We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Liberty Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Liberty Guest House to your Saves list
Liberty Guest House
Norlanalai Street, 79/4 Ban That Luang, Luang Prabang, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

A little walk to the centre but in a lovely quiet road. Nice staff and super clean. We would have stayed longer but it was all booked. Would stay again for sure. There is tv and ac in the rooms. No kettle but hot showers. Laundry facilities close by or you can use the guest houses washing line.

Room Tip: Sorry iPad malfunction there is no pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    45
    22
    7
    5
See reviews for
5
47
29
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Porto, Portugal
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

I stayed for three nights at the Liberty Guest House in Luang Prabang at the end of September 2012. The place is nice and clean, no problem about that, and it's on a quiet street so there's no noise around.

The problem is that it's not very central, and Luang Prabang is a charming little town offering loads of accommodation in the main street and surroundings, so this place doesn't come very handy. Furthermore, I checked some other hostels and guesthouses in the main street offering better prices that the Liberty Guest House (although I didn't check them to be fair), so I guess there are better options in the area.

Breakfast was simple but it was included on the price. The service was pretty fair, no big fuzz. Recommendable but just take a look at some other options first... just in case.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We weren't sure about this guesthouse at first because they had limited reviews. After staying five nights, we couldn't be happier with our decision. The rooms are extremely large, the AC chills the room very nicely, flat T.V., and the breakfast will save you 30-40 thousand kip per person.

It is a little bit of a walk to "the main part of town". But only takes ten minutes by foot. If you really don't want to make the stroll, grab a bicycle for 10,000 kip.

It is a very peaceful part of town in what is a fairly peaceful area of Laos anyway. If you are worried about being in the "party" area, don't. Past 11:00pm everyone heads to the bowling ally or disco (out of town) anyway.

For more about Luang Prabang and activities in the area, copy and paste the link below into your browser.

http://aroundtheworldtripping.com/2012/10/07/luang-prabang/

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

We booked a double room at this guesthouse. It is not a bad place, clean and spacious room, however our experience of the place was average. We found the lady who runs the place efficient but not overly friendly. She provided us with good info but we just found her slightly cold.

The 15000kip breakfast is a bit overpriced for what is offered.

My biggest complaint about this guesthouse though is the building itself. We had a very loud group of Americans in the room above us. They were exceptionally loud but the acoustic insulation is awful as you could her everything from neighbouring rooms!

Also the gueathouse is a goos 10minute walk from the centre which isn't bad but considering that are so many options in town, I don't think the place is worth the trouble.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed 3 nights. It was clean and the staff very friendly. But we had some cockroaches at night in our room. This is a no-go for me, because I'm really afraid of them. That's why I wouldn't book the guesthouse again. Apart from this it's a nice place to stay. Breakfast was included and quite good.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We booked a double room for 3 nights, then an extra 2 as I was ill. This Guesthouse is family-run and very friendly, they will make sure you are looked after and will give you a map of Luang Prabang. We locked ourselves out of our room one night and the woman who runs it was out, but came back asap to give us a spare key!

Our room was big with a comfortable bed, the place looks newly decorated and furnished. We had AC with an overhead fan, and even a mini fridge for GBP 6.43 a night, and this included breakfast. The bathroom was simple but very clean with a nice shower and hot water. The room is cleaned every day with new soaps and towels.

Location is only a 5 minute walk away from the night market. The roads are dark with minimal street lighting but at no point did I feel unsafe. The area is very nice and the walk was pleasant.

Breakfast is simple but nice and will save you money, I recommend the lemon juice and banana pancake!

This is a great little Guesthouse and I would stay here again.

Room Tip: None - if the standard is the same in all rooms I don't think you'd be let down
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I spent 5 nights here in July and it was great. I had a single room, the furniture was new, the bathroom was beautiful, the staff were super helpful. Liberty is maybe a 5 minute walk away from the night market but it was in a lovely quiet street and I didn't mind the walk. I can't recommend Liberty enough, it was fabulous.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Liberty Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Liberty Guest House

Address: Norlanalai Street, 79/4 Ban That Luang, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 78 Specialty Lodging in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Liberty Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Liberty Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.