We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Luang Probang” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Apsara

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Apsara to your Saves list
The Apsara
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Banks of the Nam Khan, Luang Prabang, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 67 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Lancashire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Luang Probang”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2008

The Apsara is a wonderful hotel - and quite rightly deserves its place in the Hip Hotels guide. The whole hotel is very stylish and the staff are extremly helpful. Having tried both the 3 Nagas and the Apsara - the Apsara wins hands down.

We stayed in both the standard and delux rooms and although both were excellent, we loved the room above the restaurant best, and could have happily stayed for weeks! The furnishings are so tasteful and the beds very comfortable - add to this a view of the river and life going by - what more could you want.

It is also definately at the best end of town - very quiet and elegant - there are pizza bars at the other end!

The food in the restaurant was excellent - try the onion tart. And the wine is very good and reasonably priced.

All in all the best place in town

Thank You Apsara

Stayed February 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    96
    21
    14
    4
See reviews for
21
146
34
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2008

Well what can I say it was absolutely lovely would recommend to anybody the room was lovely, food lovely, staff lovely, Ivan very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phuket
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2008

We stayed for 2 nights, the website was down so we just turned up and booked in.
The room was really nice, big comfy bed, the best shower I've ever used...but no fridge or TV. Some might say $70 is a lot for no fridge or TV (I guess it is) but they weren't missed for 2 nights.

Our room overlooked the river and a few restaurants; the main street is only a few minutes walk away providing everything you're likely to need.
Breakfast - fab. bacon and eggs, thick crusty baguette toast...v.nice.

However, on the first afternoon my girlfriend "lost" an expensive pair of shorts in the hotel laundry, i.e. they weren't returned...she called several times and they were apparently looked for; I just had the feeling the hotel could've done a bit more. Certainly not an insurance fiddle as we had none!

This marred the stay there and will stick in the mind.

Also, if you're NOT paying in cash dollars, ensure you know exactly what you should pay...I was asked for 8,000 baht instead of 4,000 but that may well be a genuine mistake and it was quickly corrected.

Stayed January 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cordoba
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2008

Wonderful place with old world charm. Very large rooms and baths. Great staff and breakfast. You can walk everywhere from here. We also like the Baan Chang Inn, ,near 3 Nagas on Sak Karin Road, no web site yet. phone (856-71) 253553
Very fun and nice staff. Transfer from airport in 1960 mercedes
Great rooms very deluxe interior. Better priced than Aspara or 3 negas. Enjoy. Try the breakfast at the 3 Nagas and resturants along the Mekong river. Also elephant ride and water falls a must do trip.

Stayed December 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria England
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2008

After reading many positive reviews, we opted for The Apsara and loved it! Luang Prabang is an absolute gem of a place and the Apsara is just behind the main street, so quiet and peaceful enough to hear the chanting of the monks and the banging of their early morning drums. We had room 5, a spacious, elegant corner room with a good view over the river to the terraces beyond. The other rooms in the main hotel seemed to have trees blocking their view. Staff were friendly, observant and attentive without being fussy, the food was delicious and well priced. My only complaint is that smoking was allowed in the dining room and I found this unpleasant.

  • Liked — The relaxing, somehow exotic ambiance
  • Disliked — Smoking allowed in the dining room.
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2008

We stayed (a party of six) for two nights at the Apsara in early January and found the hotel to be charming. Making a reservation was easy, through the hotel's website and their car picked us up at the airport on arrival. The decor is basic but stylish and the rooms we had (deluxe, on the first floor) were large with decent baths and showers. We could not find fault with the standard of the rooms (yes, they do have creaky floorboards) or the service. The breakfast, especially the coffee , is very good. We had dinner in the hotel one night and the food was of a very good standard for the area. Across the road, the local boys play petanque day and night and there is some noise from this but nothing too problematic. Also, you are likely to be woken up at four a.m. by the the bells and drumming coming from the many temples. It's worth getting up for the monks early walk through the town, but do be respectful to the monks and not flash your camera in their faces, as we witnessed. For dinner, try L'Elephant restaurant and give the Villa Santi a miss. There are many shops selling jewellery and textiles but unfortunately a lot of the local products are overpriced (in dollars) and it's hard to believe the local community benefit from these high prices. All in all, a good place to stay in a convenient location within the town.

  • Liked — the
  • Disliked — a little noise from the road
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2008

Gorgeous hotel that is very well run. Fantastic touches throughout - e.g. huge wooden baths, silk lanterns and bedspreads. Delicious food and wonderful wine list.

The hotel is excellently situated too. The walk onto LP's main road takes a couple of minutes so you're not surrounded by tourists etc, but close to all the action.

Loved this place and would highly recommend it. If you're not a fan of rock hard beds though, be warned!

  • Liked — Incredibly friendly and helpful staff
  • Disliked — Rock hard beds
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Apsara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Apsara

Address: Banks of the Nam Khan, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#18 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Apsara 2.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The first and still one of the most beautiful boutique hotels in Luang Prabang, the Apsara was originally a rice warehouse situated on the banks of the Nam Khan [The quieter side of town]. The Apsara is also right in the heart of the heritage village, making it the perfect place to stay. From the comfort of its large, airy bedrooms, rated by the Washington Post as "an inch beyond decadence", it's easy to explore temples and the lanes of Luang Prabang. After which you can relax on the river terrace and enjoy the spectacular views and a refreshing Beer Laos. But that's not all, our restaurant is well known for having one of the most interesting menus in town as well as a superb wine list and the driest martinis in Laos. As Hip Hotels said "Both the restaurant and bar reflect a refined sense of taste" and who are we to argue with that. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Odigeo so you can book your The Apsara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Apsara Hotel Luang Prabang
Apsara Luang Prabang
Apsara Hotel Luang Prabang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Apsara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.