We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fun and good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Khem Khan Sin Dad

Khem Khan Sin Dad
Kingkitsarath Rd, Luang Prabang, Laos
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 144 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Restaurant details
perth
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“Great fun and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We walked along the cafe strip on the river and were immediately attracted to this hive of activity, as opposed to the more upmarket and expensive places like tamarind. Here we cooked out own noodle soup on a charcoal BBQ on our table, dinner for two wad 50,000 kip plus beer, service was attentive by all the family, we went here twice during our stay, tip, don't be in a hurry to eat the soup, let the floors develop.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    4
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Best value and food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We were diligently stopping at nearly every restaurant we passed, checking menus and prices...trying to decide on our next meal. We were immediately drawn in by the 'barbecue soup' here. We decided to have a seat and were delighted to enjoy a platter of mixed meats, veggies, and soup for only 50,000 kip for the two of us! It was perfect for our budget and our bellies.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“One of my favourite meals in LP”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

This is a great way to eat in Luang Prabang. If you are sensitive to gastro bugs, the benefit of this is that you cook the meat and vegetables right there and then on the table - no chance for the bugs to survive! It is all very fresh and healthy. The owner is super friendly, speaks English and delights in showing people how to "dad sin". Highly recommended!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
“BBQ Soup - a delicious meal and great entertainment”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We had BBQ soup at the Khem Khan Sin Dad beside the Nam Khan (Khan River) on three of the five nights we were in Luang Prabang in early August. The first two times we had the selection of meats and the last time had the seafood. The food was delicious and unfortunately we didn’t try any of the other options, which included hot pot and noodle dishes. Cooking the meat and the soup is an entertainment in its own right. Just buy a Lao beer and enjoy.
There were a lot of locals but also quite a few tourists. The place is usually packed but a table cleared quickly each time we went there. Don’t arrive late as they close the kitchen when the food meat and seafood runs out. They were out of seafood by 8.00pm on the second night we were there.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic and super cheap!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

We spotted this place not far from out hotel filled with locals! We sats down and decided on the chicken they filled our little coal pit in the middle of the table with hot coal and brought us the metal BBQ tray which fits easily on top then it's all you! They showed us how to start filling the soup ring with broth and adding cracked egg and greens all the while cooking your meat on top! We copied the locals and had a fantastic night! All condiments and drinks plus to BBQ totalled to $10!! It was brilliant and tasted awesome! Fantastic experience highly recommend you try!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khem Khan Sin Dad also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Khem Khan Sin Dad? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khem Khan Sin Dad, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.