We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel in worlds most amazing city” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Sen Boutique Hotel

Save Saved
You added Le Sen Boutique Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Le Sen Boutique Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   113 Manomai Road | Mano Village, Luang Prabang, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 66 hotels in Luang Prabang
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel in worlds most amazing city”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

I travelled to Laos before christmas in 2013! It was 10 degrees when we arrived and the staff were very helpful in providing us with extra blankets at night! rooms were spectacular, twin room with two singles was the perfect size to accommodate my sister and myself. Breakfast was served every morning in the small restaurant and was welcomed on a cold laotian morning with open arms! fresh omelettes, croissants, toast, cereal anything you could want! I recommend you try their laotian feast which is served at the restaurant at night. A small tasting plate of everything local to the area! amazing! A tuk tuk ride into town costs about $1.50AUD for two people! Lovely place to come back to after a long day of exploring this amazing place! if you are thinking about travelling to Laos do not hesitate it is simply the most amazing and beautiful place in the world.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phouvilath S, Manager at Le Sen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Greeting from Le Sen Boutique Hotel!

On behalf of all the team, here at Le Sen Boutique Hotel, I would like to express my gratitude for the time you spent writing this kind review on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to read that you had a pleasant stay with us

we would be honored to welcome you back one day to our property

We wish you all the best,

Warmest regards,

Dalasone Sisouphanh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    36
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
27
92
18
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

we booked for a suite and was upgraded to the villa for no extra charge ,big ground floor room with the shower outside in a curtained off area , what an experience to shower , it was like showering in a rainforest. the room was clean and well appointed , the staff were great , the restaurant we ate in quite a bit , the staff were fantastic, the food and drinks were reasonably priced and very enjoyable, we really had a great time at this hotel and I highly recommend this one , I would stay there again if I find my way back to luang prabang

Room Tip: the villa is a different experience that people should try, as it is quite nice and big
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phouvilath S, Manager at Le Sen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Greeting from Le Sen Boutique Hotel!

On behalf of all the team, here at Le Sen Boutique Hotel, I would like to express my gratitude for the time you spent writing this kind review on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to read that you had a pleasant stay with us

we would be honored to welcome you back one day to our property

We wish you all the best,

Warmest regards,

Dalasone Sisouphanh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

le sen boutique was the first stop on our two week southeast asia trip. we booked here when we realized the #1 rated on tripadvisor was fully booked. we were not disappointed! This small, cozy hotel is not in the main town area or next to the river where a lot of the other hotels are. it is just a short walk away. this hotel has everything though - friendly staff, bicycles, shuttles, breakfast, a pool, a gym. The rooms are pretty modern. Pretty simple. Bathroom, bed, balcony. During our free time we took the short walk into town and explored. When we felt a bit more adventurous, the staff helped us book tuk tuks to see the monk's alms giving ceremony as well as kuangxi falls. the day of our departure we made a mistake and went to the airport in the morning instead of at night and they picked us back from the airport and took us in for the day, no questions or extra charges!! they even let us eat breakfast! Breakfast is not overly busy and has just the right amount of food. you can order noodles and or select from fruits, pastries, fresh bread, or three dishes. Everything was delicious.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phouvilath S, Manager at Le Sen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Greeting from Le Sen Boutique Hotel!

On behalf of all the team, here at Le Sen Boutique Hotel, I would like to express my gratitude for the time you spent writing this kind review on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to read that you had a pleasant stay with us

we would be honored to welcome you back one day to our property

We wish you all the best,

Warmest regards,

Dalasone Sisouphanh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We stayed at Le Sen Boutique hotel for 3 nights and had booked "the villa" with our children. Our stay has been excellent and we really enjoyed the setting of the hotel, great food and relaxing atmosphere. During new year the hotel organised drinks and we enjoyed a traditional Laos new-years blessing on new-years day.

There is actually nothing much that can be improved for this hotel and is a sure recommendation.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phouvilath S, Manager at Le Sen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Greeting from Le Sen Boutique Hotel!

On behalf of all the team, here at Le Sen Boutique Hotel, I would like to express my gratitude for the time you spent writing this kind review on Tripadvisor.

We are glad to read that you had a pleasant stay with us

we would be honored to welcome you back one day to our property

We wish you all the best,

Warmest regards,

Dalasone Sisouphanh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is a fairly new hotel and the specifications are to a high standard. Compared with some boutique hotels in SE Asia I found the staffing a little cold and the design of the pool which is almost always in shade is a definite minus. Having all the rooms face the pool gives the hotel a slightly claustrophobic atmosphere which a more open design would not. The hotel is some distance from the centre but it is a perfectly pleasant walk and can be done using different routes. However, the rooms are spacious and the food at breakfast and in the evening is excellent. Charging $10 for the hotel shuttle to take you on the 10 minute run to the airport seemed rather greedy on their part.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phouvilath S, Manager at Le Sen Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, May 26, 2014
Dear Sir/Madam,

Warm greeting from Le Sen Boutique Hotel!

I would like to thank you for your review and your feedback, which is of utter importance for us in order to keep on improving. I am sorry we could not live up to your expectations, but I hope we will have the chance of showing improvements shall you give us a second chance on a future visit to Luang Prabang.


Looking forward to your next visit,


With best regards,
Dalasone Sisouphanh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stayed at Le Sen for 3 nights, after flying from London to Laos. We were delighted to have checked into this hotel – it is an oasis of calm. We says in the Villa which is absolutely beautiful. The room is enormous with a large outside bathroom and private spa.

The hotel, grounds and pool are immaculate.

All of the staff are wonderfully polite and welcoming. The general manager really couldn't do anything more for us: He arranged a city tour, transport and dinner recommendations. There are free bikes to hire and we enjoyed taking easy cycling around LP. This was easily the best place we stayed in Laos and a fabulous start to our holiday.

Room Tip: Villa is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

A calm, effortlessly trendy retreat in a calm, effortlessly trendy place. Located a goodly distance from the centre of the action - will be a minus for some for sure and LP maybe not the sort of place you need to escape from. Free bikes and shuttle buses reduce that slight snag for sure. Calm, zen (Le Sen - geddit) reception, opening onto pool, fountain and rooms looking onto the same.

Check in was swift and smooth. Our room, a calm (bland?) space with all mod cons and everything you expect for the price. Lighting arrangement inadequate and details like bedside tables missing (where is one to put the dentures/iPhone?) Both issues easily resolved though. Firm, comfortable, enormous bed with crisp linens.

For the size of hotel, the gym was superb. Pool far too cold to spend more than 30 seconds in. Certainly not for wallowing.

Delicious breakfast served by friendly enough staff.

Recommended with a slight hesitation. Can't help but think that the hotel is slightly overpriced. It's a great establishment but located well away from the action and we stuck our beaks into a few other places in town, charging similar wedge and would have been equally happy in these. That said, it's a great hotel and we enjoyed our stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Sen Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Sen Boutique Hotel

Address: 113 Manomai Road | Mano Village, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 66 hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Le Sen Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A newly built 19 rooms boutique hotel in the heart of Luang Prabang. Design, hip & trendy. Swimming pool & restaurant. Free WiFi - gym. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Asiatravel.com Holdings, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Le Sen Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Sen Boutique Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.