We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value in Luang Prabang” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thongbay Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Thongbay Guesthouse to your Saves list
Thongbay Guesthouse
Ban Vieng May, Vat Sakem, Luang Prabang, Laos   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 226 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Lima, Peru
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best value in Luang Prabang”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

We stayed in 3 different guesthouses during a 9-day stay in LP. We had a pretty tight budget, but decided to "splurge" a tiny bit the last two nights and stay in one of Thongbay's riverview rooms. This was a great choice – and by far one of the best values we've experienced on our trip in SE Asia. The other reviews have said all the important things, but I'll just reiterate:

Pros:
+ The staff here are exceptional! Kind and helpful, and not at all pushy.
+ The location is great, nice views of the river and surrounding countryside.
+ Breakfast is delicious (not free, but reasonably priced) and having it delivered to your room is a huge bonus
+ Although not the cheapest option in LP, it must be the best value. Feels like a 5 star hotel.
+ Many more Pros – stay here and find out for yourself!

Cons (I'm stretching here):
- not an easy walking distance to town (but their free shuttle has a very accommodating schedule)
- occasionally you can hear karaoke on the other side of the river (I found this added to the vibe, actually – but certainly not too "nature-y")
- This is kind of an eco-lodge, and you're in the jungle – so don't be surprised if you see the occasional small insect in your room. But none of you are too stuck up and disconnected from reality for this to be a problem, right?

Anyhow, assuming this place fits your budget and you don't have an issue with anything above, you should probably stop reading my review and book here. One of the best places I've stayed in a long while...

Room Tip: All rooms have access to a few balconies where you can see the river, but I'd definitely recomme...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    100
    16
    8
    1
See reviews for
81
270
70
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

This was our second stay at Thongbay and it was equally as enjoyable as the first. Thongbay is situated on the river in a beautiful garden location with tastefully appointed Laotian bungalows. It is a peaceful location and a great place to wind down after the hectic pace of the larger Asian cities. Whilst out of town it is easily accessible to town with frequent free shuttle services available. All the staff are so friendly and very helpful and nothing is too much trouble for them. The food and fruit shakes at the restaurant were good and available at any time. It was also lovely having the breakfast delivered to our balcony each morning and sitting eating breakfast watching the small boats slowly putting down the river. We were very sad to leave and all the staff came out to wave us goodbye. We would certainly recommend Thongbay to anyone and hope to return again for a third stay.

Room Tip: Riverside rooms if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at Thongbay for 4 days a few weeks ago and had a such a special stay there, we were actually tearful to leave. The staff at the hotel cannot do enough for you and the location is another particular highlight. Accommodation is in the form of beautifully and tastefully constructed wooden bungalows nestled amongst the grounds of the guesthouse on the edge of the river. We were upgraded to a river view and were able to enjoy breakfast on our private balcony every morning. The hostel really know their business and think of everything down to the smallest touches which, in my opinion, really make a good stay into an exceptional one. For example (and these are just a few); breakfast can be delivered to your balcony every morning at a time stipulated by yourself. There is a free shuttle bus every hour to and from the town in the evening and guests can hire bikes free of charge.

A truly memorable stay and somewhere we would wholeheartedly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

The place is really great, wonderfully placed by the river with a beautiful garden and very clean bungalows. The bungalow caused us some "ah"s and "oh"s when we first went in - the decoration of the bedroom and bathroom are just beautiful and the little terasse great to relax after a day in the city. The food at the restaurant was also good. The only thing that could be improved are the times if the shuttle service as there is a bit too long break in the evening where no shuttle goes and the place is too far out to walk. Everything else was great.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
even yehuda
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

we had stayed at thongbay for 6 nights at the middle of August . we actually planned to stay 3 nights there but evrything was so great that we stayed..
the gh it self is nice and the rooms are great as is the view to the river but the real story is the staff and treatment .Especially Whan but all the rest as well.. nothing was too hard evrything is possible.. we were with 3 young kids. the staf played with them, helped them, occupied them; excepted us at 5:00 in the morning when we arrived to town, orgenised with them secreatly a birthday surrprise for me, anything was possible to make sure our time is the best possible. i had stayed in many hotels and gh. the treatment we got at thong bay was outstanding! i am sorry we wont be there again soon and highly recommend it to anyone looking for a great stay.
lots of thank you to all of you for the great time we had
Idit Amnon and the kids

Room Tip: near the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luxembourg, Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

The guesthouse is composed of several different bungalows, some of which are facing the garden and others the river. The bungalows are rather large and all have their own balcony. The bungalows did not have air conditioning, but the ceiling fans were giving sufficient cooling. It was possible to order breakfast and dinner on the terrace of your bungalow.
Although the guesthouse is a bit outside of the city center, the guesthouse has organized a shuttle multiple times during the day to and back from the city for free. If you missed the shuttle is was not the end of the world as it was approximately a 20 minute walk back from the city or a short tuk tuk ride.
In some of the earlier reviews I read there was some noise from the karaoke on the other side of the river. Even thought I had a riverside bungalow, I did not experience much noise and when there was some karaoke going on it finished at a reasonable hour.
The internet was available in the bungalows, which was convenient.
Generally the service was good and the staff was very proactive in resolving any questions. In particular the hostess stood out.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

A collection of traditional bungalows around a lush garden with superb views over the river. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Beds have mosquito nets. Fan cooled rather than air-con. Large bathrooms with rustic shower unit. Breakfast served on your verandah or overlooking river. Evening meals the same. A bit far from centre of town to walk but regular shuttle service by minibus.

Room Tip: Ask for a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Thongbay Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thongbay Guesthouse

Address: Ban Vieng May, Vat Sakem, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 226 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Thongbay Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thongbay Guesthouse Hotel Luang Prabang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thongbay Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.