guest house is a bit worn down, and the price is on the rather high end for the standard offered (I was charged 40 USD per night for a single room upstairs). The bathroom was improvised (an open roof solution into the bed room, the bathroom floor was leveled with no real darin, so every time you take a shower the whole floor gets wet. The staff constantly try to push excursions and taxi bookings on you.

On the plus side is free wifi and location. Comfortable bed.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sayo River Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sayo River Guest House

Address: Vat Xieng Thong area, along the Mekong River, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 226 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sayo River Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sayo Guest House Hotel Luang Prabang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sayo River Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.