We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A special place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Satri House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Satri House to your Saves list
Satri House
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   57 Phothisarath Rd | Ban That Luang, Luang Prabang 85671, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 67 Hotels in Luang Prabang
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A special place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel, with unusual features. A lot of care and consideration has been taken in the design of this boutique hotel. Special little touches such as the crystal bottles containing soap and conditioner in the bathrooms. Beautiful large bathrooms with unusual green tiles. I loved the antiques placed in strategic positions all over the old house. A Homes and Gardens magazine gem! My one big complaint, which I am sure will not be answered as I have complained and had no response to date. Is that the wine we ordered from room service was an extortionate price, in my calculation it came to £70 for one bottle of white wine. No room service menu was provided so consequently I was not able to see the price otherwise I would not have ordered it. My shock and horror when I received my final bill was upsetting! Hey! Ho! I paid but was duped! So no full marks from me for a beautiful hotel. Travellers beware! The staff were very attentive thank you for that. Despite my upsetting experience I would return, but go else where for my wine and pay £20 for an excellent bottle!

Room Tip: We stayed next to the Lilly pond, a room with a verandah. All very special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Elizabeth,

Thank you very much for taking time and sharing your overall experience about your stay at Satri House.

We're glad to read that you enjoyed the decoration and the whole property.
I'm truly sorry that you were not shown the information book in the room with all the menu inside and price. We always take care of our guest's needs and satisfaction, so therefore, we will make sure that this information will not be missed anymore.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Warm regards,

Henri Spanneut
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    189
    62
    12
    11
    5
See reviews for
44
156
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (51)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed 5 nights at Satri House and really loved it! It is tucked away on the outskirts but we walked into town with ease. It is very quiet within its own very carefully maintained grounds with lush gardens and welcoming pool. You can feel the history of the hotel and it is a fine mix of older style building but modernised and extended. We stayed in room 223 which proved to be very quiet. It had its own balcony, large bed and spacious bathroom. The dark wood interiors provide a cooling effect. The breakfasts are very good with plenty of choice and constant supply of top ups. We also had a very good dinner on one night but took advantage of the many restaurants in town. The hotel is part of a French owned group and we were very well looked after by the manager and his local staff.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Simon S,

Thank you very much for taking time and sharing your feedback following to your last stay in Satri House.
We are glad to read that you loved the property's charm and that you found the staff friendly and helpful.
We very much appreciate your comment and hope we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Henri Spanneut
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

When we discovered this secret address 2 years ago, my wife (girlfriend back then) knew this would be the perfect place for a dreamy and magic wedding. A little fun thought that was set to become reality.
After a year long of preparation, and lots of coordination between ourselves and the lovely management and staff, all was absolutely perfect on D-day to create what has been the most amazing and happy day of our life.
Satri House is by essence a boutique hotel, in its scale and atmosphere and provides you the domestic feel that one looks for on their travel but also the very discreete but efficient assistance of friendly and smiley staff.
Our wedding happened exactly a year ago now and after having travelled the world since, whether in mexico, japan, morocco or portugal, we can definitely say that satri house is the best boutique experience we have found in the world...so far and we will definitely be back.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Laurent,

Thank you so much for sharing your impression following to your stay with us.

It was a great pleasure to have the team of Satri House involved in this very special day.
We're very glad and proud that you enjoyed every moment with us.

All the team of Satri House is renewing their best wishes to you and your wife.

We hope to have the chance to welcome you again at Satri House.

All the best,

Henri Spanneut
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Tucked away on the outskirts of town, and yet still within walking distance of the centre. We stayed in a Junior Suite which was both spacious and beautifully appointed, with some lovely local antique touches. Enormous bathroom, with a lovely bath, as well as a separate shower.

Beautiful gardens, with statues in nooks and crannies giving different vistas. Quite a small pool area for the number of rooms, but beautifully clean, and only became busy late afternoon when people came back from their day tours.

We just loved everything about Luang Prabang, and this was the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear PennyH,

Greetings from Satri House.

We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback about your recent experience with us.
We are thrilled that you have chosen Satri House for your trip to Luang Prabang.

We are looking forward in welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Henri Spaneut
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

My husband and I loved Satri House and have recommended it to everyone we know who is on their way to Luang Prabang.. The property used to belong to one of the last of the Royal family and it has been beautifully renovated and updated to serve as a boutique hotel. It is run by a gracious and elegant lady who made sure we were super comfortable. I loved the fact that the buildings had lemongrass oil lamps as mosquito repellants. Although I normally hate scented environments, this was different; the lemongrass felt natural and was not at all intrusive. The grounds are beautifully designed - lots of nooks in which one can relax and read a book, under ceiling fans. It was calming to sit beside the lotus pond in one of gazebos. Satri House is decorated with antiques -- beautiful old sculptures, ornate lamps, and gorgeous furniture. Breakfast was delicious. Although its in the center of everything, once you step through the gate of Satri House, it feels as though you are transported back in time, light years away from modern day Asia.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear JADNYC2014,

Thank you for staying with us at Satri House and for taking the time to give us your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We're very glad to read that you enjoyed every single moment of your stay with us.

We're looking forward in welcoming you soon.

Yours sincerely,

Henri Spanneut
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

My 60th birthday. Loved the netting over the bed and the window shutters that block all mosquitos light and heat out. Our accommodation is always a base to explore from. We look for a good night’s sleep, satisfying breakfast, bar and clean pool. This one ticked all those boxes plus staff helpful with transport, going rates and tour suggestions. I would not suggest that you walk to town too much to see especially if hot. Satri has free bikes and it is safe to ride even though the road seems busy cars are aware of scooters and bikes. a lot safer than Oz and you see more. The grounds, building and décor are charming but with three days sight seeing and dinning out had little time to enjoy Satri House.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Merry54,

Greetings from Satri House Secret Retreats,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback about your recent experience.
We are delighted to read your kind comments and are looking forward in welcoming you back at Satri House.

Warmest regards,

Henri Spanneut
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I love hotels which offer ultimate luxury which are right in the thick of things. This is one of those hotels. In fact, it is linked with "Secret Places" - at least that's what the sign says. You turn into an alley off of a non-descripit street (near an Buddhist Temple) and suddenly you are in one of the most luxurious and tasteful of hotels I've every stayed in. There is complex geometry in the layout of the hotel, almost like a Chinese Garden. Two beautiful pools and a lotus pond. An incredible restaurant which serves French and Asian food at an incredible value. This is a real find!

Room Tip: They are all good. I'd ask for one near the restaurant. No issue of finding it or your room that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Satri House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satri House

Address: 57 Phothisarath Rd | Ban That Luang, Luang Prabang 85671, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Luang Prabang
#6 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#9 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#10 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Satri House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Satri House was built at the turn of the last century as the residence of Prince Souphanouvong. This building owns to Unesco Heritage. Satri House was refurbished in 2002 by Mrs. Lamphoune Voravongsa and has been run since as a hotel. During 2008 and 2012 the hotel has been enlarged with the addition of more colonial style buildings consisting of 14 Deluxe rooms, 14 junior suites and 3 Satri House suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Splendia, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Satri House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Satri House Hotel Luang Prabang
Satri Hotel Luang Prabang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Satri House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.