We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Pizza - and a nice short menu for once” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pizza Phan Luang

Pizza Phan Luang
Phan Luang Village | Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang, Laos
+856 20 56 922 529
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 156 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Tuesday to Sunday 5PM to 10PM -- Closed On Mondays -- Take a bicycle over the Old Bridge and turn left at the next road. Ride two minutes to the corner with the temple and turn right. You will see a small white pizza sign. We are in the back yard behind Emerson English Center. Or take the Bamboo Bridge which will be up until June. If you are a group please call ahead to make a reservation. Bring an umbrella.
København, Danmark
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
“Excellent Pizza - and a nice short menu for once”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Getting here is quite exciting as you have to cross a dodgy bamboo bridge - adds to the excitement. Arriving to the restaurant we were handed the menus. For one only a handful of options (All pizzas) were available -and we could order our food quickly.
Too many restaurants have everything from local food to burgers - and for me that makes ordering a slow process as I really like food. All food. At Pizza Phan you go for Pizza - and you get Pizza.

We had the Salami and the Ham Pizzas - and they were excellent. The owner and our waiter was very polite and made us feel like we were at a much higher class restaurant. Prices were not bad either.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPSara1, Owner at Pizza Phan Luang, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear TravelAddictDK,.

Thank you for dining with us and for your very kind and generous review. It was a pleasure to meet you and to serve you. Yes, we have a short menu of pizzas only. We are going to introduce some desserts next month as we do get some requests. I would like to offer some more up-market wines as well but we have to check on availability and quality. And yes, the bamboo bridge is an adventure of sorts. We hope it added to your pizza dining experience with us. Thank you again for your review. Thip and I wish you the very best of health, happiness and good times on your travels.

Warmest regards,

JP and Thip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    59
    12
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Horley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
“Fantastic Pizzas across the river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We visited the Pizza Phan Luang restaurant and had a lovely evening. The restaurant is located just across the river (across the bamboo bridge) from central Luang Prabang. The pizzas cooked in a wood fired oven were delicious and the hospitality of JP (owner/chef) was second to none. Definitely a must do whilst in Luang Prabang

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPSara1, Owner at Pizza Phan Luang, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear ValH21,

Thank you for your very kind review and for being our guests at Pizza Phan Luang. It was our pleasure to serve you. Yes, the oven is pretty cool and can turn out a mean pizza. Thip and I are happy you enjoyed them. Thank you again for your generous review. All the best of health and happiness on your travels.

Warmest regards,

JP and Thip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Pizzas!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Lovely quiet location on the far side of the river. Friendly and attentive service. Despite a small mix up with our order, both pizzas were delicious, one of the best we've had in our 10 months of travelling. Would definitely recommend this place.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPSara1, Owner at Pizza Phan Luang, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear TravelingConkie,

Thank you very much for your kind and generous review. I apologize for serving you a Bacon Onion Mushroom when you ordered a Pepperoni. I still think about it with regret. I assure that it has never and will never happen again. You are very kind and understanding. Yes, our location across the bamboo bridge isn't really far from town and our back yard setting is as natural as we could keep it. Thip and I are at it everyday preparing everything fresh for that day. Nothing stays in the refrigerator for more than 18 hours. It's a lot of work but we think the pizzas speak for themselves. We are very pleased you enjoyed being our guests. Thank you so much again for your review. Thip and I wish you the very best of health and happiness where ever you happen to be and that you are having the very best of times.

Kindest regards,

JP and Thip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Melt-in-your-mouth pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Finding a delicious crisp crust pizza oozing with the tastiest mozzarella cheese (from New Zealand) is a feat in itself. But to find it in Luang Prabang is a real bonus. I'm proud that a fellow Canadian is running such an fantastic little pizza place. Jean Paul keeps it simple with 5 different pizzas, all at reasonable prices. The ambiance is chilled with tables set in a lovely garden setting and great chill-out music in the background. Service is very attentive and friendly. Last night I had the pepperoni, mushroom, peppers and olive and have enough for lunch today. It's so worth the trip across the bamboo bridge (even in the dark). I'll be back for the bacon pizza next!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPSara1, Owner at Pizza Phan Luang, responded to this review, March 16, 2013
Dear PrincessMisha,

Thank you for visiting us at Pizza Phan Luang and for sharing your experience with the world. It was very nice to meet a fellow Torontonian and gather their thoughts on our pizza. We are very happy you enjoyed everything. Yes, our cheese is very good. In town there are only a few dairy supplies to choose from. We tried them all alone and in combination with one another. We beilieve the one from New Zealand you mention adds the most flavor to the pizzas on its own. It does not add excess oil nor does it dry out and blacken while in the oven. Thank you again for your very kind review. It was very nice to meet you. Perhaps we will see you soon for that Bacon Onion Mushroom.

Very best regards,

JP and Thip
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Like having knock-out pizza at your mates place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

While the bamboo bridge may sound daunting and the directions a bit obscure, there is nothing intimidating about this set up. In fact, it's just like popping around the corner to your mates' place who's got a cranking wood-fire oven. JP, who was an attentive and modest host, is doing so many things right. He's created a very small, pizza-centric menu (Smart), a homely and intimate space and is treating top quality ingredients with wonderful care and attention. My boyfriend had the pepperoni and I had the bacon and mushroom as well as two large beer lao (130,000kip). We relished the tasty crust which was puffed and charred in the right places and had the perfect ratio of cheese to toppings. Plenty of free water top ups were well appreciated especially as JP was dancing around a full restaurant on his own. We'll be spreading the good word about this place.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JPSara1, Owner at Pizza Phan Luang, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Idigsoup,

Thank you for your very generous review of Pizza Phan Luang and for your kind words about me. We are so far a two-person operation where Thip builds pizza while I cook them and serve our guests. It really keeps me on my toes as you mention but we have a lot of fun doing it and believe our guests enjoy the snappy service. Regarding the pizzas themselves, the dough is done by hand in small batches everyday. We don't like to have anything in the fridge more than 12 hours. All our toppings are cooked and lightly seasoned before they appear on a pizza. Nothing is raw besides olives. The oven was a challenge to build but its dynamics are ideal for the pizza we make. Sometimes I wish it were bigger though so I could get four pizzas in there at once. Thank you again for your sharing your experience at Pizza Phan Luang with the world. It was very nice to meet you and our pleasure to serve you. We wish you the very best of times where ever your adventures take you.

Very best regards,

Thip and JP
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Phan Luang also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Pizza Phan Luang? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pizza Phan Luang, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.