We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised ” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pizza Phan Luang

Pizza Phan Luang
Phan Luang Village | Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang, Laos
+856 20 56 922 529
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 156 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Tuesday to Sunday 5PM to 10PM -- Closed On Mondays -- Take a bicycle over the Old Bridge and turn left at the next road. Ride two minutes to the corner with the temple and turn right. You will see a small white pizza sign. We are in the back yard behind Emerson English Center. Or take the Bamboo Bridge which will be up until June. If you are a group please call ahead to make a reservation. Bring an umbrella.
Rockville, Maryland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We've learned (the hard way) that we can't always trust reviews online. We took a chance on this pizza place, though, and were so glad we did. Thank you, TripAdvisors!! We really enjoyed our beer and pizza in the little garden behind the English school. It was a welcome change and (a bit sadly) better than half the pizzas we had in northern Italy. It's absolutely worth the boat ride across the river or the walk across the bridge!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    60
    12
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Hard to find, but worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

We knew this was going to be difficult to find and it was. We went on a motorbike and there are literally no signs until you get to the place. Go over the bamboo bridge , make the first left turn on a proper road and it is a good mile down the road where the road splits and you will turn right and the pizza place is there. However, when you arrive it is a lovely small place, all outside. There aren't many tables so get there early. The menu is limited - just pizza but it was delicious.
Definitely worth a trip there. The setting is very nice.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPSara1, Owner at Pizza Phan Luang, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Future Guests and Kathy L,

Ladies and gentlemen, please disregard Kathy L's description of how to get to Pizza Phan Luang. She seemed to feel lost and according to our TA review history she might be the only one. We are much closer than a mile from the Old Bridge.

The directions to Pizza Phan Luang are clearly indicated on our TA page. Twice.

Kathy L, thank you again for your review. When writing consider how not to confuse your subjective experience with fact. it is not fair to businesses and easily misleads innocent guests.

JP and Thip
Pizza Phan Luang
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Good pizza but not the best restaurant in Luang Prabang”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is a cute little place in an out of the way location, with a very simple formula that works well and pizzas that taste good. However, it punches well above it's weight in the tripadvisor reviews. I'm not sure I would classit as the best restaurant in Luang Prabang, but is does make good pizzas!

It was almost deserted on the night we went and we struggled to find much to keep us there once we had finished our admittedly excellent pizza and drunk our wine. The menu is short and sweet: a couple of different pizzas, beer, wine and soft drinks. That's it. Not even a scoop of icecream for desert. It's in fairly small backyard made romantic by the addition of a 100 flickering parafin lamps and some chilled music.

We were staying nearby,but if you had made the trip out from across the river (the bamboo bridge is currently out of action) it may be a little underwhelming. We prolonged our visit by walking the long way home, but even doing this we were in and out within half an hour. Might be an idea to combine it with a drink at Dyen Sabai if you are coming across the river from town.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“SOMETHING VERY DIFFERENT!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

They say people will go to places if the product is good even though the surroundings are not that great! It's all about the product here at Pizza Phan Luang.

In addition the service is very good from the Owner, JP who knows how to make a pizza.

To find the place is a challenge seeing it's behind an English school with not much signage to say...." we sell great Pizza..." :)

JP built a Woodfire Oven and thats one of the reasons the Pizza is very good plus he seems to have studied the art of creating a fine, crusty base Pizza.

If you are looking for beautiful salads, desserts and anything apart from Pizza forget it.

Just go for the experience....it was certainly different but extremely pleasurable.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Nice pizza, romantic setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

Needed a break from the delicious Laos cuisine so decided to go for pizza. Really nice pizzas cooked in wood oven, set in back garden of English centre, surrounded by candles and the open sky! Very enjoyable!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Phan Luang also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Pizza Phan Luang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizza Phan Luang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.