We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“walk in, negotiate a rate with the ladies and enjoy LP” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rattana Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Rattana Guest House to your Saves list
Rattana Guest House
Kok Sack St, 4 / 2 Ban Wat That, Luang Prabang, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #65 of 230 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Bemuda/Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“walk in, negotiate a rate with the ladies and enjoy LP”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

walked in off the street having no idea what to expect, other then a recomendation in an old copy of lonely planet. Was pleasantly surprised. The rate was cheap compared to most other places I scouted out on day one of Luang Prabang. If you book ahead, the rooms in the block house are newer and most tourists queue up for those. The other rooms are good too, but if you can avoid the one above the kitchen as the pots and pans might be annoying if your not used to waking at 6am lol. There is also a bit of a spot in the mattress in that one. or was a few months back when I was there. The staff are good here and there is a computer in the lobby where you can check your emails and such. It is a few minutes walk from the night market on the main road, and there is a corner shop around the corner for snacks and drinks. While I was there a vendor always parked her crepe stall there too and would make all sorts of weird and good combinations of crepe wrap. I would just watch what a local got and if it looked good would ask for one too :P

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    33
    11
    3
    8
See reviews for
6
24
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Muscat
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012 via mobile

We spent three nights in this guest house and were very pleased with the convenient yet quiet location. We paid over the odds for rooms but I had booked these in advance as we are a family of six and I wanted to be sure of accommodation. Other people who took over our room paid $13 a night so be prepared to bargain. The free wifi was well used, as was the seating area upstairs, great shelter from rain showers which were plentiful. We hires motorbikes from the guest house and these were reasonably priced and of a good standard. The staff were really helpful and kind, and I would happily recommend this guesthouse if you are staying in Luang Prabang.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

This hotel is a very clean one with friendly staff, always ready to help the guests. It is also situated in the old city and hence near to all the attractions. It is in a small alley just away from the hustle and bustle of the main street. The price is very reasonable. I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Top Contributor
239 reviews 239 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
178 helpful votes 178 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Friendly staff and a great location make this guest house a good place to stay. Skip the breakfast and instead eat at Jo Ma Cafe up the street. They clean your room everyday and provide you will clean towels and free drinking water.

Bicycle and motorcycle rentals, as well s tour booking are available (be sure to ask about the Living Land Company!).

Room Tip: The concrete rooms are quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kurashiki, Japan
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
134 helpful votes 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2012

My friend & I had just a night in Lunag Prabang this time and I again decided for us to stay at Rattana Guesthouse. We had large fan rooms that were only US$14 per night, quite a bargian in this town. The rooms had TV, hot water shower, free drinking water, large double bed. Ms Rattana also works for a travel agency so I had her hire a mini-van for us for the next 2 days. The guesthouse is located on a quiet sidestreet around the corner form JOMA coffee, a one-minute walk from both the riverside and the night market.

Room Tip: Fan rooms are comfy enough for me but if you need A/C, get the nice double rooms upstairs with the l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

The location is excellent, close to the main street and night market, and close to the river. The staff were very friendly too.

When we first arrived we were put in the concrete house, despite my having specifically booked a room in the wooden house far in advance. We were in the room with the private bathroom across the hall, and the shared balcony. The bathroom toilet did not flush properly, and the fact that it was across the hall meant you had to get dressed before using it. All of the other rooms on the floor seemed to have a private ensuite bathroom except for us. The shared balcony was also a problem because of the noisy and messy couple we were sharing it with.

We eventually were switched to the wooden house. The room here was much nicer and had an ensuite bathroom. However, every morning at 7:00 AM, somebody across the street would do laundry and it was super noisy in our room (even with windows closed). It sounded like somebody grinding a rusty oil drum against rocks (and who knows...maybe that's what was happening).

I would probably try to stay somewhere else next time. If I did stay at this place again, I would confirm my reservation by email the day before and the day of to make sure I get a room in the wooden house, and to make sure they don't give my room to someone else again.

Room Tip: Take the wooden house if you can. If you end up in the concrete house, avoid the room with the priva...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2012

We stayed here for a 6 nights and are glad we did. The guesthouse is close to the riverfront and the night markets but far enough away not to have the noise. We stayed in 2 different rooms, the first having a bathroom that was for our private use but across the hall so a bit inconvenient but not a huge problem as the room shared a lovely balcony with one other room. The second was further back from the street and therefore quieter. The staff were extremely friendly and very efficient. Nothing was ever a problem. The street itself can be a bit noisy at night, not that it is the fault of the guest house but light sleepers may have difficulty sleeping as some of the other guest houses in the street allow their guests to party to very early hours of the morning.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rattana Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rattana Guest House

Address: Kok Sack St, 4 / 2 Ban Wat That, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 230 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Rattana Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rattana Guest House Hotel Luang Prabang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rattana Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.