We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent but wear solid shoes.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kuang Si Falls

Kuang Si Falls
Outside Luang Prabang 27km, Luang Prabang, Laos
Improve this listing
Visit Kuang Si Falls like an insider
Private Tour
$65*
and up
Private Tour: Kuang Si Falls and Local Villages...
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Forster, New South Wales, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent but wear solid shoes.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We travelled out today and the falls were perfect, the water obviously passes through limestone to pick up its turquoise colour. Just one word of caution; wear solid shoes or sandals with heel straps in the wet periods because people (self included) were slipping and sliding all over the place due to lack of formed pathways, one lady almost going for an unintentional swim. Thongs, flip flops, jandals, even bare feet - not good.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,947 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,976
    835
    121
    13
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Thailand
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
42 attraction reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“wonderful, a must see”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

we got here by own car after breakfast, its a 30 min wonderful drive through breathtaking landscapes and the falls are a real jewel, a small entry fee is charged, you can bring your picknic here and take a little swim, there are sitting areas and simple changing rooms.
make sure you get here before lunch time when all the vans from Luang Prabang arrive

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“The cool blue waters were incredibly refreshing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The cool blue waters were incredibly refreshing. I really didn't enjoy the overweight westerners hanging out in their speedo's in pools with 'no swimming' and 'please no bare chests' signs. Embarrassed to be a foreigner sometimes.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful, fun and refreshing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

The Kuang Si Falls are the main reason why I headed to Luang Prabang, and they did not disappoint! The short trek up to the falls was not physically tiring, but slippery at some points. The water in the pools are cool; refreshing during the hot summer! I loved the falls.

Being able to see the asiatic black bears was a bonus. The Tat Kuang Si Bear Rescue Centre is doing a great job.

Tips:
- Get a tuktuk on the main 'night market' street. If you are willing to wait, you can pay 30,000 to 40,000 kip for a return trip. The journey will take approximately 40 minutes each way by tuk tuk as the falls are 30KM away.
- Set aside approximately 3 hours to venture around the Kuang Si Falls.
- Be careful in the pools, some of the rocks are very slippery
- There are mid-sized fish in the pools so don't get shocked if they nibble at your toes!

Have fun and I'm sure that you will enjoy Kuang Si Falls as much as I did!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“beautiful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

one of the most beautiful places i have ever seen and you can get in for 20 000 kip which is nothing for a westerner even on a budget! we loved the waterfalls and the rescue bears seemed well cared for which is nice in a country which a lot of the time shows no compassion towards the animals, could have easily spent another day there if we had time, the rope swing was great fun!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kuang Si Falls also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Kuang Si Falls? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kuang Si Falls, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.