We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply One of the Best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Satri House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Satri House to your Saves list
Satri House
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   57 Phothisarath Rd | Ban That Luang, Luang Prabang 85671, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Claremont, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Simply One of the Best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I love hotels which offer ultimate luxury which are right in the thick of things. This is one of those hotels. In fact, it is linked with "Secret Places" - at least that's what the sign says. You turn into an alley off of a non-descripit street (near an Buddhist Temple) and suddenly you are in one of the most luxurious and tasteful of hotels I've every stayed in. There is complex geometry in the layout of the hotel, almost like a Chinese Garden. Two beautiful pools and a lotus pond. An incredible restaurant which serves French and Asian food at an incredible value. This is a real find!

Room Tip: They are all good. I'd ask for one near the restaurant. No issue of finding it or your room that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    180
    60
    11
    11
    5
See reviews for
42
147
15
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

Satri House is a little oasis, on a nondescript street about a 10-minute walk from Luang Prabang's main town area. The choice of hotel in LP would very much impact one's stay, and it looks like there is everything here from backpackers' hostelries and sweet and good-value guesthouses to top of the line, atmospheric resorts. For me, Satri House was the perfect choice, rustic yet oozing Colonial charm, in a setting that is almost Bali-like with lush foliage and lily ponds. The guestroom was spacious, functioned well, had an inviting four-poster bed, teak floors and lovely balcony. The food was good as well as spa services. Sure, the restaurant waitstaff can be a little bit dim at times, but they're very well-meaning and friendly, and whether at dining or reception I always got what I needed or asked for. There was a real effort by all to be accommodating. Noise was a bit of an issue with neighbours who seemed to stay up late and blast music, but a closed window seemed to handle most of it! (except for the last day when some karaoke party nearby went on all afternoon.) I was told this happens occasionally and don't let that deter you; Satri House is a very nice choice and ticks the boxes for Luang Prabang vacation in keeping with its Colonial past and guests' desire for all the modern conveniences.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear FMD,

Thank you for posting such a detailed comment following to your stay at Satri House.

We're very happy to read how beautiful you found the property to be.
I will also forward your comment about the staff behavior. We always strive to provide professional and friendly service with personal attentions.

Thank you again for staying with us and sharing your comment.
We hope to welcome you again in this beautiful city, Luang Prabang.

Best regards,

Henri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York Mills, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

The rooms have beautiful antiques in them and some with balconies. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The breakfast limited bit good. A lovely long pool for good swimming all surrounded by beautiful gardens. I didn't use the spa but it looked large and lovely.

Room Tip: Suggest a room on the second floor that is at the end of the building - good cross ventilation as we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Deborah W,

Thank you for posting your comment on tripadvisor after staying at Satri House.

We're all very happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We will be delighted to welcome you again at Satri House.

Best regards,

Henri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
333 reviews 333 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Just outside the historic part of Luang Prabang this is a really lovely property. Based round a royal house the new buildings are totally in character and beautifully decorated with antiques. Charming reading rooms, two very nice swimming pools, excellent spa and helpful staff. Breakfast was very good as was dinner. Probably the most charming up market hotel in the area.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear JNW,

Thank you very much for posting this beautiful comment following to your stay at Satri House.
It is a real joy to read that you liked every part of our property and moreover that you found our staff to be exellent.
We always strive to provide a professional and courteous service to all our guest. We're happy to read that your expectations were reached.

It will a pleasure for us to welcome you again at Satri House if you come back to Luang Prabang.

Best regards,

Henri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

In India, several cities host hotels which were created from palaces belonging to the erstwhile maharajahs. I was surprised to learn that the Satri House hotel in Luang Prabang was once the residence of Prince Souphanouvong. The house was built over a hundred years ago and now has been refurbished to be run as a small hotel. The hotel has added some more rooms to match the earlier architecture. The entire hotel is well appointed with some exquisite art in the form of sculptures or paintings displayed at vantage points. Though a small hotel, it features two pools. The entire hotel is set amidst landscaped gardens giving it a feel of royalty. The location is in the heart of the city. The hotel offers free Internet access, free parking and free breakfast. The food served is excellent Laotian cuisine as well as Western cuisine.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you for posting your comment on Tripadvisor.

