We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to unwind” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thongbay Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Thongbay Guesthouse to your Saves list
Thongbay Guesthouse
Ban Vieng May, Vat Sakem, Luang Prabang, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 230 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Perfect place to unwind”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We planned on staying three nights here but ended up staying six. We were in a river view bungalow overlooking the Nam Khan river. The bungalow was very spacious with one double bed and two more singles for good measure, all with mosquito nets. There are Thai style mattresses on the veranda outside which are perfect for spending a lazy afternoon reading or watching the river. There is no air con, but we found the ceiling fans more than adequate. One thing to be aware of however, is that there are open spaces between the bathroom walls and the roof, so, on a couple of occasions, we were joined in the bathroom by a spider or two. We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The family who own the guesthouse even invited us to join them early one mornig to give alms to the monks. Finally, the location of the guesthouse is a bit out of town. There are, however, free shuttle buses that run in the mornings and evenings every hour to and from the centre of town - we ended up doing a mix of shuttle buses (5 min drive), walking (20 mins) and tuk tuks (~30 kip). Overall, we really enjoyed this guesthouse which offers a perfect respite from hustle of town.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    113
    17
    8
    2
See reviews for
92
304
78
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hangzhou, China
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

I stayed their for four days and it was a amazing experience. They gave me a free upgrade from garden view room to river view. Although the location was not very good, that means it was quiet, about 10mins ride to the center of the town, the service and the scenery of the room was good enough to compensate. They also have free transfer bus to the town and free bike you can use. Enjoy coffee or beer Lao, watching the river floating highlight my trip. By the way, if you scare of insect, it might be a little bit annoying because they would appear somewhere sometime.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keith, South Australia, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at Thongbay Guesthouse in a river view bungalow. Although it was a little way out of the town centre we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Bungalow was awesome, the verandah with the mats and little table for eating was very cute, same with the detail of furnishings inside. Set in lovely garden surroundings. The only thing was it was very hot while we were there and the bungalows do not have air conditioning or tv or swimming pool. The owner / managers went out of their way to make things run smoothly for us. We wanted to go to the alms giving in town and had to leave very early so they arranged transport for us when our own arrangements didnt work. They got up at 5am to say goodbye to us when we left. Lovely people.

Room Tip: Riverview Bungalow great but if you want air conditioning you would need to get one of their rooms i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forster, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We stayed here five nights after two weeks in Cambodia. With a cold beer on the deck of our bungalow overlooking the daily life on the Nam Khan, shoes off and friendly staff, it was absolute relaxation after the hustle and bustle. The staff did everything to enhance our stay, even giving us shower and room access up until our evening plane departure. Shuttle into town was very nice and the walk was interesting. The only thing I could fault was the bed comfort - a but hard for our personal liking.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed at Thong Bay as part of a group tour. This was the beat hotel we stayed at in Lao, exrremely friendly staff and great service.

The rooms were clean and very spacious, there was free transport to the centre and back several times a day.

The welcome pumpkin cake was delicious. Had a massage during my stay and it was the best one i had during my stay in south east asia.

Definately go back there again. Thank you for being so welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

We seriously loved this place. Yes, it's a little further out of town, but easily accessible by bicycle and by the free shuttle bus they put on.

The rooms were clean and wonderfully quiet. There is a great view of the river and the gardens are really beautiful. The staff are also exceptionally friendly. Breakfast was also great.

Thanks so much! I would definitely stay here again

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

I would recommend this guesthouse --- friendly staff, best service, comfortable room and free shuttle to town. We check out of our room at 12:00 noon but the bus to Vientiane departs at 8pm. We left our luggage in there after checking out. The staff allowed us to take their free shuttle to town and come back to guesthouse before 6pm. They still provided a bathroom for us to take shower before we leave.

The location is a bit far from town, but anyway, free shuttle is provided. You may also borrow bicycle at here, it's FOC.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Thongbay Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thongbay Guesthouse

Address: Ban Vieng May, Vat Sakem, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 230 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Thongbay Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thongbay Guesthouse Hotel Luang Prabang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thongbay Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.