We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great French Fusion!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tangor

Tangor
House No.63/6, Ban Xiengmouane, Rue Sisavangvong, Luang Prabang, Laos
+856 20 95 607 262
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 156 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French, Asian, Bistro
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Bangalore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great French Fusion!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Upon entering this restaurant, the first thing I noticed was cozy and sophisticated décor. The outdoor section allowed us to eat and see the scenery and passing people below. Of we dishes we ordered, the ceviche of Tangor was delicious!

I would highly recommend Tangor for its great fusion food!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    116
    21
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Peacham, Vermont
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Great for my husband, So-so for me”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

My husband and I visited back in April during the Laos New Year celebrations of Pimay. As far as he's concerned Tangor should get 5 stars, but I didn't have as good an experience. He had a nice curry and delicious ceviche. He is a fish fanatic, and said that this was some of the best ceviche he has ever eaten!

On the other hand, I had a simple green curry that was SO salty. It tasted like a whole salt shaker had been emptied into it. It was a really strange contrast, since his meal was so tasty! Anyhow, they have a great atmosphere and at least my husband can recommend them!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Tangor is Tops”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We'd already tried all of the other top rated restaurants, on this and a prior trip to Luang Prabang. Near the end of our trip we decided to try the Newcomer Tangor is tops. It's simply superb.

It is owned by a French couple, and is French-Laotian. The cuisine is delicious. The service is friendly, and the decor is informal, but sophisticated.

The veranda is open air. You can dine in comfort and see a vibrant street scene pass by.

We liked it so much, at dinner our last night, that we came back for lunch our last day. The food is supernal, and by far the best we tasted on this trip to Luang Prabang.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Ok so the prices were high for Laos however the quality and taste of the food and wine was worth it. We started with baked camembert and crisp fresh salad with a very yummy dressing, which we devoured within a matter of minutes. We then decided to each order a different main meal which we would all share. So we all got to have some chicken, pork, duck and fish. Perfect! Go knowing you would not get as good a meal anywhere else in the world for the same price.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Tasty, friendly, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

Lao with a French touch, unassuming, great for people watching, excellent ceviche, Burmese curry, lots of other good stuff. We ate here a few times and were not disappointed,

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tangor also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Tangor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tangor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.