We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Personalised Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel to your Saves list
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Chao Fa Ngum | Banthatluang, Luang Prabang, Laos   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 4 Pay 3
Ranked #10 of 67 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Personalised Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

It's been a couple of months since we visited but I still want to share our experience. It's a small boutique hotel built in a very charming colonial style. We arrived early and the room was not ready so we asked if they could assist us with organizing a trip to the famous waterfalls - and 30 minutes we were on the way, with towels, water and a driver with car - amazing! We truly enjoyed every moment of our stay, the General Manager was present at all times to assist and make recommendations and the staff were very helpful. Rooms were generously fitted, ours had a balcony overlooking the pool. I can only recommend this property - if we return to Luang Prabang, and we just might, it will be our place to stay!

Room Tip: Upper floor, pool view, in the wing, not the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banyan Tree B, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Flohk59,

Greetings from Luang Prabang and a BIG thank you for posting your review here on Tripadvisor.

I was delighted to read that we, at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel were able to contribute to an overall pleasant and memorable sojourn in Luang Prabang. We are especially proud to learn that we top your personal list of favorite accommodations in Luang Prabang. Thank you also for your kind words about our employees and I do indeed realize just how lucky I am to be working with such a delightful group of young and eager people.

We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back in the hopefully not too distant future and in the meantime I wish you happy travels and all the very best!

Best regards,
Katejiraporn K
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    124
    31
    17
    8
See reviews for
63
287
48
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

I did not know that there is a Banyan Tree Hotel kind of place here in Luang Prabang, but just ran across the hotel and saw the Angsana logo.

I am glad that I took a visit. The hotel was nice, good price. Unluckily, I had a chance just for a massage, not the accommodation.

The massage was good for me, just standard Angsana service. The staff were nice and welcoming. Even better with the price offer. It 3 times cheaper than Bangkok price. Promotions like come 3 pay 2 was also irresistable.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banyan Tree B, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Nhoom,

Greetings from Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel and many thanks for your encouraging feedback.

We were all delighted to read your review and I am particularly happy to learn that you found our staff to be friendly, our spa treatment to be comfortable and well serviced. Please trust that we are fully committed to upkeep and ensure that our services and facilities on a daily basis in order to make “Maison” an ever more comfortable and pleasant place to all in house guest and outside visitors.

It would certainly be a great pleasure to welcoming you back when you may return to Luang Prabang.

Best regards,
Katejiraporn K
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My third stay here over a number of years and nothing has changed a great deal. A typical boutique hotel (whatever that means!) . I stayed in the basic room in the garden wing. Rooms are adequate size with high ceilings and have been fitted out modestly. All the wood work is painted in brilliant white gloss which seems to be done on fairly regular intervals as I seem to remember I detected the smell of fresh paint last time. The rooms are very clean and contain all the traditional amenities you could wish far and mine had a small patio with two comfortable chairs overlooking a garden. Maintenance seems to be a high priority here. Breakfast is a rather limited affair but there is an egg station and bacon everyday supplemented buy alternatives which change on a daily basis. Everything is well cooked and presented and more than enough. There is a pleasant and very clean swimming pol in which to relax after a days sight seeing. Staff are all very helpful especially the head receptionist. My only criticism of the hotel is price. I went during low season and paid about 60 pound sterling with Agoda including breakfast which was about right. Prices can double in the high season (as indeed does the airfare) and simply are not worth it

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banyan Tree B, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear Andrew B,

Thank you very much for kindly having taken the time to review your recent sojourn at Maison Souvannaphoum here on Tripadvisor.

I have gladly shared your feedback on the cleanliness of our rooms, Pool and friendliness of our associates especially Mr. Kone, Assistant Front Office Manager. On behalf of my the entire team – thank you for your kind praise and encouragement.

I am very pleased to know that you conclude to have made the right choice by returning and staying with us for the third time and we would certainly be delighted to host yet another comfortable stay for you when you may return to wonderful Luang Prabang.

In the meantime, I would like to wish you a good time and all the best!

Best regards,
Katejiraporn K
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014 via mobile

