We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phone Praseuth Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Phone Praseuth Guesthouse to your Saves list
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Old Bridge Rd., Ban Phanluang, Luang Prabang, Laos   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Deal Ever!!!
Ranked #3 of 226 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Excellent place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We only booked for 1 night, but decided to stay 3 more nights! As soon as we arrived we adapted to the tempo of the city (totally relaxed).
The guesthouse (which they designed themselves), is a quiet and peaceful place. It was exactly what we needed after the rush of the big city.
The owners and staff are very friendly and did their very best (and managed) to make our stay comfortable. The owner picked us up from the airport, drove us to town, prepared free bikes and informed us about the progress of the cute bamboo bridge. This bridge was ready on our second day and was a nice shortcut to town.
Due to their good connections they know exactly what Europeans want. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    58
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
141
50
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Luang Prabang is stunning place with a very colonial feel, this guesthouse echoes the same. The guesthouse is a lovely building away from the hustle and bustle. The rooms and facilities are very good and clean.The owner and staff were both very friendly and attentive. The guesthouse is a little out of the town, around 15-20mins walk, this is made easier with the bamboo bridge. Just check that it is available. Would recommend this place for a stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2013

We recently stayed here for two nights and were very happy with our choice. The GH is extremely relaxing with a lovely open/covered area upstairs and attractive rooms. The staff are extremely friendly and upon checkout were all ready to walk into town for the start of a trip and the owner/manager offered to drive us - very kind and a welcome offer at 7.30am before a journey. As the bamboo bridge was not yet constructed it was a 15 min walk into town. Not an issue and of course they offer free bikes. I think he said they expect the walkway to be in place by the end of the month. All in all, highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and it was a great stay. Good size room, air con worked well, descent curtains to keep the light out in the morning. Good breakfast provided and free bicycles you could use any time and all day to get to and from and around Luang Prabang. It is slightly out of the town but when the bamboo foot bridge is erected (which we believe is after the wet season is over) you are just a foot bridge away from the centre, if no footbridge the bikes obviously come in handy and it only takes about 5 minutes to get to the centre.

The staff are very helpful, you even get transfers to and from the hotel in a lovely luxury van, some staff English levels are a bit weak but you can get by. There is also wifi and if you need a computer to use the owner lets you use his laptop. Really enjoyed our stay.

Be aware that you can not use credit card to pay your accommodation, cash only.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

The guesthouse is on a nice house, newly built, in french colonial style. Comfy clean rooms. Good breakfast, including juice, tea, (soluble) coffee, fruits + one set that you choose from many options that include lao style soup or other western choices...
Transfer to and from the airport is complimentary!
It's located across the river from the city of Luang Prabang, from witch it should be connected by a bamboo bridge (not there in november, by the time we went). However, the complimentary bikes they offer make it easy to reach the city center in ~ 5-10 minutes...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heist-op-den-Berg, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Fantastic guest house. Nice and friendly people, clean and neat rooms. Peaceful place.
Air-co and ventilations are in every room.
When it's raining, you can stay in middle of the guest house to read or chill.
The center is just a little walk. Restaurants and bars are 10 minutes from the guest house.

A must to stay in this guest house.

Friendly greeting,

Joram

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My days here were probably the best days of all my three month trip. This is the most welcoming place I've stayed. The location is good, away from the crowds and traffic but still an easy walk or bike ride to where ever you want to go. The owner and his staff are most helpful and really go the extra mile to make sure your stay is as pleasant as possible.
As the other reviewers have said the rooms are very nice, breakfast is excellent, the bikes are in very good condition, and if you need help with tours or sightseeing ideas the staff is there to help.
The only complaint I had was having to leave and start my return home.

Room Tip: The building is only two story and the stairs are large and easy no problems with baggage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phone Praseuth Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phone Praseuth Guesthouse

Address: Old Bridge Rd., Ban Phanluang, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 226 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Phone Praseuth Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phone Praseuth Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.