We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly, centrally placed hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Santi Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Santi Hotel to your Saves list
Villa Santi Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sakkarine Road, Ban Wat Sene | PO Box 681, Luang Prabang 40000, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 67 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Reading, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Very friendly, centrally placed hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Spent several nights here in March 2012. Upon check in we were upgraded to the Royal Suite which was huge and tastefully decorated in traditional Lao furnishings. One really good thing is the location. The Monk morning alms ceremony take place right outside of the hotel and the main road with bars and shops commences outside of the hotel. Just a two minute walk from the night market. The restaurant with balcony served a great breakfast. The whole of Luang Prabang is very chilled and relaxed and this hotel is no differant with very friendly and helpful staff.
Would highly recommend

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    98
    28
    15
    7
See reviews for
32
98
27
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bali, Indonesia
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We did not stay at the hotel but had dinner there once.

The atmosphere is really charming, especially if you get a table on the balcony.
Even though the staff was very friendly they have been very slow. It took a while to get the menu and again to get water. It took ages to set our order.
Outstanding was the disability of staff to understand our English or French, all three waiters did only speak few words english and because of that they were hardly capable to get our order correct. Our waiter had to come back 6 times until he understood that we wanted to drink two glasses of wine.
Concerning the food, my dish was good (not great) and my friends was mediocre.
We paid about USD 50 for two persons.

I am well aware that tourism is new to Laos and not everyone speaks good English and of course eating in a Hotels restaurant is usually more expensive than eating outside.
For this quality of food and service I thought that Villa Santi Restaurant is not worth it, though I cannot call it “very expensive” coming from Europe..

We had dinner at the Arisai another night, the meals were delicious, the price was lower and it has a nice décor - but of course it did not have the same colonial charme as Villa Santi.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2012

This hotel actually is in two parts . The hotel which his right in the middle of Luang Prabang township and the resort which is about 5 kms out of the township. My advice, if you want a relaxing break is to go to the resort. They run a shuttle bus in and out of the town frequently and the resort is just delightful for the same price as a room at the hotel.
A huge swimming pool surrounded by beautifully manicured gardens,staff are very pleasant and helpful. awe just loved it

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely with both garden and pool views
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

In a quiet small street in a central location, the buildings (2) of them are beautifully maintained, the staff are fantastic and took care of us well. When I first arrived we were taken from the reception (where also breakfast and the pool is) to the second building and I thought oh no what a shame not to be in the same place but really this is 200 m and not at all a problem. The room was really spacious - the bed was gient enough space for the 3 of us (our child) without paying any extra for this. The place is clean and is very quiet. The pool is small but it is obvious from the web site there is nothing hidden so it was within our expectation. On the second day my hsband cut his toe in the pool and 3 minutes later without asking the staff had been to the pharmacy for plasters and antiseptic cream - excellent service.
Breakfast is generous (would have like fresh juices) but the noodle soups, eggs plenty to choose from and the tea was brewed fresh and constantlyserved to you. Luang Prabang is stunning and the hotel made the trip perfect. I will come again

Room Tip: I can not imagine you will choose a bad room here in the second building across the street. They all...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I didn't stay at the hotel, I'm just reviewing the restaurant. I went here for lunch with a Lao friend and although the food wasn't bad, it wasn't that good either and NOT WORTH the ridiculous prices paid.

I ordered the fermented rose in coconut milk with pork dish, which was nice enough but the quality of the meat was very, very poor. My friend had chicken laap and it was ok but nowhere near as good as other places.

Beer is $4USD! Obscene! Considering the exact same bottle can be bought for $1 usually, or maybe $1.50 at a tourist place, it's crazy, especially when they pour your beer with a giant frothy head more than half the glass.

The menu is now in US dollars instead of kip (as in the past) and the exchange rate is highly unfavourable - 8300kip to the dollar, compared to a usual rate of 7800.

So basically this place is a complete tourist rip off and if you choose to eat here you're a total sucker for the worst kind of tourist exploitation!

(As to someone else's comment about rampant sex tourism at the hotel, I have heard that too, but no personal experience/knowledge).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

We stayed at the Villa Santi hotel for 6 nights. The hotel is in a fantastic location, right in the middle of everything and only a 5 minute walk to the night market. The rooms are lovely and very spacious, and housekeeping are fantastic. The buffet breakfast was a highlight, and the breakfast staff were extremely helpful and friendly.

What lets this hotel down is the inefficiency of the front desk staff, who refuse to help with simple questions, and also the shuttle bus to the resort which is often running late (over 30 minutes once) and is not frequent enough. If you stay at the hotel you get free use of the resort, which has an amazing pool.

We were also surprised to find that there were no computers for guest use at the hotel (as we have stayed in much cheaper hotels in Laos which all have computers), and the laundry and food prices were laughable considering how cheap everything is in Laos - we crossed the road and got our laundry done for 10,000 kip a kilogram rather than pay the hotel's exorbinant prices. And we always ate out.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2012

The Villa Santi Hotel is in 2 buildings - the main hotel, reception and (I presume) the better rooms on the ground floor, with the Dining Room on the upper floor. The 2nd Building is on the opposite side of a side street. We were in the 2nd building and found the room quite comfortable with complimentary fresh fruit available on arrival. There were steep stairs to the room but the porter carried our bags so it was not a problem. Breakfast is excellent and it was such a pleasure to sit on the balcony upstairs watching the city come to life in the morning. We had dinner there but made the error of ordering meat dishes i.e. steak and pork. Don't know whether it was poor quality meat or the chef just wasn't good at preparing meat. Everything else was perfect. If I return to Luang Prabang I would be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building are probably more expensive but you won't get wet going to reception...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Santi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Santi Hotel

Address: Sakkarine Road, Ban Wat Sene | PO Box 681, Luang Prabang 40000, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#21 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Santi Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Villa Santi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Santi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.