We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great day trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre

Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre
125/10 Ban Saylom (Opposite Phousi Market), Luang Prabang, Laos
+856 71 212 597
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 20 Shopping in Luang Prabang
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre is where the fascinating world of Lao textiles comes alive! Set in the grounds of a stunning tropical garden on the Mekong, it's the perfect place to learn more about this unique Lao art. We offer free guided tours where you can meet our weavers, artisans and even the silkworms. We also offer a range of classes in weaving and dyeing, which as our reviews show, are an unforgettable experience. Our Silk Road Cafe by the river is the perfect place to relax and enjoy our "east meets west" inspired menu, or simply enjoy the stellar sunsets with a refreshing drink.
Guelph, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great day trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

I visited Ock Pop Tok in July 2013 and had a great time. I got to dye my own silk skein and scarf, learned about silk worms, weaving, and local herbs/roots that are used to colour the silks. My guide was really friendly, curious, and answered all my questions! Next time I'd like to commit more time and actually try the weaving - which looks incredible and hard.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPT_Admin, Manager at Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Glad you enjoyed the dyeing class. Weaving is incredible and (quite) hard work but totally worth it when you see your end result!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    25
    4
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
london
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A most unusual B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Make no mistake, this is a weaving centre (and a fascinating one to boot) with (4) rooms. Don't expect hotel style attention from the young and delightful staff. It's a very laid back place. The two rooms with balconies over the Mekong River are very special. Hung with their own fabrics, very quiet (a $2/2km ride to town) and air-conditioned. The bathrooms could do with some attention/upgrading and when we were there there was no hot water.
Lovely breakfasts on the river. Make sure you do their weaving demo.
Excellent value for money too.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPT_Admin, Manager at Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Thanks for the review and we're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and our unique atmosphere here. The hot water situation was very unfortunate and we did our best to fix asap but in Laos sometimes this can take longer. All is working fine now. In addition we will be renovating all our bathrooms very shortly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Fun & Educational Side Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We rented bikes from our hotel one morning to ride around Luang Prabang and ended up at Ock Pop Tok crafts centre. After a very educational tour of the centre, we had time to enjoy the gift shop and lunch. The food here was particularly good and had a great atmosphere in the outdoor dining area. The gift shop here is great and everyone is very willing to help with options to select from. Note that the prices here and the prices at the two Ock Pop Tok stores in downtown Luang Prabang are the same--if you find something you like here, get it, because the other store(s) may not have the exact thing you're looking for--if they do, it will be the same price anyway.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPT_Admin, Manager at Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thanks for stopping by and glad you enjoyed the experience
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Weaving class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Great teachers, very patient. Very informative about the process and techniques of weaving. The two of us wove two pieces of cloths (simple designs), about 50 cm long, which took us a little over 2 hours. It was a wonderful experience. We would love to come back and try their different classes.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPT_Admin, Manager at Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre, responded to this review, November 1, 2013
Thanks for the review. We'd love you to come back too, try one of our longer courses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Ock Pop Tok Weaving Centre”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I spent a wonderful day on the dyeing and weaving workshop at Ock Pop Tok. I had the pleasure of being taught by the 'master weaver' and spent 3 hours working overlooking the Mekong River. Amzing place and well worth a visit.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OPT_Admin, Manager at Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Thanks so much for the review and glad you had a great time
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ock Pop Tok Living Crafts Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.