We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Santi Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Santi Hotel to your Saves list
Villa Santi Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Sakkarine Road, Ban Wat Sene | PO Box 681, Luang Prabang 40000, Laos   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 67 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Hong Kong, China
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2011

I booked this online via Agoda. I thought it was a good deal and included breakfast plus airport pick up and return. This wasn't clear when I booked and I paid for a taxi at the airport which I needn't have done.

The room was large with good facilities including a bath, although it was a little on the dark side. The weather in Laos in July can be rainy and humid which means that everything has a damp feel. That is not the hotel's fault, its just how it is.

The staff were so polite and friendly, always smiling and made me feel very welcome and relaxed. There is a pool although it is tiny. There is another resort with a larger pool and they can arrange a bus if you want to use it.

They can also arrange cookery courses which my friends did and said it was excellent plus you got to eat what you cooked - large portions!

Breakfast is on the 1st floor with a balcony view to the street. Plenty of tea and coffee top up from the attentive staff. Lovely eggs. Some of the food was under nets to keep the flies off but the flies had got under the nets.

Room Tip: My room was spacious, well equiped although dark. Had the lights on all the time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    114
    32
    17
    7
See reviews for
35
110
33
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
232 reviews 232 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2011

Luang Prabang is still a sleepy town, not influence by the outside world much, life goes on the same for the last hundred years, monks come around to collect foods early in the morning,old temple needed much fund to repair, see farmers working at the field next to
the hotel, as the tale goes, this hotel was home of a princess, we stay at the royal suite at the main building, don't expect luxury here, maybe just think, about 100 years ago, a real princess slept here, located at town center, monks come to front of hotel each morning
to collect, prepared food you can bought on the street to hand out, it's a small town, 2 days on foot cover most of the sites, for someone likes to go back in time should visit.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ishoej, Denmark
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

A nice hotel centrally located friendly and very helpful staff and super breakfast, it was just disappointing to get to the hotel where we had booked the room some month before and they had overbooked so we could get a room at their resort, but after about 15 minutes. Discussion they suddenly had a room that was free

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Xiamen, China
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2011

One week before we check-in I sent an email asking for the rate of airport transfers, they replied immediately that transfers are provided free of charge. It was great, I don't have to deal with taxi or tuk tuk drivers upon arrival. Later I found out that it is actually a standard service for all guest.

Great location, friendly service, beautiful courtyard, nice pool (especially we stayed in late April, HOT!), wonderful breakfast.

However I didn't find a in-room safe so locked the passports in the suitcase. They don't have other choices of pillow but I found it okay as well.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2011

I just stayed here because of friend's recommendations and wished I had not. I had reserved a double room and was given a room that had 2 twin beds put together but as the headboards were unmovable there was no headboard in the middle. The maid had no knowledge of English so she did not know what was wrong. In the end, I had to have the beds separated and sleep in a twin bed. Another problem with the hotel is that the air conditioning in the room is too cold and the remote that controls it does not work unless you can press the buttons the right way and with the same type of pressure that the engineers use it does not respond. The remote never seems to be able to communicate with the air conditioning unit. The temperature changes on the remote but not on the unit. Same with the on/off switch.

During storms, the power often goes out several times a night. A hotel of this caliber should have its own generator and to turn it on and use it during power outages. Engineer acknowledges that power is a problem but blames it on the national Electrical operator.

Showers were never hot even after waiting 15 minutes to warm up. None of the staff spoke English or anything more than 1-2 words. Only one staff speaks English and he does not work in afternoon and evenings. Staff is not at all helpful and does not respond to problems or complaints.

This is the only Hotel I have stayed in that did not have Internet access in the rooms. The free Shuttle service to the resort to use the Pool and tennis court is very infrequent and pretty much unusable. All in all the hotel seems not to care at all about the guests and their problems. I heard several guest complain about their rooms.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantiGroup, Rooms Division Manager at Villa Santi Hotel, responded to this review, May 20, 2011
Dear Ms. Judithh12,

Thank you so much for your concise review and thank you for choosing Luang Prabang and Villa Santi Hotel as your preferred vacation destination in the UNESCO World of Heritage: Lao PDR.
We are very sorry to hear about your dissatisfaction and we hope you could accept our deepest apologies on behalf of all of us in Villa Santi Hotel.

I understand that there is a problem with your room reservation for having a twin bed instead of a double bed. This is because that the booking engine where you made your reservation didn't gave us the precise room type, only your room category as "deluxe room". Our sales team already coordinating with our booking engine partner to avoid this case to happen again mostly to all of our next future guest.

Regarding the power interruption during the storm, Villa Santi Hotel has a back--up generator that run automatically in a few minutes after having power interruption. The reason of having several times cutting-off power is line of change of power from generator to normal electric which from the electric company.
Our internet wi-fi signal is only available in the lobby of the Hotel we sincerely regret of having a delayed set-up on these facilities and we promise you that on your next future visit wi-fi internet will be accessible to all of our rooms.
Our comprehensive training program is already in place to all of our staff to up-scale their experience and work performance focus on Guest Services and Basic English Communication.

To Ms. Judith and to all of our Guest who have left disapointed and for any and all inconvenience cause we deeply apologized. I hope you will consider staying with us again as next time around we will indeed exceed your expectations on your next visit.Thank You so much for your support.

Should you have any concerns and or questions please feel free to contact me at any time either through email: t.jude@villasantihotel.com or through telephone: +856.71.253.470.



Thank you,

Sincerely,

The Management
Villa Santi Hotel
Santi Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2011

Nice room with good air conditioning. Room in a building separate froom the main building. Room decor is plain and finish in bathroom is different, but everything works. Restaurant and breakfast very good and staff helpful. Wonderful restaurantssurround the restaurant. Enjoyed Mekong River Cruise and Trip to Falls. Free Wi Fi only in lobby. No airconditioning outside your room. Pool is very small, but refreshing on a hot afternoon. Problems at last minute with reservation. Not sure if problem was with booking company or the hotel, but suspect the latter. Left to us to sort out long distance at about $60 in long distance telephone charges.

Room Tip: Consider upgrade to most expensive rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2011

A warning to anyone stayong at The Vila Santi Hotel. We have just had a client stay there who was double charged for their accommodation after already paying for the room. If you are staying there DO NOT give them your Credit acrd details

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SantiGroup, Manager at Villa Santi Hotel, responded to this review, April 11, 2011
Dear Golfsiam,

Thank you for your review and thank you for choosing Luang Prabang and Villa Santi Hotel; Santi Resort & Spa as preferred vacation destination.

Regarding of your guest who stay with us last March 2011. They stay at Santi Resort & Spa not in our Villa Santi Hotel. And about the double charges yes there is a double charges for their over night stay because first we did not receive the copy of your confirmation of the reservation of your guest. So our Front Desk staff just collected the over night charges of their stay. After we received the copy of your confirm reservation we immedietley contact your office and send email to the guest that we will refund the money to them which we did already last week.

To Golfsiam and to our Guest who have left dissapointed and for any and all inconvenience cause I do sincerely apologized. I hope you will consider staying with us again as next time around you will not encounter any discomfort of any kind.

Should you and or any of our valued Guests have any concerns and or questions, please feel free to contact me at any time either through email:
t.jude@villasantihotel.com or through telephone: +856.71.253.470.

Thank you,

Sincerely,

The Management
Villa Santi Hotel
Santi Resort & Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Santi Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Santi Hotel

Address: Sakkarine Road, Ban Wat Sene | PO Box 681, Luang Prabang 40000, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#21 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Villa Santi Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Villa Santi Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Santi

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Santi Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.