We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Order the ceviche” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tangor

Tangor
House No.63/6, Ban Xiengmouane, Rue Sisavangvong, Luang Prabang, Laos
+856 20 95 607 262
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 156 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: French, Asian, Bistro
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Denver, CO
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Order the ceviche”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Nice spot to sit with a glass of wine and watch the world go by. My husband could not stop raving about the ceviche served here. We've spent weeks in Peru and he's had his share of authentic ceviche, and he insisted it was very well done at this place.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

368 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    220
    116
    21
    9
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Good food but weird atmosphere”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Although the food was good the vibe when we walked in was really weird - everyone was looking as us and whispering as if we just walked into an exclusive club - the owner was running around and barely looked at us only to tell us that he has no room and to come back another day - meanwhile we noticed 2 couples getting up so we took a seat - it took forever to get menus and to get our food - he clearly was short staffed - we noticed it was like that everyday as we walked by so i guess he doesn't want to pay for the extra help, which makes his service suffer considerably - we also saw a cockroach which is a deal breaker for me

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thibault J, Manager at Tangor, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Dear Sowpow,

Thank you for your comment.

We are deeply sorry that you did not appreciate your experience at Tangor.

It is important to mention that Tangor is a small restaurant with an open air terrasse on the main touristic street of Laos and not an "exclusive club". Our clientele is mainly touristic and i do not think anyone was judging you when you came in the other night.

Getting staff for a new restaurant in Luang Prabang is very difficult as the demand is much more bigger than the offer. Believe me it was not funny for me to running around that night like that, but that is what may happen when you are working in Hospitality industry.
Sometimes you get staff who pretend to be sick or who let you down for some exterior reasons or family reasons.

I will not respond to your "guessing" about not paying staff it's a free insult and judgment about myself that i will try to forget. Lots of restaurant are facing problem with human ressource in Luang Prabang we are not an exception.

About the cockroach you saw, as we are very close to the street in a very hot country we try to treat as much as possible our property but i can not treat the entire street.

To rate us as "poor" is a very hard knock for Mao and me who are doing our best to please our custommer, especially when you are saying that the food was good. Nevertheless it would have been much more easier to ask me questions rather than expressing your thoughts without knowing.

Best regards,

The management team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seria, Brunei Darussalam
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great new flavours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Just got back form eating at Tangor and each dish was a lovely surprise. We started with the recommended local sushi (river fish and tamarind jam with sticky black rice), following it up with mains of cerviche of fish and a Burmese fish and shrimp curry. Dessert was the lime and basil pannacotta, a delicious flavour I've certainly never experienced before. Lovely atmosphere, attentive service. C'est tres tres bien.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wedmore, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fusion food and great jazz”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We ate here in March, and was really impressed with the place - the food was unilaterally good, it was clean and they were playing some wonderful jazz. The front of the place is open to the street, so we could watch the remnants of the night market while having a drink, in a really relaxed atmosphere. Probably the best restaurant we ate in in Cambodia.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“French flair”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

What a relaxing flavoursome meal we had in Tangor last night with even the Sileni Chardonnay chilled to the right level. The ceviche is special and the baked Camembert divine.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tangor also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Tangor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tangor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.