We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“On the way up or down” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Santi Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Santi Hotel to your Saves list
Villa Santi Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sakkarine Road, Ban Wat Sene | PO Box 681, Luang Prabang 40000, Laos   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 67 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Thailand
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“On the way up or down”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Well we went wanting that something extra, the price paid suggested we should get it

If I were to see the GM and he were young i would say keep up the good work you have a long way to go but it could be very good

Reality is it probably was far better before the owners bult the Santi resort, it is now neglected and on the way down

Having been despateched to the annex the room was very mediocre up difficult high stairs, ok if you are 30 but as pensioner verging on the dangerous

Room was clean but musty

breaffast was only just Ok for 3/4 star property, dining room very beautiful

We did not eat there because the chefs recommendation was fixed for the week suggesting the food might not be fresh and the chef lazy

we enjoyed our four days in luang prabang, there are many hotels offering better value at far lower cost

before arrival in email I told them I had a group for next year needing six rooms but was never approached to discuss it

overall thumbs down

Room Tip: Insist not be put in anex, across the road and down the street, not at their prices
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    114
    32
    17
    7
See reviews for
35
110
33
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The room in the annexe was comfortable and well appointed. While wi-fi was available it was slow and not always available. The breakfast was very good but could have been perfect. The location is ideal for staying in Luang Prabang as it is in walking distance of all the important temples as well as the Royal Palace. Overall the service was very good but there was no presence of management for the four days I stayed there. More information on the end of Buddhist Lent activities would have been helpful.

Room Tip: The rooms in the annexe are a short walk from the main building and are certainly quiet and comforta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

I was lucky enough to be taken to this beautiful hotel for a meal on my birthday last week and after suffering poor service at a guest house around the corner from villa santi, this hotel was like a breath of fresh air. The staff were exceptionally well trained and polite. They anticipated your needs before you even did. The food was extremely fairly price also, the lamb chops (difficult to find lamb in Laos at all) were mouth wateringly delicious. We had a wander around the hotel grounds after eating and were kicking ourselves that this was our last night in Luang Prabang and could not continue I enjoy this hotel for a few nights.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acapulco, Mexico
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

The hotel is perfectly located on the main street and everything of interest is within easy walking distance. We were lucky and by chance arrived the day before the boat race so the normally sleepy town was filled with atmosphere of locals enjoying a national holiday.
The hotel is shabby/chic (not sure whether intentional or not) and I thought attractive, and our room in the annex was comfortable but yes, a perceptible musty smell on arrival. To be fair considering the terrible humidity this is not altogether surprising. The a/c was a bit rattly and the (only) telephone shower not adjustable, maybe that is splitting hairs and there was good water pressure. The beds were rather old but not uncomfortable and the linens clean and fragrant. The staff were helpful and friendly and we liked the breakfast buffet.
We got an offer on Expedia but I think that the normal rates are probably a on the bit high side and I suspect that the place is suffering slightly from delusions of grandeur.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We were recommended this hotel by family currently living in Laos and weren't disappointed. We were lucky enough to be upgraded to one of the Royal suites which was a real treat. The room was enormous and very well appointed as was the bathroom which can so often be pokey little offerings. We enjoyed evening drinks at the front of the hotel which is a pleasant place to watch the world slowly amble by.
The hotel is very well placed to see the monks collecting alms early in the morning and I recommend getting up a little earlier (maybe 5) and strolling the couple of minutes down to the Wat to hear them chanting and beating drums. Breakfast after seeing the monks is had upstairs on the balcony which is a lovely peaceful start to the morning. Villa Santi is well located for wandering through the old part of Luang Prabang which is a truly delightful experience as is walking the edge of the promontory along the banks of both the Mekong and Nam Khan rivers.
I would be more than happy to stay at this hotel during any future visits to Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

Villa Santi is a very nice boutique hotel, very centrally located in Luang Prabang.
the Mekong, night market and main temples are all close by, together with some excellent restaurant. Staff is friendly and you can also use facilities at the resort on the outskirts of town.
Clean, spacious rooms. Grand colonial dining room with an excellent spread for breakfast.
Beautiful garden. And all this at reasonable prices.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms off the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

A well located boutique style hotel on the main street of Luang Prabang. Really enjoyed breakfast on the upstairs balcony. Nice ambience and plenty of choices to eat. Our room was situated in a garden setting. The building and rooms were of an interesting style mostly of a darker wood. Rooms were well equipped, everything worked well. No wifi in the room but can be connected in main reception area. Didnt use the restaurant other than for bfast so cant comment on that. Close to night market, Mekong River, restaurants, shops etc

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Santi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Santi Hotel

Address: Sakkarine Road, Ban Wat Sene | PO Box 681, Luang Prabang 40000, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#21 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Santi Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Villa Santi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Santi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.