We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Phone Praseuth Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Phone Praseuth Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Phone Praseuth Guesthouse
Old Bridge Rd., Ban Phanluang, Luang Prabang, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 222 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
belgium
1 review
“Wonderful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We have been the phonepraseuth guesthouse two times....The hotel is very lovely decorate and the service excellent, the breakfast is delicious, great staff, the owner 's very nice ,very clean room we did not have more time to spend there.

Room Tip: room on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    183
    54
    9
    2
    1
See reviews for
14
120
44
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

The hotel very beautyful place,cleanly and safty. Westayed here 4 nights the staff are very nice, helpful,police. We paid only 25 USD for one night but free bikes,free wifi,free breakfast, we will come back.

Room Tip: rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hk
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights during my visit in Luang Prabang. First I was a bit disappointed by the location when the staff told me that the bamboo bridge, which is the quick path to city center, was closed. Turns out the bridge was still there because it's not yet the worst rainy season. It saved my life! I walked to the city every day from there for less than10 mins, while the other way would take at least 40 mins. So I would recommend you not to live here during June-Oct or check with the hotel before you make reservation.
The room is comfortable and clean. Breakfast is simple but yummy. The garden and dining place are lovely and chill. Very quiet place at night- no tuktuk noise. Btw, there is Takbat to see just in front of the hotel every morning.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asheville
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012

This guesthouse was ideal. I loved the location, a short walk from the city center, just across the river via the bamboo bridge. It was peaceful and quiet. The rooms were spotless, the breakfasts were delicious, and the staff was friendly and helpful. And there are nice common areas to sit and read if you feel like chilling out for a while. The owner bent over backward to make sure we enjoyed our stay. We were picked up at the airport and given personalized tours of the area. The owner arranged a fantastic day hike from a small village, over the mountains, to the waterfall. It was one of the highlights of my trip. He also arranged a tour to several of the craft villages. My stay in Luang Prabang would not have been the same without his exceptional hospitality. I loved everything about my stay.

Room Tip: I stayed downstairs, but I like the common areas upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night and was extremely impressed. Great value and very helpful and kind staff. Location is perfect if you want a quieter part of town, yet only five minutes walk across the bamboo bridge and you're right in the middle of things. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2012

The guesthouse itself was very nice and the staff was great. The location (on the other side of the Nam Khan from town) wasn't ideal though. True, it is a short walk into town across the bamboo bridge (in dry season), but getting back to the hotel after dark isn't great. The wifi is fine in the lobby, but doesn't work in the rooms. I decided to move to a hotel across the river after my first night.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2012

Before coming to Luang Prabang we heard about this nice hotel, so we booked a double room via internet. When we arrived there the staff and the hotel-owner were really kind and helpful. Our room and the rest of the hotel were really clean, comfortable and had a really nice colonial-style. Breakfast was included and there was a choice of five different breakfasts, if you have special wishes, just tell the hotel-owner, and they come true. To the city it is just a short walk crossing a little bamboobridge ( in dry season, otherwise a little boat takes you to the other riverside). It takes you less than 5 minutes to get to the mainstreet.
We really enjoyed our stay in "Phone Praseuth Hotel" and can highly recommend this place.
PS. If you get up early in the morning you can see (great view from the terrace!) a lot of monks going through the streets asking the local people for food, this is quite impressing and not that touristic like on the main street of Luang Prabang.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Phone Praseuth Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phone Praseuth Guesthouse

Address: Old Bridge Rd., Ban Phanluang, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 222 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Phone Praseuth Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Phone Praseuth Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.