We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful people and location!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Apple Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Apple Guesthouse to your Saves list
Apple Guesthouse
Xatikhoumman Rd | Xiengmoun Village, Luang Prabang, Laos   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Direct Booking Offers
Ranked #20 of 226 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
St. Petersburg, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Wonderful people and location!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Apple Guesthouse thanks to Jimmy and the wonderful staff. They picked us up and dropped us off at the airport, arranged our excursions and even washed our laundry. They were full of helpful advice like buying food to give the monks rather than just taking their pictures. We even went to evening prayers and mediation for an amazing experience. Apple is right near the heart of town with a short walk to the night market, restaurants and the temples. The rooms are small but comfortable and there is a great deck for relaxing. We loved Luang Prabang and our stay at Apple Guesthouse.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy S, Owner at Apple Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Hi to all your family,
What wonderful parents you are to take your children on the trip of a life time. It was a pleasure to have you come and stay and your boys were so good to go to the temple and listen to the chanting and then to give the monks some food. I think it is important to expose our kids to all types of cultures and experiences of the world. I hope the rest of your travels are truly wonderful for you all.
Take care
Robyn & Jimmy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    22
    4
    3
    0
See reviews for
6
23
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014

I stayed at Apple guesthouse after a month long trip up the coast of Vietnam and I can honestly say that this was the most delightful place that accommodated me in Asia. I stayed at the guesthouse for 8 nights (was originally only booked for 5 nights). Jimmy, the owner, his wife and his receptionist were some of the most friendliest people I had met on my trip. Jimmy speaks very good English, if not fluent, as he has spent a lot of time in Australia.
Luang Prabang was my first encounter with Laos and upon my arrival, I too sure about what I wanted to do in the town. But after discussions with Jimmy and doing my own research, I had to set out to book tours, boats, buses and cooking classes. Much to my surprise, Jimmy took care of all of that for me!! I went to the Kuang Si waterfalls, Pak Ou caves by boat, Tamarind cooking class...booked and paid all at the guesthouse!! So convenient when you're still getting used to a new country and town. What I paid the guesthouse was consistent prices that we're being charged elsewhere so I was comfortable I wasn't being taken advantage of too.
Jimmy made the guesthouse feel incredibly homely. I had asked him if I could put something in his fridge on my last day and I remember him saying to me "make this your home" which was really lovely. He even let me borrow his personal laptop computer overnight when I had to do my university timetable at 5am Laos time (9am Australia time) and I wasn't sure I could get it done on my smartphone. This was not something I would've expected but just shows how lovely he is.
Apple guesthouse always had hot water, bed was the most comfortable I'd slept in in a month!! Air con worked a treat.
Always complimentary tea, coffee and water on the balcony. Personal laundry service was 10,000kip/kg, so just over $1 per kg. Nice cozy rooms, not a lot of them which meant it remained relatively quiet. Perfect location!! Luang Prabang is a quiet town but the location was also about 3 minutes walk from the main street, which is enough to keep noise at bay. Really can't think of any cons. I stayed for 8 nights and will do it again when I come back to Luang Prabang. Thanks Jimmy

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy S, Owner at Apple Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Hi Stephen,
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. It was great that you threw yourself into Luang Phrang and went on lots of excursions and therefore got a lot of different experiences to remember Luang Phrabang by. As you will agree the people in Laos try very hard to make sure all travellers are happy with their experiences in this third world country.
We will love to have you stay again and we will make sure you get to do some other exciting tours and excursions.
Come again
Jimmy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

My wife and I stayed 10 days at the Appleguest House. The room was clean, bed was ok, still a not hard, pillows were good. Always had hot water.

The location was a three minute walk to the tourist street or ten second walk to the river.

The owner and staff were always helpful and accommodating.

WiFi was just ok.

Nice little patio on the second floor to have a drink before supper.

There might be a charge to clean room everyday, but not 100% sure.

