We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delightful boutique hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Satri House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Satri House to your Saves list
Satri House
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   57 Phothisarath Rd | Ban That Luang, Luang Prabang 85671, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 67 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Surrey, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
“A delightful boutique hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Tucked away on the outskirts of town, and yet still within walking distance of the centre. We stayed in a Junior Suite which was both spacious and beautifully appointed, with some lovely local antique touches. Enormous bathroom, with a lovely bath, as well as a separate shower.

Beautiful gardens, with statues in nooks and crannies giving different vistas. Quite a small pool area for the number of rooms, but beautifully clean, and only became busy late afternoon when people came back from their day tours.

We just loved everything about Luang Prabang, and this was the icing on the cake.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear PennyH,

Greetings from Satri House.

We appreciate you taking the time to give us your feedback about your recent experience with us.
We are thrilled that you have chosen Satri House for your trip to Luang Prabang.

We are looking forward in welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Henri Spaneut
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    63
    12
    12
    5
See reviews for
44
159
15
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

My husband and I loved Satri House and have recommended it to everyone we know who is on their way to Luang Prabang.. The property used to belong to one of the last of the Royal family and it has been beautifully renovated and updated to serve as a boutique hotel. It is run by a gracious and elegant lady who made sure we were super comfortable. I loved the fact that the buildings had lemongrass oil lamps as mosquito repellants. Although I normally hate scented environments, this was different; the lemongrass felt natural and was not at all intrusive. The grounds are beautifully designed - lots of nooks in which one can relax and read a book, under ceiling fans. It was calming to sit beside the lotus pond in one of gazebos. Satri House is decorated with antiques -- beautiful old sculptures, ornate lamps, and gorgeous furniture. Breakfast was delicious. Although its in the center of everything, once you step through the gate of Satri House, it feels as though you are transported back in time, light years away from modern day Asia.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear JADNYC2014,

Thank you for staying with us at Satri House and for taking the time to give us your feedback on TripAdvisor.

We're very glad to read that you enjoyed every single moment of your stay with us.

We're looking forward in welcoming you soon.

Yours sincerely,

Henri Spanneut
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

My 60th birthday. Loved the netting over the bed and the window shutters that block all mosquitos light and heat out. Our accommodation is always a base to explore from. We look for a good night’s sleep, satisfying breakfast, bar and clean pool. This one ticked all those boxes plus staff helpful with transport, going rates and tour suggestions. I would not suggest that you walk to town too much to see especially if hot. Satri has free bikes and it is safe to ride even though the road seems busy cars are aware of scooters and bikes. a lot safer than Oz and you see more. The grounds, building and décor are charming but with three days sight seeing and dinning out had little time to enjoy Satri House.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review, May 19, 2014
Dear Merry54,

Greetings from Satri House Secret Retreats,

Thank you very much for taking the time to give us your feedback about your recent experience.
We are delighted to read your kind comments and are looking forward in welcoming you back at Satri House.

Warmest regards,

Henri Spanneut
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I love hotels which offer ultimate luxury which are right in the thick of things. This is one of those hotels. In fact, it is linked with "Secret Places" - at least that's what the sign says. You turn into an alley off of a non-descripit street (near an Buddhist Temple) and suddenly you are in one of the most luxurious and tasteful of hotels I've every stayed in. There is complex geometry in the layout of the hotel, almost like a Chinese Garden. Two beautiful pools and a lotus pond. An incredible restaurant which serves French and Asian food at an incredible value. This is a real find!

Room Tip: They are all good. I'd ask for one near the restaurant. No issue of finding it or your room that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Satri House is a little oasis, on a nondescript street about a 10-minute walk from Luang Prabang's main town area. The choice of hotel in LP would very much impact one's stay, and it looks like there is everything here from backpackers' hostelries and sweet and good-value guesthouses to top of the line, atmospheric resorts. For me, Satri House was the perfect choice, rustic yet oozing Colonial charm, in a setting that is almost Bali-like with lush foliage and lily ponds. The guestroom was spacious, functioned well, had an inviting four-poster bed, teak floors and lovely balcony. The food was good as well as spa services. Sure, the restaurant waitstaff can be a little bit dim at times, but they're very well-meaning and friendly, and whether at dining or reception I always got what I needed or asked for. There was a real effort by all to be accommodating. Noise was a bit of an issue with neighbours who seemed to stay up late and blast music, but a closed window seemed to handle most of it! (except for the last day when some karaoke party nearby went on all afternoon.) I was told this happens occasionally and don't let that deter you; Satri House is a very nice choice and ticks the boxes for Luang Prabang vacation in keeping with its Colonial past and guests' desire for all the modern conveniences.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear FMD,

Thank you for posting such a detailed comment following to your stay at Satri House.

We're very happy to read how beautiful you found the property to be.
I will also forward your comment about the staff behavior. We always strive to provide professional and friendly service with personal attentions.

Thank you again for staying with us and sharing your comment.
We hope to welcome you again in this beautiful city, Luang Prabang.

Best regards,

Henri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York Mills, New York
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

The rooms have beautiful antiques in them and some with balconies. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The breakfast limited bit good. A lovely long pool for good swimming all surrounded by beautiful gardens. I didn't use the spa but it looked large and lovely.

Room Tip: Suggest a room on the second floor that is at the end of the building - good cross ventilation as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Deborah W,

Thank you for posting your comment on tripadvisor after staying at Satri House.

We're all very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We will be delighted to welcome you again at Satri House.

Best regards,

Henri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
350 reviews 350 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Just outside the historic part of Luang Prabang this is a really lovely property. Based round a royal house the new buildings are totally in character and beautifully decorated with antiques. Charming reading rooms, two very nice swimming pools, excellent spa and helpful staff. Breakfast was very good as was dinner. Probably the most charming up market hotel in the area.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear JNW,

Thank you very much for posting this beautiful comment following to your stay at Satri House.
It is a real joy to read that you liked every part of our property and moreover that you found our staff to be exellent.
We always strive to provide a professional and courteous service to all our guest. We're happy to read that your expectations were reached.

It will a pleasure for us to welcome you again at Satri House if you come back to Luang Prabang.

Best regards,

Henri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Satri House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satri House

Address: 57 Phothisarath Rd | Ban That Luang, Luang Prabang 85671, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Luang Prabang
#6 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#10 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#11 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Satri House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Satri House was built at the turn of the last century as the residence of Prince Souphanouvong. This building owns to Unesco Heritage. Satri House was refurbished in 2002 by Mrs. Lamphoune Voravongsa and has been run since as a hotel. During 2008 and 2012 the hotel has been enlarged with the addition of more colonial style buildings consisting of 14 Deluxe rooms, 14 junior suites and 3 Satri House suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Splendia, Expedia and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Satri House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Satri House Hotel Luang Prabang
Satri Hotel Luang Prabang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Satri House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.