We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great creative food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of the balcony by Lanith

the balcony by Lanith
Ban Khoi - Nam Dong River, Luang Prabang 0000, Laos
+856 71 211 040
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 156 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: French, International, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: NEWLY OPEN IN NOVEMBER 2013 A restaurant with a cause! As Laos' leading provider of hospitality and tourism education and training, the Lao National Institute of Tourism and Hospitality (Lanith) is proud to announce the opening of our restaurant in Luang Prabang on the 12th of November 2013. We are just minutes from downtown Luang Prabang, but light years from the tourist hordes. Come join us for a memorable dining experience and help us to make a difference in the local community. Hailing from Luxembourg, our Chef Pit Wanderscheid creates Franco-Lao fusion style cuisine from behind his pots and pans. With a background in European Michelin Star-rated restaurants, Chef Pit heads a kitchen of highly trained Laotians who together put their heart and soul into producing every dish for our guests. Our menu mainstays include signature seasonal dishes based on local ingredients some grown in our herb garden. We also offer a vast line up of top-shelf cocktails and a growing wine list. We pride ourselves on delivering top quality service and train our staff, from waiters to cooks, through our award-winning Passport to Success industry training programme. FREE TRANSPORTATION TO THE BALCONY!
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great creative food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Loved the place like everyone else...food is truly amazing. Service will gain self confidence as they train which is the whole idea of the place.

Addendum to a previous post: They do accept credit cards now as we were told...

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebalconyLPQ, Manager at the balcony by Lanith, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear customer,

thank you for your support and for your nice review, and we wish to see you back in Luang Prabang soon!

All the best!
Veronica Heintz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    6
    4
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Delectable Gourmet Fare!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Booked a table at this restaurant on a recent trip to Luang Prabang. To be sure it's more of a fine dinning option in the area, so it's a good option if you're looking for a little bit of a departure from the standard fare (which is delicious in and of itself).
It's just outside the main part of town where we were staying but the restaurant sent a vehicle to our hotel to fetch us which I thought was a good touch. This appears to be standard practice if it's so desired.

We were greeted warmly upon arrival and shown to our table while our hostess made her way over to make menu suggestions.
It's a fusion of cuisines with a French flair and dishes are presented almost theatrically but all the ceremony is worth it as the plates are imaginative and quite tasty. Most of the portion sizes seemed fairly adequate though the salmon dish was a bit of on the smaller size.

Overall it was pretty enjoyable experience. The one drawback I found a bit odd was that they didn't accept credit cards for a restaurant its caliber (others less fancy in town did). As such you may want to plan accordingly.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebalconyLPQ, Manager at the balcony by Lanith, responded to this review, April 28, 2014
Dear valued customer,

thank you for your review and we are happy that you liked our restaurant.

I would like to mention that we are a Training restaurant, we train young Lao people to be waiters and cooks with a high standards. This is one of the main reasons why we do not have a Credit Card Reader yet, as we are a project and not a regular restaurant.

Thank you again for your comment.

Regards,
Veronica Heintz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vientiane, Laos
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect Performance of the Lao Staff! Congratulations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2014

I was actually on mission to visit the Balcony to discover the training quality that the Lao staff had undergone. Veronica and Chef Pit was on their holiday in Vangvieng on that day and the Balcony was run by the young Lao team. On my arrival to the main entrance of the Balcony, there was a sign posted at the door "Welcome Mr. Inthasone" which makes me feel like a VIP guest. Christmas, the potential future Balcony Manager met me at the door calling my name with a great smile leading me to my room. The room was clean and tidy with a big balcony looking towards the garden and creek. Beautiful scene so I kept the door open for the whole night.

I visited the kitchen and talked to the young Lao potential famous chefs. One boy and four girls, well dressed in Chef's outfit, very clean and tidy kitchen indeed and very professional. I requested for the best menu they could offer and they advice me the set menu. To my surprise, I was served with a welcoming starter "Present of Balcony" followed by Rosita Rice and Buffalo Cheek. This was the first experience to have such tasty European food "made in Laos" by young Lao Chefs from Lao buffalo! The taste of each dish is remarkable and at lot better than many five stars hotel in Thailand that I have stayed. It has a unique taste. The desert was also delicious and lots of chocolate. The cocktails were as good as any other cocktail bar. The breakfasts at the balcony of the room were very well prepared as well. This was a memorable visit for me and will share my experience with all my friends.

Congratulations to Christmas and all his team mates, who for the first time to run the Balcony bar by themselves and allow Veronica and Pit to have a nice break in Vangvieng. Hope to see you and your team take over the Balcony Bar in the near future when the project comes to an end.

Congratulations to Veronica and Pit as well. You have done a great job just in a short time period. You now have the true followers who will be following your footsteps. Wish you all the best and success in your life.

Thank you very much for your hospitality!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebalconyLPQ, Manager at the balcony by Lanith, responded to this review, May 5, 2014
Dear valued Guest,

we are very happy to see that you liked the balcony and the whole Lanith concept!

The team says thank you for this fabulous review!

All the best
Veronica Heintz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“The cherry on my pie”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

What a little treasure this place is. If you are craving a little 5 star experience then this is it. The food was prepared with love and an expert hand. The flavours were well balanced and popped in your mouth. This place only leaves you wanting more. The menu was simple but executed perfectly. A highlight being the chorizos sausage dumpling. Make sure you leave room for dessert, you won't be disappointed. The cocktail list is also fun, a bit left of centre which I loved. I had the mango sangria. This dinner was only made better by being picked up and dropped off by the shuttle service - run by the restaurant. Note this restaurant doesn't take cards so make sure you take enough cash. Not expensive compared to western standards. We spent about 800000 kip which included 4 cocktails and a 4 course meal x 2 people.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebalconyLPQ, Manager at the balcony by Lanith, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear valued guest,

We are pleased to read that you have enjoyed your dinner and our cocktails, especially the Mango Sangria!

Thank you for this wonderful review!

Regards,
Veronica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Estepa, Spain
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“What a wonderful surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Someone said yes. Someone said no. But someone we trusted said yes, so we went. And the vehicle picked us up in old Luang Prabang and drove us out to heaven knows where - for a totally unforgettable experience. Delectable haute cuisine in a beautiful environment served by beautiful Lao waiters under the supervision of Luxembourg chef and manager. The food was sublime and creative. The waiting staff were impeccably and chicly attired. The whole experience was beyond what we had expected when we arrived in Luang Prabang a few days ago. Anyone who doesn't give themselves this experience needs their head testing!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thebalconyLPQ, Manager at the balcony by Lanith, responded to this review, March 24, 2014
Dear valued Guest,

thank you for this lovely review, we appreciate very much! The team is very happy that we were able to exceed your expectations.

We are looking forward to meet you in LPQ once again.

Best Regards,
Veronica
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the balcony by Lanith also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to the balcony by Lanith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage the balcony by Lanith, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.