We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly Orient Express Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond La Residence Phou Vao

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond La Residence Phou Vao to your Saves list
Belmond La Residence Phou Vao
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   3 PO Box 50, Luang Prabang, Laos   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book now and save 15%
Ranked #2 of 67 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Saigon, null, Vietnam
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A truly Orient Express Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

This is our first stay at an Orient Express property and it was everything and beyond what we expected. We arrived at the Luang Prabang airport and the driver was practically waiting next to luggage belt to help us with our luggage.

As soon as you arrived in the lobby there was a very unique scent which brings you back in time.

We were accommodated in the Prabang room which had views of the lush tropical garden full of frangipani flowering trees. The balcony looked into the hills of Luang Prabang.

The team at the hotel was professional and very genuine as well. On the second morning we got up early to attend the alms-giving ritual but we forgot to book the shuttle the night before. We went to the lobby at 5.30am and lucky for us the driver was already there. He took us to the place where the ritual takes place and he also helped purchased the rice and arranged for the mat so we could participate. (One note : it was advised that travelers do not buy the rice from the vendors on the streets).

Apparently April - September is the low season. However from our experience this is the best time to go as you can really enjoy the property. Actually I don'tt know why this beautiful time of the year should be the low season as the weather was perfeclt sunny for the 3 days while we were there.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    449
    46
    13
    7
    3
See reviews for
84
295
30
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Beautiful property, great deal for the money in a luxury but not ultra-mega-thousands of dollars per night-luxury kind of way. Attentive staff, great detail, had the place to ourselves. Like many have noted, this hotel is not in town so you will need to rely on their vans or taxies to get to and from the sights of LP. The rooms was nice- I especially remember the bathroom being wonderful. The one thing that sticks in my memory months later is the TV in the room being small and outdated. Great stay!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We just spent 2 nights at La Residence Phou Vao and were blown away. The service we received was the best we have ever had at any hotel. The restaurant was beyond delicious and the menu creative. Our room was large and had a wonderful balcony and view. We spent our afternoons at the infiniety pool which has great views of town. The entire property is beautiful and peaceful. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Our stay here was beyond expectation. Luang Prabang is a fascinating destination and La Residence has charm, intimacy, and wonderful dining. Truly exceptional service. Here is where this hotel separated itself from all others we have visited throughout the world. The manager John Dopere and his staff went out of their way to help us cope with an injury incurred while traveling in Thailand just before we arrived in Laos. Their thoughtfulness and assistance were really remarkable, turning a difficult situation for us into an experience of unusual kindness. We look forward to returning here someday with our grown children and their families.

Room Tip: Mountain View From 2nd floor - lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montecito, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

The hotel was beautiful and the staff and service were extraordinary. I went with my wife and found it very romantic, but also would also go back with my kids. The hotel arranged guides for us for a few adventures, including the Pak Ou cave and the guides were great. The place is very peaceful and the people lovely.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed three nights in April. Our stay was badly marred by the "slashing and burning" that apparently goes on February-May every year. Eye-stinging smog and ash flakes(!) in the air day and night. Do NOT go at this time. But when you DO go, this is the right hotel. Pretty location, "boutique" size, nicely appointed rooms, expensive enough to keep away the kind of crowd you dont want around you during your holiday...
The Mekong river cruise on the hotels own boat was the high point. A fabulous experience.
Spa and restaurant best described as "work in progress", but the new GM will fix that.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruges
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We read a lot of positive reviews about this hotel and can only confirm them. From the first till the last minute you're a guest in all its positive meanings. The staff is excellent and very attentive. The manager John is never out of sight and as a pater familias runs this excellent hotel. You almost have the feeling it's family runned because the staff is very complimentary one to another!
Luang Prabang is very particulary and still full of Indochine nostalgy! I hope they will preserve this authenticity because undisciplined tourists have already a bad influence on the Morning Alms giving when almost assaulting monks with their cameras.
Rooms are very spacious, gardens well kept and you're out of the city but still close by. We took the shuttle and walked back (30min).
The spa deserves an extra recommendation because its more than excellent!
If time go for a trekking/hiking with Tiger Trail, just do it. We had a day hiking tour and loved it!
Just take good shoes....!

So, don't hesitate to go to Phou Vao. Just be sure you go the right season!

Room Tip: We loved the junior suites because they're on upper level but I suppose all rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond La Residence Phou Vao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond La Residence Phou Vao

Address: 3 PO Box 50, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Luang Prabang
#1 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#1 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Luang Prabang
#1 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Belmond La Residence Phou Vao 4.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Belmond La Residence Phou Vao nestles atop the Phou Vao (Hill of Kites) in Luang Prabang, the ancient capital of Laos. Overlooking the confluence of the Mekong and Nam Khan rivers, this luxury hotel and spa offers breathtaking views of the surrounding mountains and numerous temples ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Belmond, Agoda, Tingo, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Belmond La Residence Phou Vao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Residence Phou Vao By Orient-Express Hotel Luang Prabang
La Residence Phou Vao Hotel
La Residence Phou Vao Resort

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond La Residence Phou Vao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.