We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service, nice rooms” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phone Praseuth Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Phone Praseuth Guesthouse to your Saves list
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Old Bridge Rd., Ban Phanluang, Luang Prabang, Laos   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Deal Ever!!!
Ranked #3 of 226 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Seattle
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Service, nice rooms”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We really enjoyed our 6 days at Phone Praseuth. Khamphone is a wonderful and generous host. He picked us up when we arrived and dropped us off when we left--at no extra charge. He is a great resource. The rooms are very nice, especially for the price. We also loved the location. it's a short walk over the bridge into town, but there are also a lot of things nearby that folks in town probably miss. There are great weaving and other craft places down the road. And we found the morning alms ritual much more genuine than the ones in town with the hoards of tourists.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    220
    58
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
141
50
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
netherlands
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Mister Kamphone is a very relaxed but accurate host, also his staff is correct, doing this you need invisible but everything is arranged. There are no troubles in getting things done: not possible is rare. Even if I were not on time for breakfast again, they would something to eat for me again....
You feel safe, comfortable and even part of the communicaty of LP, just so relaxed!!! Top Service hope to see them all again....

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed at Phone Praseuth guesthouse for 4 nights and really enjoyed my time here.
The rooms are very clean, and made up every day.
The staff are extremely friendly and always enquire about your day and offer any other suggestions. Khamphone would let me know if he was going to a local village or attraction and would offer me a free lift.
The walk into town is barely 5 minutes, and I loved crossing the bamboo bridge every day!
Breakfast was nice with a selection of what you would like cooked, fresh fruit and orange juice, and the highlight for me, a freshly baked baguette.
Day trips that Khamphone isn't already going to can be easily and cheaply organised through him.
I would definitely come back to stay here, and can't wait for my next visit!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We had a ground floor room which was not large but excellent value and very clean with good and very quiet air conditioning. The very friendly and relaxed host picked us up and returned us to the airport free of charge. As other reviews have mentioned, it is very quiet (apart from birds) because it is across the river from the main part of town. In the dry season you cross a bamboo bridge to reach the town in about 5 mins. This is fun if you are reasonably good on your feet, the hardest part being some steep and rather rough steps. Definitely a drawback for anyone with mobility problems but otherwise well worth it for the peaceful atmosphere. There is a fantastic restaurant just around the corner called Dyen Sabai: the 'lao fondue' is a brilliant experience and the location is stunning. We enjoyed every aspect of our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Everything was easy...from making first contact to book a room to being driven to the airport for my departure flight. Absolute door to door service! Khamphone is a great host and nothing seems to be too much trouble or effort. I stayed an entire week and was sad to end my stay in Luang Prabang and at Phone Praseuth Guesthouse. The size of the guesthouse is perfect, there are two communal seating areas as well as a small table with two chairs outside every room to sit and relax etc. Breakfast is very good with a few selections. The cleaniness, upkeep and attention to detail is meticulous. Khamphone and his staff are extremely friendly and trustworthy. I highly recommend this guesthouse and host.

Room Tip: All rooms are great. There are no safes or hairdryers in the rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

After exchanging some emails with the owner to arrange a stay, we arrived in Luang Prabang. He picked us up at the airport in his car, and drove us to his hotel. It was important for me to have Wifi so I especially asked for a room with coverage. We got a room close to the reception, but the next day the owner moved us to a room upstairs. He had bought a new wifi router so now the whole hotel seemed covered. The breakfast was also good. The hotel was mostly filled with young people from the western world, which I guess ended up there after reading the raving on tripadvisor.

Location of the hotel was on the other side of the river, but in the season, they build a bamboo bridge over the river, and off season, I think there is some boating service over the river. I really enjoyed the location, and we ended up staying there 4-5 nights.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed here for six nights, two more than originally planned. The Guesthouse is a gem - the house itself is really nice, so are the rooms. Very clean and with a good working a/c. The wifi is very good, even in the rooms. The breakfast is lovely prepared, too. You have several choices, all come with fresh fruits and a juice. The owner is really friendly and helpful, even picked us up in the late evening when we arrived in luag prabang without having a booking from us. He speaks english very well and will help you in all matters, even if you are sick and need something from the pharmacy. The Guesthouse is on the other side of the Nam Khan River - we liked it very much to stay there and not in the middle of the centre. Over the bamboo bridge it is a 5 minute walk to the main street. Beside, you get bikes for free and there are really in a good shape. Overall, a lovely guesthouse which we would definitely recommend to everybody who is looking for a wonderful place in wonderful Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Phone Praseuth Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phone Praseuth Guesthouse

Address: Old Bridge Rd., Ban Phanluang, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Parking Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 226 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Phone Praseuth Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phone Praseuth Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.