We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Feeling noble!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Satri House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Satri House to your Saves list
Satri House
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   57 Phothisarath Rd | Ban That Luang, Luang Prabang 85671, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 67 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Nakhon Nayok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Feeling noble!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

The place was the palace of one of the royal members of Laos. The architect and interior were giving you the feeling of being in the 40-50s. Wood furniture, hard floor, antiques decoration. It was located a bit far from the tourist spots but hat was not a problem. The hotel provided bicycles for free. We rode them everyday to browse the temples and tourist attractions all days and nights.
They served great breakfast. Also dinner. We agreed that it was the only place that served food and drinks with good taste ever since we came to Luang Prabang.
The staff was nice. Particularly those at the dining room. I enjoyed taking hotel pictures at night too.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    55
    11
    9
    5
See reviews for
39
135
13
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights at the beginning of August as part of a tour of Laos. What a gorgeous place. The rooms are so comfortable and the whole place is furnished with style and taste. So many wonderful artifacts. The pool is a good length for swimming with a plenty of seating in both sun and shady areas. The restaurant is excellent ; breakfasts were superb. BUT ... the best bit about the hotel , the staff . From the bus boys to the manager all so helpful, caring and friendly, attentive without being in your face. Will return one day.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joffrey G, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thanks you very much for your great comments on the Hotel and my team all the way from England.

We have enjoyed indeed having you with us and looking forward to welcoming you again soon!

All the best!

Joffrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

Until we stayed at Satri House our favourite hotel was the Victoria in Siem Reap not because it was the best we’d stayed in (we’ve been lucky enough to stay in some of the top rated hotel on tripadvisor) but because of the feel. Satri House has the same vibe, it’s a relaxing luxurious retreat in a pleasant residential part of town within walking distance of the old town. The rooms were fantastic, the beds amazingly comfortable and most important of all the staff were so good. They were without exception the most friendly helpful and happy staff in a hotel we’ve come across. Oh and I mustn’t forget to mention the breakfast, superb!

If you are planning a visit to Laos (and I highly recommend you do) then stay here.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joffrey G, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Thanks Rob & Sharon.

Nice to be compared after Victoria ...we love it too.

It was indeed nice to have you with us and my team was extremely pleased to taking care of your stay.

All the best!

Regards,

Joffrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Satri-House is a romantic hide-out at the edge of Luang Prabang. The hotel is set in an old-style building, beautifully furnished in colonial style and details are paid attention to up to perfection. You are warmly welcomed by very friendly staff and can relax in the library while you are waiting for your luggage to be brought into your room. It is absolutely calm with a wide garden space, two swimming pools and different seating areas to enjoy the view and the excellent service. The food is delicious. Bicycles are provided and the old town of Luang Prabang is only fifteen minutes away. The manager is very helpful in providing advice about trips in the area. The end of June/beginning of July is perfect if you want to experience Luang Prabang without crowds but be aware that it will rain frequently. On the other hand, you may not want to leave your room in this hotel anyway.

Room Tip: A room with direct access to the garden is especially nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joffrey G, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review, July 27, 2012
A Saturday morning review full of positivity. Luang Prabang is indeed a Relaxing destination and our Hotel is all prepare to service you well.

Your comments are appreciated and shared with my whole team.

All the best!

Regards,

Joffrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

This property continues to improve and impress. To fully love this hotel you:

need to enjoy your own company
revel in peace and quiet
love to be surrounded with objet d'art and antiques

if the above appeals, read on.

Satri House is a blend of old structures and sympathetic new construction. Gardens are beautiful and there a re lots of places to sit (or lie) and enjoy the sub-tropical warmth. Rooms and suites are well thought out. We had one of the Satri suites but the smaller suites and rooms are spacious and very comfortable.

Two swimming pools, a small bar (excellent lychee martinis!!!!) lovely restaurant and dedicated (if unobtrusive) staff supplemented by professional, friendly and informative management complete the picture.

The hotel is also very close to one of the main Wats of Luang Prabang - if you listen around 5.20 am you will hear the monk's "alarm gong" - very useful if you wish to observe the alms procession.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joffrey G, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
You make us feel special with your comments.
It is always a Victory when we see that our guests keep coming back and enjoying still our talented team through their performances.

Thanks you very much on Behalf of all my team for your support.

Best regards,

Joffrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights in mid February 2012, a special trip as part of my wife's 50th birthday vacation. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the house and rooms - we had a junior suite - are very tastefully decorated with antique pieces of furniture throughout. The bed was one of the most comfortable we've ever slept in!

The restaurant was excellent - both for breakfast and for dinner on our first and last nights. The staff were all very attentive and nothing was too much trouble for them. we didn't have time to try the Spa so I can't really comment on the treatments but it looked a very relaxing place

Whilst in Luang Prabang I was really quite ill with a bacterial stomach infection (very unlike me indeed). I had a fever and was really not at all well. The staff looked after me really well, cooking special meals that were more easily digested etc. They also arranged a doctor (who frankly did a better examination of me than any UK GP I've ever been treated by). All of this meant that I missed out on 24hrs of our time in Luang Prabang which was quite a chunk of our 3 day trip. We will have to go back and will definitely look to stay at Satri House....

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
We do remenber you well and your group of friends.

It was a real pleasure to be part of your 50th Birthday!

All the best!

Regards,

Joffrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We could not have enjoyed our time in Luang Prabang more thanks to Joffrey and his special team of genuinely kind staff. For someone with sophisticated taste, yet enjoys simplicity and natural beauty, this is the place! We loved our room overlooking the lilly pond, breakfast, use of the hotel's complimentary bicycles, and most especially, just getting to know the staff! This hotel stands out as we travel 6-weeks through Southeast Asia. Despite struggling to decide between several attractive hotels in this small city, we're very glad we landed at Satri House! Very highly recommend!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at Satri House, responded to this review, July 15, 2012
We have on our side - really enjoyed you staying with us.

Thanks for your constructives comments and all the best!

Regards,

Joffrey
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Satri House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Satri House

Address: 57 Phothisarath Rd | Ban That Luang, Luang Prabang 85671, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Luang Prabang
#6 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#8 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#10 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Satri House 5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the city, Satri House was built at the turn of the last century as the residence of Prince Souphanouvong. This building owns to Unesco Heritage. Satri House was refurbished in 2002 by Mrs. Lamphoune Voravongsa and has been run since as a hotel. During 2008 and 2012 the hotel has been enlarged with the addition of more colonial style buildings consisting of 14 Deluxe rooms, 14 junior suites and 3 Satri House suites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Satri House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Satri House Hotel Luang Prabang
Satri Hotel Luang Prabang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Satri House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.