We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideally located hotel that suffers from indifferent staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Phousi Hotel

Phousi Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Phousi Hotel to your Saves list
Phousi Hotel
Setthathirath Road, Luang Prabang, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #59 of 67 Hotels in Luang Prabang
UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Ideally located hotel that suffers from indifferent staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2010

This hotel occupies a lovely large plot ideally situated near the centre of beautiful Louang Prabang. The decor and rooms are quite reasonable, but the hotel is badly let down by staff who don't appear to want to be there.

Louang Prabang is a very lovely town set in beautiful countryside with an abundance of temples and a truly laid back feel.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    24
    8
    6
See reviews for
1
16
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2010

Great if you're backpacking without slumming it. If you want to be pampered and fussed over go elsewhere. After staying the first night in a small 'boutique' inn (ie. cramped and dirty) with a grumpy owner, our change to the much larger and more central Phousi Hotel was great. Located directly opposite the night markets and various restaurants and shops this was an excellent location to spend a few days in Luang Prabang. The adjoining rooms accomodated the four of us easily. We had none of the problems experienced by the other reviewers. Moderately priced, clean and quiet, not five star by any means, but nor does it charge 5 star prices.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2009

I stayed at the Phousi Hotel the first time about 5 years ago. It seems like not much has changed. I didn't experience any problems and the staff was nice and informative. The rooms were clean (for Laos standards), but were just dated and old. The Phousi is located in the heart of Luang Prabang, right next to the night market and has nicely manicured grounds where one can enjoy a nice Beer Lao. Its a great starting point to begin the day or evening. I had a last minute booking for a standard deluxe room that cost around $65/night (Christmas time).

Luang Prabang itself has vastly developed unfortunately the Phousi hasn't, the hotel has remained the same since I was there, not much improvement. In fact, I would say the location is now a hindrance if one is looking for quiet and serenity. There is constant noise. Its located on the main artery road with traffic noise starting from 6AM and lasting till 12AM. In addition, there is a primary school located right behind it as well. So, if you are there during the afternoon or early evening there will be kids screaming/playing.

The hotel purported to have WiFi, but I could never connect to it. Other relatives at mine stayed at different, vastly more expensive guesthouses, and their wifi didn't work either. So, it could be something with the Lao network.


If you are looking for a good central location the Phousi is good. If you are looking for charm and quiet then better to pick elsewhere.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2009

We stayed for 3 nights in September for US$20 a night in Phousi GH1 - the nicest of the 3. The room was clean and had a balcony on the top (2nd) floor. However there were a few odd things about the place that make me unwilling to recommend it.Firstly when trying to book it via email we were quoted $35 a night, then when we phoned after reading much cheaper prices in reviews they said we could have a room for $25, which we negotiated down to $20 as we were staying 3 nights.

There was construction going on next door (an apparent extension of the guesthouse) which has been going on for over a year and doesn't look like it is anywhere near finished. It wasn't too noisy and didnt bother us too much, however all the washing that is done at the hotel is hung amongst the dirty and dusty bricks and old building remains - including the sheets and towels which consequently don't seem that clean when you get them back.

On the topic of towels, the room was cleaned daily however every single day we had to ask for our towels to be replaced and the cleaner would take them and not replace them. This was annoying, but bearable until the cleaner waltzed into the room to replace the towels , we were in bed and had left the do not disturb sign on the door. It was very embarassing! The shower was also pathetic.

I also wouldn't recommend getting your Visa for Vietnam or Thailand arranged through them last minute as their rates are very high. The internet is in GH2 around the corner and constantly cut out when I was using it - and quite pricy compared to what you can get in town around the corner.

The breakfast in the restaurant outside next to the construction is edible but nothing amazing compared to what you can get in Luang Prabang.

We had an evening flight out of LP so they kindly let us store our bags for the day... in their staff quarters where they were watching TV. It was fine, however I didn't feel confident that my bag was safe from other travelers and staff members prying eyes.

Overall it is a good price for the location, level of cleanliness and new furniture in the room... might be better when the construction is finished.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2009

We stayed at this hotel as part of a trip with Intrepid and after reading some of the reviews on this hotel, dreaded what we would find. Not all was bad but it wasn't that good either!

The rooms are good size but pillows, bed covers and towels had stains on them and the water when having a shower was either very hot or very cold. The reception staff mustered a smile sometimes, other times we were ignored. The houskeeping staff were always friendly.

The location is good and the fabulous night market is nearby. There is free wireless in the rooms internet which occasionally works well, othertimes is unbearably slow.

There are so many other places to stay in Luang Prabang that I wouldn't bother coming here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2009

Overall our stay at the Phousi was a complete let down.

The linen in the room seemed to have been washed in the Mekong as it has a seriously brownish colour. The bedspread was stained (looked like blood) and when I asked the staff to change it this seemed to present a huge problem for them. After 10 mins they came back to me to say house keeping would change it in the morning, so I asked for them to just take it away. After another 10 mins they came back with a slighter better version they had swapped from another room.

The hotel may have once been a decent place to stay but it seems to have slipped so badly that it's going to take a lot to bring it back. The reception / dining area lack any charm what so ever and the staff seem to view guests as a disruption.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Terrible rooms
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2008

I paid $65 per night for this dump. You can find a much MUCH nicer place for this price. This is absolutely the worst Hotel i stayed in during my entire Laos trip.

The only nice thing i can say about the property is the location, right across from Mt Phousi and 1 block from the night market and morning Alms. But then again, there are tons of hotels that have the same proximity to everything so its not really unique.

Now the bad.The whole property is worn down and about to fall apart. Let's start with the bathroom. I'm sure the towels were once white in color, but now they are dingy, grey, and full of stains. Really, how much can new towels cost in Laos. Considering that they charge $65 a night here.

The plumbing did not work properly. The fixtures were rusty, sink has several cracks in it. The drain on the sink does not drain properly. The shower was either burning hot or chilly cold, there is nothing in between. I was complaining to the front desk and found that another guest was complaining same problem. The other guest also complained about the A/C not working properly, though mine worked fine. Tiles are falling apart but makeshift caulking (used excessively) is holding things in place.

The bedsheets and pillow cases are ok. I would stay away from the blanket, its scarrrry. I wouldn't touch the window curtains either. If you have a weak stomach, don't make the mistake of looking at the bare pillows. You will not sleep well knowing what your head is lying on. They were once white too, now its brown and yellow.

Even the staff is shady at this hotel. Don't let their innocent smiles fool you. I booked a taxi through the hotel for a day trip to the KuangSi waterfalls and to the airport afterwards for one agreed price. After the waterfalls, we went back to the hotel to pick up our luggage. We were hungry so we decided to run down the street to pick up some street food, ~10 minutes. When we got back, the taxi was gone (the hotel sent it away). The hotel said we had to pay extra for the ride to the airport. This experience REALLY topped it off. Absolutely DO NOT book any tours from the hotel. There are many travel agencies around.

Even the breakfast at the hotel was bad. Really, I cannot find one good thing at this hotel.

  • Liked — nothing! ok, maybe they have a nice garden outside.
  • Disliked — everything was unsatisfactory, from the property to the staff
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phousi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phousi Hotel

Address: Setthathirath Road, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 67 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Phousi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phousi Hotel Luang Prabang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phousi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.