We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Victoria Xiengthong Palace

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Victoria Xiengthong Palace to your Saves list
Victoria Xiengthong Palace
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Kounxoau Road, Ban Phonehueng, Luang Prabang, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Luang Prabang
hanoi
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Nice and quiet place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

3 nights in July, very agreable, not so rainy for this season.
The temples near are very beautiful, the passage of monks outside the hotel at 6 am is ritual.
A very good memory of those few days
Pic up at airport with cosy car.
Grand suite is a nice room,with Jacuzi, amenities is good with bigger soap.
Breakfast buffet has some Lao food delicious, eat on terrace is well mornig and evening (only if not rainy)
Staff are helpfull, French GM and French Chef give good location to stay.
Good price for this time.

Room Tip: Grand suite have jacuzi, but little nosy and cold water. Mini bar item are free !
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria_Xiengthong, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear mrbin,

Thank you so much for your kind review regarding your last stay in our property!

Please be assured that i will share your words with all of our team here, and i am sure they will all be proud to see that you gave us the best rating on this website!
You are more than welcome if you have the chance to come back to Luang Prabang,

Thank you again for taking some of your time writing this comment,
Sincerely,

Antoine Lobry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    43
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
41
122
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

One of the most delightful hotels in which we have ever stayed! Located in old town Luang Prabang overlooking the Mekong river and next to the Wat Xienthong, this perfect hotel meets the expectations of the most discerning traveller. Disappointingly, we were only in Luang Prabang for two nights but we'll certainly return and will definitely stay in this hotel. Many hotels have the sobriquet 'palace' but this really was one; it was the last residence of the last king of Laos. The rooms are beautiful and our balcony overlooked the river. From the hotel, it's only a short walk to the shops, temples, restaurants and the night market. Breakfast was pleasant and we had one lunch in the hotel, which was very good. Members of staff were attentive and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria_Xiengthong, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, August 18, 2014
Dear brian_furman2003,

Thank you very much for your kind words regarding your last stay in our property!

We are glad to read that our hotel was one of the most delightfull hotel you have ever stayed!
I will share your compliments to all our team here, and they will be proud to read your flattering comments!
You are indeed more than welcome for another experience at Victoria Xiengthong Palace!

Warmest regards,

Antoine Lobry
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

After staying in an "o.k." guesthouse, my cousin and I treated ourselves to two nights of luxury! Each room was nicely decorated with flower peddles everywhere. The Jacuzzi was fabulous and they had hot water! It was a very peaceful and relaxing stay, located right near the Mekong River.

Room Tip: Choose the suite! It's worth the extra cost!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria_Xiengthong, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, July 27, 2014
Dear Sabrina D,

Thank you so much for posting a such lovely review regarding your last stay with us, at Victoria Xieng Thong Palace!
We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
It would be our pleasure to welcome you back one day in our Luang Prabang property!

Thank you again for your kind words,
Sincerely,

Antoine LOBRY
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed there for our honeymoon, looking for relaxing following a long Journey in Asia. Luang prabang is a wonderfully city that looks like a museum. Everything is harmonious, peaceful, lovely designed, without speaking about the kindness of Lao people,
The hotel itself is located in front of Wat Xiengthong, which is probably the nicest temple in town, and almost everything is walking distance. We tried the hotel Bamboo bicycles from the hotel , witch are really originally designed (all in bamboo!) and quiet elegant to ride in town. it is a good way to explore the city.
This hotel is full of surprise and little attention, like the welcome drink which is amazing blue-colored herbal tea made from the flowers that grows in the garden!! or a honeymoon cake that was delivered to us with a kind word from the manager.

We were personally welcomed by the general manager, who is french, and he came to us almost everyday, to make sure everything was ok, and he kindly shared with us his tips and experience about south east asia.
It is a good place to stay, although there is no swimming pool we had a room with private Jacuzzi and that was amazingly romantic! We were even offered to get breakfast in bed on our last day!!

We would definitely recommend this hotel, for its location, the kindness of management and all the staff, and special care that is given to guests. Although the hotel was relatively empty during low season, the quality of service was 4 star standards, didn't had lunch or dinner but the breakfast was delicious!

Room Tip: choose Grand villas, those roomshave private Jacuzzi, and a small garden in the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Xiengt... H, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear audreyma74,

Thank you very much for your long and charming review regarding your last stay at our property!

We are really proud to read that you gave us the best possible rating on this website. I will share your kind words with all the team here!

It is very important for us to focus on details and personnalized attention. We believe that a honeymoon trip must be a "one-in-a-lifetime" and unforgetable moment, that is why we always give special care for this particular occasion. We are glad to read that you have appreciated it.

We just implemented a new welcome drink, the receipe was given to us by an elder woman in the village, and now we are able to make this magic tea 100% from flowers and herbs of our garden. It is a reat success as everyone is delighted by the color and the taste of this drink. Thank you also for sharing your feedback, it is so important to us.

You and your family are always welcome, if you have the chance to come back to this magnificient city that is Luang Prabang, " the jewel of Indochina".

