We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easily one of the very best boutique hotels in the world” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Satri House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Satri House to your Saves list
Satri House
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   57 Phothisarath Rd | Ban That Luang, Luang Prabang 85671, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 67 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Easily one of the very best boutique hotels in the world”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Having just left the Satri House I can honestly say that I have never enjoyed a hotel as much, in 20 years of travelling! The attention to detail, the beautiful setting, the antiques, the food, the service and the most incredible suite (422) that was like stepping back in time but with all the mod cons of today. I would wholeheartedly recommend this to anyone who wants to step back in time and recharge their batteries.

Room Tip: Our suite (422) was excellent. All rooms seemed to be beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    162
    54
    11
    9
    5
See reviews for
37
135
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Frensham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Satri House is beautifully decorated - the interiors are fabulous and the attention to detail is exquisite. Negatives would be that there was clearly no management around when we stayed so service was a bit slack and impersonal at times (getting aperitifs etc). Had to ask every time for the sun loungers to be uncovered etc.
However other than that (and as mentioned I think it was only because management was awaY) it is excellent in every regard. The reflexologiy by the courtyard lake and the incredible giant indoor baths in the spa were amazing. What I enjoyed the most was lying on my day bed on our balcolny watching domestic life in Luang Prabang slip by. You are nestled in a residential street and you watch children head off to school, families gathering for meals, sellers peddling their wares, everyone returning from market. We have fantastic memories of this place.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

I booked this hotel as a birthday surprise for my girlfriend. I booked it though Hotels.com as they were cheaper then booking through the hotel directly!

On arrival the staff were great and carried our backpacks for us. We were given welcome drinks and shown around the hotel grounds. It has 2 pools, a bar, restaurant, relaxing areas inside and out and a spa. Our room was downstairs near a small fish pond and was amazing. It had a 4 poster bed, lovely art on the walls and a separate toilet/bathroom.

The staff were so friendly and we had good chats with a few of them. The spa has some parts of it thrown in for free so a little bonus. The breakfast the next day was lovely. So much food we couldn't move afterwards. We ate on the terrace at the back of the resturant overlooking the large fish pond and it was great. We REALLY didn't want to leave. If we ever return to LP then this is the first place we will head to.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012 via mobile

Satori House is THE place to stay in Luang Prabangl - lush gardens/koi ponds, friendly staff, two very nice swimming pools and beautifully decorated rooms. When we stayed there earlier this month, we were pleased to get upgraded to the junior suite (yay, rainy season)! The breakfast was good and featured a nice selection of Asian and Western items. The only negatives were the wifi (which was frustratingly slow/however, complimentary wifi is available at most restaurants in town) and the hotel was just a tad bit away from the heart of town. Neither, however, is enough to score this place less than five stars. Amazing!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Soleuvre, Luxembourg
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at Satri House in August and intend to go back next year. Outstanding friendly service and atmosphere, including the friendliness of the owner Mrs Lamphoune, we had the occasion to spent some moments with for an after dinner-drink. The design of the hotel is exqusisit up to the last detail, colonial inspired Laos style. Exceptional relaxing breakfast (homemade jam is a dream) with classical music, extraordinary zen atmosphere and outside area, 2 pools; well situated just a few meters from the night market and river. This hotel alone is worth to return to Luangprabang. We are looking forward to return soon to Satri Haouse.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Stayed at the Satri House for 4 days. The place had style: Buddha statues, hats for the sun, lotus pools, it was lovely. It also had an excellent lap pool. We had a junior suite which was a larger room with a separate bath and separate shower, very nice.

On the negative side, two issues. The first was lousy internet access. It was bad for the first two days then nonexistent for the second two. To me having good internet access is essential. I was told that they are upgrading their system but I suspect that they are only upgrading the WIFI (which wasn't an issue from our room) not their data/internet access. The second issue was the the restaurant (which did have a lovely breakfast) was not very good. We ate there once (which is what most guests do) and then chose to eat in town.

Note that the walk to town is no big deal. It is 10 minutes and they do provide bikes if you choose to use one. We liked the location as it was just outside of the tourist zone.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
252 reviews 252 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
251 helpful votes 251 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed or 4 nights in August on a short break from Singapore.
We were in a suite, located next to the small pool in the garden. The location was perfect, both within the grounds and the town, all of the sights being within a 10 minute bicycle ride.
The room was beautifully decorated in colonial Asia-tique style with no TV which was ideal (available on request).
We didn't use the spa preferring to opt for the local, more reasonably priced options in the town and when we visited it was low season so there were few guests at Satri House.
As a result we found that there were a little too many staff 'milling' around and although they were all very pleasant, we felt that there was a lot of giggling and messing about going on everytime we passed the office.
The breakfast was nice -we opted for the rice soup, but terminally slow and the orange juice was served in thimble sized glasses and only refilled on request - as we don't take tea or coffee this was really frustrating.
I'm sure this is one of the best hotels in the town and would recommend it for couples or famililes, probably a bit quiet for groups of friends.

Room Tip: Suites by the smaller pool are quiet and large
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Satri House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satri House

Address: 57 Phothisarath Rd | Ban That Luang, Luang Prabang 85671, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Luang Prabang
#6 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#8 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#10 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Satri House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Satri House was built at the turn of the last century as the residence of Prince Souphanouvong. This building owns to Unesco Heritage. Satri House was refurbished in 2002 by Mrs. Lamphoune Voravongsa and has been run since as a hotel. During 2008 and 2012 the hotel has been enlarged with the addition of more colonial style buildings consisting of 14 Deluxe rooms, 14 junior suites and 3 Satri House suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Satri House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Satri House Hotel Luang Prabang
Satri Hotel Luang Prabang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Satri House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.