We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel to your Saves list
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rue Chao Fa Ngum | Banthatluang, Luang Prabang, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 67 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

This was such a lovely place to stay.It is very central for the town of Luang Prabang which is beautiful with no western influence at all ( such a welcome change to most of the rest of South East Asia). We had a garden room in the hotel and it was beautifull - with the delight of scented candles lit every night for us ( a small but welcome touch). The staff are all very welcoming and friendly. The breakfast was a great choice of hot and cold foods. The swimming pool was a welcome relief after a day vsiiting the sights of this lovely town.
We wished we had stayed longer

Room Tip: Stay as long as you can!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    306
    112
    28
    14
    7
See reviews for
57
252
46
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Stayed here for five nights at the end of July and from the moment we arrived we knew we had found something really special.
From the welcome drink by the pool, greetings from Serge the hotel manager, superb service provided by all staff, the stunning grounds, a beautiful room all added to the relaxing ambience this hotel exudes.
The location is great a leisurely 5 minute walk to the night markets/shops with a grocery store half way in where you can stock up on drinks and snacks.
Whilst the weather wasn't great we did manage to have a swim one day and relax by the pool which is very welcoming.
The room was cozy yet relatively spacious and well appointed, with a big balcony overlooking the gardens and pool.
I can't rave enough about the staff, everyone provided superb service. We ate breakfast at the hotel each morning and there was a good variety of options. On our final night we decided to eat at the hotel an opted for ten course Lao Banquet which was just divine and very reasonably priced. I highly recommend it.
We did have a minor issue, due to a mechanical fault with the motor, our safe would not open and unfortunately our passports and most of our money was in the safe. Serge and the staff went to great lengths to assure us they would resolve the problem and they did and our safe was replaced within the hour. In other hotels I would have been concerned, not at Maison.
I can’t put into words how impressed I was with Maison, if you’re visiting Luang Prabang, do yourself a favour and stay at Maison, you will not be disappointed

Room Tip: I would imagine rooms away from the main road, closer to the pool would be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

3 nights was too short !
Serge (hotel manager) and his entire team made us feel pampered and looked after right from the minute we arrived at the hotel. Serge personally welcomes all guests, his team are always on hand with help, advice and big smiles.
The building is charming too, we had a room in the new wing on the ground floor. Nice bathroom, effective air conditioning, and wonderful lemongrass oil burners lit each night.
The breakfast was excellent, plenty of choice and a good blend of local and European options. Try the Spa; foot massage very good value.
What a wonderful start to our holiday in Laos.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Very nice, super relaxing hotel with great service and location right near the main street in town. Our room was very clean and comfortable. We stayed in the new wing, where the rooms have small balconies overlooking the pool area. Great places to relax during the hottest part of the day. The entire staff was great with recommendations on sights and activities. We were greeted with cool lemongrass tea upon arrival and a handwritten postcard from Serge, the manager, welcoming us to the hotel. We recommend the spa and the cooking class -- because we were there in low season, our group cooking lesson became a private one. The food in the restaurant was amazing -- get the prix fixe menu of small dishes served in a boat. We definitely recommend staying here and will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