Warmest regards from sunny Victoria Xiengthong Palace,
Sincerely,

Antoine LOBRY
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I have been to LPQ at least 50 times over the last 20 years (also a lot for work) but this time we just wanted to relax and picked this place. 4 nights is a lot, in particular when one knows the city in and out, but it was just perfect to unwind and relax in this perfect place. It's a very romantic hotel and we booked ourselves into the Mekong Suite. Big room, great and very friendly and attentive staff but one drawback is that the Mekong Suite shares the veranda with a standard room. I found this disturbing since we had some Chinese neighbors and they just walked up and down in front of our balcony door. It was my partners birthday and without telling the staff, they went the extra mile with cakes and other surprises in the room. The breakfast was great, in particular when only a few guest were around since we could order from the menu. Very high quality of food. All in all a perfect stay. Anyway, I found it a bit strange that the GM did never show up though I had the feeling to have seen him from far way. Anyway, maybe he was just not there.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Xiengt... H, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Cape068,

Thank you very much for your review regarding your last stay in our property! It is nice of you to rate us with 5 star on this website, and we are happy to read that youhave appreciated your stay with us!

I will share your compliments with all our staff, they will be flattered by your kind words.
Regarding the partition on the balcony of Mekong Suite, there is allready a plan to separate the vernadas and be assured that it will be done by this month. Our lovely hotel has just been upgraded into a Victoria property, and we are doing our best to upgrade it to make everyone'stay confortable and relaxing.

Thank you for the comments regarding staff's special attention, we always try to provide personnalized service to our guest, and we believe that this is an addition of small details that can make the difference.

Last point, i was surprised to read yours, because as a General manager I am always looking forward to meeting all of our guest during their stay, in order to have their impression and feedback. However, as i just took over this position last month, and as we have a lot of big project ongoing,i was unable, this time, to greet you. Please accept my sincere apologies for this case, i hope it will not affect the good impression you have from our hotel .

All in all, you are welcome back any time if you have chance to visit luang Prabang again,

Thank you again, and best regards,

Sincerely,

Antoine LOBRY
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Vientiane we knew already- that year it was Luangphrabang-an old desire to see and feel this
from a cultural point of view important previous royal centre, That is why we booked Luangphrabang and its surroundings for 3 daysThis "little"city with all its vivid life ,temples and palaces (at the same time the old communistic flags) was very impressive- but the most impressive experience in terms of the buildlings, location ,Mekong view, friendliness of everybody of the staff and not to forget the french generalmanager was the Victoria Xiengthong Place hotel-formar residence of the royal house.
We had a booked a "Mekong suite" ( 2rooms + Bathroom) and this had been the best decision we had made expecting not only some luxurious equipment and furnishing but a place to stay
for particular wellbeing: For example late afternoon. after a whole day excursion what a pleasure sitting on your personal (not at all small,table with some chairs and seatings,everything clean) terrace watching river Mekong , small boats and somewhat bigger
ships, room service is coming serving your happy hour drink gin/tonic and maybe have a smoke.This really is an incomparable experience.
As well an incomparable experience is dinner on the restaurant´s terrace, with excellent kitchen, respectable wine list and outstanding staff, caring for you.Best quality breakfast buffet.
The kingsize bed, safe deposit box, TV, nice iPod music,minibar,aircon chairs, bathroom,
aromatic vapor lamp in the sleeping room,Spa:massage, was 5 ***** in any respect.
Not to forget the personal care of the General Manager.
And everything is clean-clean-clean.
I don´t know whether we shall come a 3 rd time to Laos, but if: : first destination will be the
Victoria Xiengthong.
Summary I highly recommend the hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Xiengt... H, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear ratpackvienna,

Sabaidee from Luang Prabang!

Thank you very much for your flattering comment regarding your last stay in Victoria Xiengthong Palace!
We are delighted to read that staying at our property was the most impressive expereience of your Journey into Laos! We try to do our best to provide all our valued guest a professionnal service, always with a smile, and happy to recieve such a good feedback.

I will share your compliments to all our team, they will be proud to read that you have appreciated their work and friendliness.

All in all, you are more than welcome for your next visit to Luang Prabang, it would be nice to see you again. Just let us know also if you have some friends coming, be assured that we will take good care of them!

Sincerely,

Antoine LOBRY
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

It was good to stay here, the hotel was good, staffs were friendly, service was great. It seems hotel former from palace but still look good. Location is good for me, its not far from tourist area, just 10-15 min walk to night market but its far enough to make this place quiet.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Xiengt... H, General Manager at Victoria Xiengthong Palace, responded to this review, June 26, 2014
Dear Alistitle,

Sabaidee from Luang Prabang!

Thank you very much for wrtting this review regarding your last stay at Victoria XiengthongPalace!
We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your time with us, and i will share your kind words with all the team here!

We would be delighted to welcome you back one day, if you have the chance of coming back to Luang Prabang!

Thank you again, and best regards!

Antoine LOBRY
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Victoria Xiengthong Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Xiengthong Palace

Address: Kounxoau Road, Ban Phonehueng, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 67 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Victoria Xiengthong Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Luang Prabang, surrounded by the golden spires of the town’s famous Buddhist temples is Victoria Xiengthong Palace, the last residence of the Laos Royal Family. This beautiful boutique property has been lovingly restored to its former glory, and once more sits proudly on the banks of the Mekong River. The 26 elegantly appointed rooms and suites capture the essence of Laos’ unique culture and style, with local materials and fabrics used throughout. Look out upon the majestic Wat Xiengthong – the town’s most famous temple, or simply sit back and soak up the ambience of this UNESCO protected palace, the perfect place to discover the wonder and charm of Luang Prabang – the Jewel of Indochina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Despegar.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Victoria Xiengthong Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Victoria Xiengthong Palace, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.