We're very happy to see that you really enjoyed the decoration of Satri House and the quality of our food.
The description that you give from our property cannot be closer to reality. As you said, we try to keep the impression of Royal Prorperty with a personal but still very professional service.

Thank you again for staying with us and sharing your review.

We would be very delighted to welcome you again at Satri House Secret Retreats.

Best regards,

Henri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Jolla, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

This unique hotel is listed with SECRET RETREATS, and was the most pleasant experience of many of the hotels of which we stayed in Indochina! We were booked for two rooms at the Lung Say Residence in Luang Prabang, but upon arrival, we had a problem with our not getting the two rooms of which we thought we had reserved. There was a gorgeous suite for my husband and I, but no place for our daughter, and after hitting "Trip Advisor" quickly, my daughter found this treasure and they took her into their "home". She said that is how she felt, that of being a guest in an exquisite home! It is run by two fabulous people who oversees the special touches. The design of the hotel is unique and there are places to discover at every turn!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

Satri House is a truly magical place... we stayed there for four nights and wish we could have stayed for fourteen! Seven colonial buildings scattered in an enchanting and beautifully maintained garden Satri House offered a perfect refuge and a space where privacy is paramount. Because of the structure of the hotel guests appear to have the place for themselves. You may bump into other guests at breakfast or dinner but you feel as if you are the only guests. It really does feel as if you are staying in someone's extremely elegant and beautiful home. Yes it is stylish but there is so much substance here as well. So much of the local Laotian arts and crafts are displayed here the curious guest can spend a whole day admiring them. But it is the people that make this such a special place. The hospitality is top notch - from the front desk to the gardeners to the wonderful and attentive waiters to the man feeding the fish in the ponds. The quality of the food is sensational - from Madame Mem's divine tomato, tamarind and pineapple jams to wonderful Laotian dishes for dinner. The service is thoughtful and considerate ie the charming waiter (Wye - probably misspelt his name - apologies) treating guests to refreshing juice by the pool which none of us had asked for but was so appreciated. The rooms are wonderful - they take you to a different age. The beds were very comfortable. Everything about the room - from the beautiful crystal shampoo and soap containers to the fabrics and sculptures - was about discrete luxury. I could keep on writing as we have both been thinking of this place since our return to England. I recommend Satri House place wholeheartedly. I hope it never loses its magical character. And a couple of more tips re restaurants: Tamarind is a must visit. As is the restaurant of the Three Nagas. Laotian food was something of a discovery for us. We are a gay couple - an art historian and a banker - and we found the welcome here full of gentle warmth. From Henri to Madame Mem and from Chunthy, Pon to Wye, everyone at Satri House thank you. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SatriHouseMGMT, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review, March 22, 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you again for staying with us at Satri House and for this very nice detailed comment that you shared on Tripadvisor.

It is a joy to read that you enjoyed every single part of our property and moment spent with us.
Your feed back is for us very important. Seeing that you find every service excellent is for us the accomplishment of our hard work.
I will forward this beautiful review to all the person concerned.

Once again, all the team is joining me in thanking you for your kindness.
it was a real pleasure to accommodate you.

If you would like to come back to Luang Prabang, do not hesitate to contact us.

Best regards,

Henri
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Satri House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satri House

Address: 57 Phothisarath Rd | Ban That Luang, Luang Prabang 85671, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Luang Prabang
#6 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#9 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#10 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Satri House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Satri House was built at the turn of the last century as the residence of Prince Souphanouvong. This building owns to Unesco Heritage. Satri House was refurbished in 2002 by Mrs. Lamphoune Voravongsa and has been run since as a hotel. During 2008 and 2012 the hotel has been enlarged with the addition of more colonial style buildings consisting of 14 Deluxe rooms, 14 junior suites and 3 Satri House suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Satri House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Satri House Hotel Luang Prabang
Satri Hotel Luang Prabang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Satri House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.