Certainly would stay again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy S, Owner at Apple Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Hi Dan,
Thank you for staying at Apple GH. it was a pleasure to have you both. We change all your sheets and towels every 3rd day of your stay for free. And a small fee of $4 if you wish to have it more often. This small fee is to encourage people to be green and save the detergents from running into our natural resources. Also we are a Guest House and not a hotel and we don't have commercial washing & drying machines. Everything is dried in the sun and because we are right in the centre of town space is very limited for drying.
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and we welcome you back any time in the future.
Take care
Jimmy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

The location is very convenient and the rooms themselves are all very nice, the entire building is well looked after.
Jimmy the owner/host was incredibly hospitable, we stayed for 4 nights over Chinese New Year, so there were a lot of people about and may activities were booked out but Jimmy had the connections to arrange us scooter hire, great recommendations for things to do and even better - when we realised we hadn't booked our last night and he was full he called around everywhere to find a room for us.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy S, Owner at Apple Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you Dan, for staying at the Apple Guest House. We try very hard to make all our guest happy and do our best to find the best deals for you with tours and excursions etc. It has warmed up nicely here now in Luang Phrang and sun is shining every day. If you come to Laos again, then try and come at the end of the wet season Oct, Nov, the country side looks lush and green beyond your imagination, with rice fields and vegetable gardens smiling after the wet season.
Happy Travels
Jimmy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

The superior room is really nice and comfortable, the location is perfect, just a few steps from the Royal Palace andthe Mekong river. This room has a beautiful private balcony, so much romance! The staff is kind.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy S, Owner at Apple Guesthouse, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Dear Patrizia,

On behalf of Apple Guesthouse I would like to say thank you very much for your awesome review that you haven to an Apple G.H. so i appreciate your effort. Patrizia, I am so glad to hear that you had good time and enjoyed your stay at Apple Guesthouse. I hope Apple Guesthouse would have a chance to service you again in the near future.

Warm Regards
Jimmy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gympie, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Apple in early January and found it excellent overall. We took a family room as this was all that was available (we are a young couple) but Jimmy, the owner, kindly dropped the price for us. The room was huge and the entire guesthouse was spotlessly clean. The wifi worked really well and the communal balcony with coffee and tea-making facilities was a nice touch. All of the staff were incredibly friendly and we felt well looked after the whole time. Jimmy and his parents were also great at recommending attractions in Luang Prabang. This is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy S, Owner at Apple Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Happy Australia Day,
The weather here is still very cool in the morning and evenings and warms up nicely in the day.
If you are now back in Australia I know you will be feeling the heat.
So glad to met you both and hope to see you again sometime.
Keep those back packs close for your next adventure.
Jimmy & his mum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

A few meters from the Mekong and steps from the main road and the center of town this is an excellent budget find...very quiet and clean with super helpful hosts. The new owners have plans to do a little more decorating etc to make their guests feel more pampered....highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jimmy S, Owner at Apple Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Hi Guys,
What a great time you had while you were Laung Phrabang. Thank you for your kind review we are trying our best to make all our guest happy with their stay.
Happy Travels for the future
Jimmy & Jimmy's Mum
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Apple Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Apple Guesthouse

Address: Xatikhoumman Rd | Xiengmoun Village, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 226 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Apple Guesthouse has 10 teak panelled roomy bedrooms with very comfortable beds and is situated in a little quiet of UNESCO Alleyway and few step from Mekong Esplanade. It also located right at HISTORICAL DISTRICT ZOON in the heart of Luang prabang city centre. Most of the building is in the original architecture of Laung Phrabang. Apple Guesthouse is always clean inside and outside the building. It also closes to everything such as restaurants, night market, Mekong Esplanade, doctors, pharmacies, convenience stores, national museum, boat harbour, and Tuk Tuk parking spot. Our friendly staff will ensure your stay is a memorable and special experience. Laung Phrabang in the north of Lao, is the jewel of Asia on a small peninsular on the Mekong river packed with beautiful temple, French colonial Architecture all persevered by UNESCO. Amazing restaurants from small and friendly to 5 stars and classy are all affordable. Close by are the night markets and surrounding shops that are unique to only Laung Phrabang. Some incredible day's excursion can be the spectacular, jaw dropping waterfalls and elephant walks with activities such as bathing elephants or training to becoming a mahout. I can guarantee you will enjoy your holiday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Apple Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Apple Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.