We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trots Alert” 2 of 5 stars
Review of The tables

The tables
Sisavangvong road/sakarine road, Luang Prabang, Laos
Improve this listing
Ranked #89 of 144 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Cuisine is Loatian/thai
Russell, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Trots Alert”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We had dinner here a few nights ago during our second week in Luang Prabang. The only good thing about it were the spring rolls which we have to say were the best we have had in LP. The rest of the meal was unremarkable . This is the only restaurant here where we have had to pay for drinking water so we cant blame the water (sealed) for the really bad case of the trots we had a few hours later! We have returned to several restaurants here during our stay but we will definitely not be returning to this one.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    6
    4
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Best meal in Laos!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

Tables is a gorgeous little restaurant in Luang Prabang. Small and clearly quite new, we went back here twice as the food was so good. The Menu is limited, which I think deterred customers from coming in; but it shouldn't! Every dish is done so well, staff were super friendly and prices were great.
We heard 2 other customers say 'this is the best meal I've had in Laos' so this spot is worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luang Prabang, Laos
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The Tables”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

Fried pork marinated, spring roll ,the food and atmosphere were night and located in walking night market , it quite comfortable to looking for.

Visited January 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Nice small restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2012

The Tables restaurant is a nicely decorated restaurant, centrally located at town center of Luang Prabang. Its menu is very limited, but the food quality is quite good. It offers Asian cuisine. The Grill fish is excellent whilst the price is very reasonable (35,000 Kip / US$4.5). The dessert is also good. The staff service is also attentive. It's a nice place to dine and its location is quite near the Night Market.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shanghai
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very nice little restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2012 via mobile

The decor is simple and elegant, the staff was very friendly, the food was delicious.

We would suggest:
- grilled fish
- chicken with Basil
- fried pork
- curry
- sticky rice
- Lao pancakes

This is surely a place to go back. The menu is relatively small but dishes are tasty: mix of Thai and Lao food.

The service was excellent.
The price reasonable.

Well done

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The tables also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to The tables? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The tables, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.