From the butterfly pea tea & friendship bracelets on arrival to a sincere farewell on departure, Maison Souvannaphoum is a colonial chic hotel with "heart." My husband & I stayed three nights & while we didn't get a lot of time to relax at the hotel given our busy itinerary, it was always a pleasure to return at the end of the day, especially given the warm welcome & friendliness of all the staff. The location is perfect, a short stroll from the night market & all of Luang Prabang's main sights. While the main building has historical significance (the dining room that opens on to the pool area is especially lovely), we stayed in the garden wing, where rooms are comfortable, very clean, & decorated in such a way to reflect the local culture & colours. Breakfast was cooked to order rather than buffet (perhaps as it was low season) but do try the Luang Prabang sausage, or the granola for something lighter. The pool area is in keeping with boutique style and a lovely place to cool down after a long day. Wi-fi could sometimes be a but hit & miss, but we found the same issue throughout our holiday in other places that we stayed & it didn't bother us anyway: it's a shame to go somewhere as lovely as Luang Prabang & spend your time staring at your iPhone! It's a place to just slow down & switch off. Through my travels, I have been fortunate to stay in many nice places, perhaps with fancier rooms or high tech facilities, but I think that quality of staff, service & kindness are what make a holiday memorable & Maison Souvannaphoum deserves 5 stars on all of the above. Thanks to everybody there for such a lovely stay & continued success, Maria & Danny, Ireland.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banyan Tree B, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear MariaMoynihan,

Thank you very much for sharing your impressions of your recent sojourn here on TripAdvisor.

We are absolutely delighted to learn that you have had an overall excellent time in Luang Prabang. I am really glad that the Maison Souvannaphoum team has been able to contribute to making your visit to this wonderful part of the world a memorable experience. Thank you so much for your kind words of praise for the team. Please trust that I am fully aware just how privileged and lucky I am to be running this place together with this group of genuinely friendly and keen young people. I have certainly not missed to convey your encouraging comments to all my colleagues here.

Once again – thank you very much for your time and consideration and for providing us with your feedback.

We are looking forward to welcome you back to Maison hopefully soon and in the meantime, I would like to wish you a good day and all the very best!

Best regards,
Katejiraporn K
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I have spent 1 week in this hotel and I can fully recommend this to anyone who is visiting Luang Prabang. The hotel is clean and breezy, the staff is wonderul and the swimming pool relaxing.
I had a perfect stay and I will try and come back to this hotel, for sure!
greetings Anne

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banyan Tree B, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear AnneVier,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to post your review here on Tripadvisor.

It was a real joy to read your account and I was really pleased to learn that you had an overall excellent stay with us. Also, I have certainly not missed to share your kind feedback with my staff and it was a great encouragement for all the team. On behalf of all of us here at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel – thank you very much.

We would certainly be pleased to be of service to you again in the future and look forward to welcoming you back to “Maison” again soon.

Best regards,
Katejiraporn K
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We have just returned from a three week trip to Vietnam,Cambodia and Laos. We enjoyed our stay immensely. The hotel is perfectly located and we were able to walk everywhere.The staff could not have been more helpful and the pool area is charming. A splendid boutique hotel !!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banyan Tree B, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear 159robinrobin,

Greetings from Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel and many thanks for your encouraging feedback.

We were all delighted to read your review and I am particularly happy to learn that you found our staff to be friendly and well serviced, as well as our location to be comfortable. Please trust that we are fully committed to upkeep and improve our services and facilities on a daily basis in order to make “Maison” an ever more comfortable and pleasant place.

I truly hope you will have the occasion to travel to this wonderful part of the world again soon. We would certainly love to host yet another comfortable and memorable stay for you.

Best regards,
Katejiraporn K
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Me and my husband recently stayed for 3 nights in our honey moon . We could not have been more pleased with the experience at the hotel. The staff was incredibly helpful and friendly since we arrived to the hotel , they knew it was our honey moon so they gived us special treat for this special trip. The night market was only a short distance away. We would definitely recommend the hotel to anyone visiting Luang Prabang and would return ourselves if we could.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banyan Tree B, Manager at Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear valenpeso,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your review with us and fellow travelers here on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn you have a memorable stayed at Maison Souvannaphoum on your Honeymoon Trip. I have not missed to share your kind feedback with my team as it really is my staff who merits the praise. I was also very happy to have read that you found everyone at our hotel to have rendered delightful and considerate service. Once again – thank you very much.

We would certainly be delighted to provide you with yet another comfortable stay when you may return to Luang Prabang.

In the meantime, I would like to wish you a good day and all the very best.

Best regards,
Katejiraporn K
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel

Address: Rue Chao Fa Ngum | Banthatluang, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#9 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#11 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#12 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel by Angsana is a boutique luxury hotel in the heart of Luang Prabang, Laos. It's the perfect retreat for the modern traveller seeking style and authenticity. Once the residence of the late Prince Souvanna Phouma, the mansion is an elegant blend of French colonial architecture and Lao motifs with the addition of all the modern comforts. The hotel is an 8-minute walk to the town centre - close the sights, night market, restaurants, bars and river, but away from the bustle and noise. Cool off in the pool, enjoy a drink in the garden, or unwind at the Angsana Spa after a long day of sightseeing. Our attentive staff are always on hand to meet your every need with warm, personalized service. The rooms and grounds are designed to be your home away from home. Maison Souvannaphoum is your private oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Souvannaphoum Luang Prabang
Hotel Maison Souvannaphoum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.