This hotel is not the most luxurious in South East Asia, the pool area is quite small,and internet service is erratic, but the standard of customer service surpasses anything we have seen elsewhere - including the Raffles Hotel Group. The staff make this hotel truly excellent. From the gardener right up to the General Manager everyone was exceptional. We arrived after a very long journey from London via Bangkok and were greeted personally by the General Manager, Serge. Check in was swift and our rooms were ready even though we had arrived many hours before the official check in time. We were travelling with our teenage daughters, and our room allocations were exactly as requested. The girls particularly liked the personal greeting card left for them by Serge. The garden wing rooms are not incredibly spacious, but are beautifully appointed, and have all the amenities that you require. What made this hotel special for us was the fact that we never had to ASK for anything, the staff seem to anticipate your every need without being obtrusive. In the restaurant the breakfast waiters only had to be told once what our tea / coffee requirements were, and they remembered them for our entire stay. Your cup was never empty - someone would glide over with a cafetiere, just as you were contemplating asking for a refill. The buffet breakfast never ran out of any items, and slightly unusual requests such as soya milk etc did not pose any problems. Rooms were cleaned very promptly every morning, and the "turn down team" always arrived at the same time each evening with supplies, and a speedy service. This was much appreciated, as at the Raffles in Phnom Penh we never knew when the 45 minute turn down ritual would occur - usually just when we wanted to have a shower. Serge, the General Manager would have a friendly chat with guests in the breakfast room each day, and knew exactly how long to stay at each table. The friendly parakeet sitting on top of the dining room door muttering to himself was a great hit with our daughters. The atmosphere at the hotel is very relaxed, but extremely professional. It is a comfortable and welcoming place, where guests are allowed to strum their guitars by the pool if they want to; whereas the Raffles can be a bit over the top with valet service, flag bearing limousines, and impersonal staff. When you consider that Laos is an extremely poor country it was a revelation to find such high quality food and service. We will definitely return, and will visit other Angsana properties. We were happy to pay the small voluntary charity contribution of $1 per room per night, which is matched by the Angsana Group. The donations help to put local students through higher education, which is very worthwhile in a country that only has 65% literacy. I hope that others who visit this wonderful country will have the opportunity to stay at Maison Souvannaphoum.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Good location, just a few steps outside the small center. Spacious and clean rooms with private balcony. (garden site, 1st floor). Service is excellent and the restaurant of good value ! (try the Cambodian tasters !) Very helpfull and corteous staff. Rent a hotel bike to explore the town.
Truly relaxing !

Room Tip: Garden wing rooms are very nice, particularly on the "étage".
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

What a wonderful experience!!! I don't think our words can do this hotel justice.
We stayed at the Maison Souvannaphoum for three nights. This was our first visit to Luang Prabang, and our stay at this hotel has ensured it will not be our last.
On our arrival we were met with a cool drink and a genuinely warm welcome from the manager Serge. Upon arrival in our room we were greated again in a personalised, hand written welcome postcard from the manager, and a beautiful fern and floral decoration on the bed welcoming us to the hotel.
The staff especially Tom in the dining room were fantastic. Nothing was too much trouble.
The food, gardens and pool all beautiful. Our stay the most relaxing we have ever had.
The hotel is a very short walk from the night markets and some amazing resturants. There are bikes for hire if you wish to cycle around the town, or a tuk-tuk just outside the hotel if you wish to go exploring.
The staff were so pleased that we wished to see there city, and were more than happy to provide suggestions for our sight seeing.
For anyone intending to visit Luang Prabang and wanting to stay in a hotel where you are made to feel spoilt and relaxed I would strongly recommend you book into this hotel for your stay. P.S. Make sure you say hello to buddy!!!
Peter and Dina Geelong

Room Tip: All rooms are good, have there own balcony and are very comfortable and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel

Address: Rue Chao Fa Ngum | Banthatluang, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#7 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#11 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#12 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel by Angsana is a boutique luxury hotel in the heart of Luang Prabang, Laos. It's the perfect retreat for the modern traveller seeking style and authenticity. Once the residence of the late Prince Souvanna Phouma, the mansion is an elegant blend of French colonial architecture and Lao motifs with the addition of all the modern comforts. The hotel is an 8-minute walk to the town centre - close the sights, night market, restaurants, bars and river, but away from the bustle and noise. Cool off in the pool, enjoy a drink in the garden, or unwind at the Angsana Spa after a long day of sightseeing. Our attentive staff are always on hand to meet your every need with warm, personalized service. The rooms and grounds are designed to be your home away from home. Maison Souvannaphoum is your private oasis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Souvannaphoum Luang Prabang
Hotel Maison Souvannaphoum

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison Souvannaphoum Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.