We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best shower in asia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Khem Khong

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Luang Prabang
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Khem Khong
Save
You added Khem Khong to your Saves list
10/1 Th Khem Khong, Luang Prabang, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 226 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Norwich
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Best shower in asia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012 via mobile

We found this place on the river by accident, and for 100,000 kip it seemed reasonably priced for a room in luang prabang. Staff were friendly, room was clean and hot showers were exellent. Hot water 24hrs a day with good water pressue! Wifi worked pretty well and location is great, right next to the river near some nice riverside bars. Have I mentioned the showers?

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    12
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
14
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mayo
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2010

This place is an easy walk from the boat landing in Luang Prabang although the local tuk tuk cartel wanted us to pay 30000 kip for the journey!!! At $30 it is not cheap regardless of whether it is in a town as beautiful as Luang Prabang or not. We explained that we wanted to stay three nights, which would have gotten us a discount on all 3 nights. However, because we didn't have the necessary kip to pay for that at check in we ended up paying full price for 2 of the nights with a discount on the 3rd, which did not impress us seeing as we hadn't even gotten our bags up to the room.

On the plus side, the room (number nine, looking out onto the street) was spacious with cable tv, hot water shower, was generally very clean and free from cockroaches etc. Because its beside the river there are a fair few mossies flying around so a little killing spree before going to bed should sort out that problem!

Given the abundance of travel cafe's in Luang Prabangs main thoroughfare (Green discovery are especially good for trekking) don't bother trying to book anything in the hotel, which also has several good outdoor restaurants literally across the road. The road outside is busy in the morning so don't plan any big sleep ins.

If you want something to get you close to the action in Luang Prabang that is walking distance from the boat stop and is clean then this place is a decent choice.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lampeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2009

We turned up in Luang Prabang and were hot, bothered and ready to set down our bags. The View Khem Khong was one of the first guesthouses we saw on the Mekong riverfront and its inviting, smart wooden fronting invited us in. The kind landlady offered us a double room with bathroom (including hot shower) for 70,000 kip, a very reasonable price.

I was unfortunately struck with traveller's tummy in Luang Prabang and had to lay low in the guesthouse for a day or so. The room was cool, the bed comfy and the staff helpful with anything I needed. The guesthouse was also brilliantly located just 5 minutes from the town centre so when I did venture out, I didn't have to hike far to find food etc.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2008

View Khem Khong is OK, but not worth $25 USD. I rang the hotel a week ahead and was asked to confirm the day before. Not a problem. However, despite confirming the day before and on the morning of our arrival, they gave away our room! Their solution to this was to "create" a new room by converting their storage room into a hotel room. Whilst this solved the problem, it was less than ideal and not worth the price.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Overpriced for what you got and they gave away our room
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

Situated on the Mekong River, this hotel is perfectly situated. Their best room, 909, has a balcony and costs between $60-70 depending what time of year you visit. The room is lovely and has all the comforts you could need including fridge and satelite TV channels.
The owners are very friendly and helpful. Their restaurant across the road overlooking the Mekong serves the breakfast included (which is copious) but does tend to shut early as most do along this stretch, making it a quieter area to stay.
Although there is no curfew, the owners do go to bed early (they work very hard) as do most people in Luang Prabang. There are few late night haunts to keep you out but if you do, the owners do not mind letting you in 24hrs.
This guesthouse is thoroughly recommended and you should ring in advance to book, as they have few rooms (despite having a room 909!!) and are regularly full.

  • Liked — View of the Mekong
  • Disliked — Did not dislike anything
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2007

Read about this spot in the Lonely Planet. Arrived from the airport in Luang Prabang and hoped for a room. We got the last one. This is a small guesthouse located right on the Mekong River. The owners speak English and are very helpful. There are about 10 rooms. The one we stayed at was small (basically, fit a queen size bed) but it had a nice private bathroom and is perfect for sleeping after a long day in Luang Prabang. It only cost $12 a night and was well worth it for clean sheets and it also has AC!

  • Stayed July 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Khem Khong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Khem Khong

Address: 10/1 Th Khem Khong, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 226 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Number of rooms: 8

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khem Khong, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.