We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth doing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Living Land Company

The Living Land Company
Khuangsi Water Fall Road | Ban Pongvang, Luang Prabang, Laos
+856 20 55 199 208
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Spend a morning on ourLIVING RICE FARM,Come and let us show you how rice is grown on our farm, experience the life of a farmer and try your hand at some of the activities. Or just view it all from the comfort of our traditional Lao rice house balcony, which is surrounded by rice terraces and our organic vegetable farm. All the family can join in and there are great photo opportunities. Our converted rice barn offers simple but comfortable accommodation for two, overlooking rice fields and mountains. Relax on the terrace and sample some of our home-brewed rice wine, walk to the ruined temple through our rice farm, be pampered with a massage then have afternoon tea, visit the local weavers who make our farm outfits before joining our farm family for a game of petanque or rattan ball! Watch or join in the preparation of the Lao dinner then dine with our farm family before you retire for the night (maybe after a Beer Lao or two?). Wake up to a brand new day and a typical Lao breakfast before joining the Rice Experience for the morning
Limerick, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Well worth doing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012

This was a great experience. Laut will extremely knowledgeable and you knew he was passionate about his job. It helped to make the experience even more enjoyable. We came away educated about something we had no idea about. It was a real hands on day and we got to spend some time with Susan the buffalo - great fun!

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    14
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Hombrechtikon, Switzerland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Outstanding experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2012

We were amazed by the congenial traditional rural techniques and kept a special memory of laottic hospitality and kindness. Wie learnt a lot about rural life in Laos, especially about the hardship of growing rice. Everything was well organized, language (English) was easy to understand.
Reinhard, Judith and Lorenz (8 years)

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good day out, learning, working, eating...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2012

Short n simple: if you are about learning something while traveling, this is a great choice. Go on the rice field, see every step on the rice production, beautiful setting in the paddies, learn how to plant, make a field...and then for lunch. Booking possible online, also through some tour companies. We saw it on Laos Adventures Company. GOOD HALF DAY TRIP, recommended, also with families! Price was about 30+ USD p.p. without transfers

Visited December 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brasilia, DF
Top Contributor
258 reviews 258 reviews
139 attraction reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Very interesting!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012

It stays only a few kilometres from Luang Prabang, in the way to khousi Falls. They show you how to grow the sticky rice. The first step is revolving the ground in a very traditional way, with a buffalo named Susan. They go on showing how to plant, to harvest, to clean and cook the rice. We could try to do everything and had a lot of fun in the mud. At the end they served us some dishes made of rice (of course!).
We spent about 3 hours there and had a good time!

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A Hands and Feet Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

You will enjoy your visit if you are prepared to get a little muddy following Susan the buffalo and standing in mud planting the rice seedlings. A wonderful experience for older children to share in, as well as those who are their grandparents. The friendly enthusiastic staff take good care of you and I saw them engage happily with all the members of the group I was with. Among the group on the day I went, were a number of Lao people who also got involved and enjoyed the experience as much as I did. The setting of the project with its large organic garden and fish pond is set in the midst of most beautiful scenery. For people who may spend only a few days in wonderful Laos, the Rice Experience gives one the opporrtunity to talk to Lao people and to understand something of their way of life and discover a little more of their friendlness and natural warmth.Not every tourist, especially me, wants to be looking at temples all and every day

Visited November 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Living Land Company also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to The Living Land Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Living Land Company, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.