We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great treat” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre

Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre
125/10 Ban Saylom (Opposite Phousi Market), Luang Prabang, Laos
+856 71 212 597
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 47 Activities in Luang Prabang
Type: Classes/Workshops, Classes
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre is where the fascinating world of Lao textiles comes alive! Set in the grounds of a stunning tropical garden on the Mekong, it's the perfect place to learn more about this unique Lao art. We offer free guided tours where you can meet our weavers, artisans and even the silkworms. We also offer a range of classes in weaving and dyeing, which as our reviews show, are an unforgettable experience. Our Silk Road Cafe by the river is the perfect place to relax and enjoy our "east meets west" inspired menu, or simply enjoy the stellar sunsets with a refreshing drink.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A great treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We decided to try a half day textile weaving class on the day of my husband's birthday, and what a great treat it was! With incredible patience, our weaving instructors guided these two clumsy Australians in filling spools with the beautiful coloured silk thread, then helped us with the tricky process of weaving a pattern. It was a surprisingly complex process involving templates made from different combinations of threads and these women were experts at making our efforts look good. After we had completed our projects, each a glowing and beautiful place mat of about 50x30 cm, we sat down to receive a booklet about the craft centre, only to be amazed when a birthday cake was brought out by a group of staff, all singing Happy Birthday! This was a lovely surprise and a great way to end our birthday activity.

We thoroughly enjoyed our afternoon, and the venue is gorgeous - overlooking a pretty stretch of the Mekong, with a wonderful garden and beautiful buildings. Recommended!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPT_Admin, Manager at Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thanks for such a nice review. As you say, weaving can be hard but it makes the end result all the more worth it. Thanks for choosing us for your birthday activity.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    86
    23
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“No other word but AWESOME. Don't leave Luang Prabang unless,you have been here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

a superbly set up, informative, educational and fun venture. I did a half day Batik and a half day weaving and the two experiences are at the top of my list of great things I have done kn my trip.

The people are welcoming, happy and very knowledgeable. The environment surreal where you sit under cover in the garden and cam watch the Mekong sidling by. The classes very well done with an English speaking person working alongside the artisans. The artisans are so clever and full,of smiles.

My restaurant meal,was delicious, the staff very welcoming and professional.

I cannot recommend this place highly enough. Don't miss it. If you don't have time for a class do one of their free tours. Just don't miss ti.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPT_Admin, Manager at Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
No other word but THANKS!. It always makes us happy to hear when our visitors have an amazing experience and thank you for recommending so strongly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Learn a lot from the tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

My mom & I just made the decision that go to explore outside of the town by bicycle. We choose Ock Pop Tok as our destination. I found it's very easy to find this place by go ahead on the Sisavangvong Rd. and turn right while seeing Phosy market. It would take about 10-15 mins from the center town to Ock pop tok.

The free tour is available there, they will arrange a guide showing how the clothes products made from zero to finish. They also introduced some different nature plants for dyeing to us. I've learn a lot from it.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPT_Admin, Manager at Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Thanks for the review and great to hear you came away learning some new things
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful setting, very friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Unfortunately, I discovered the Living Crafts Centre too late in my stay at Luang Prabang to enrol in a class. A friendly staff member from one of the shops in town arranged a tut tut to take me to the Living Crafts Centre, which is a few kilometres out of the main town. On arrival I was immediately attracted to the beautiful setting of the centre, and noted the warm welcome I received. I was offered a tour (on my own) which was very informative. The relaxed atmosphere made me want to linger in the weaving and dyeing workshop areas watching the women practising their craft. The gift shop displayed the goods on sale beautifully, and I also really enjoyed the informative exhibition upstairs, which could easily be missed by visitors. A highly recommended site to visit during your stay in Luang Prabang.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPT_Admin, Manager at Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Thank you for such a nice review and it is a shame you didn't have time to do a class. Hopefully next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great day trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I visited Ock Pop Tok in July 2013 and had a great time. I got to dye my own silk skein and scarf, learned about silk worms, weaving, and local herbs/roots that are used to colour the silks. My guide was really friendly, curious, and answered all my questions! Next time I'd like to commit more time and actually try the weaving - which looks incredible and hard.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPT_Admin, Manager at Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Glad you enjoyed the dyeing class. Weaving is incredible and (quite) hard work but totally worth it when you see your end result!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.