We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly fantastic coffee!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pilgrim's Cafe

Pilgrim's Cafe
Sisavangvong Road | Ounheun Road, Luang Prabang, Laos
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 144 Restaurants in Luang Prabang
Price range: $2 - $10
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Description: Pilgrim's Cafe has 2 locations: one beside the Royal Palace and the other one attached to Rama Hotel in Ban Visoun. Pilgrim's Cafe serves our favorite foods from all over the world. Both the cafes are Air Conditioned with WIFI, Great Music and Friendly Staff.
Luang Prabang, Laos
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Truly fantastic coffee!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Pilgrims cafe has awesome service and some of the best espresso coffee in Laos. Danny trains the local staff to produce a really good espresso.

I am lucky enough to go here all the time. The attention to detail with the coffee and food is awesome. The menu has all sorts of different foods from Nepalese to Mexican to western food and is pretty damn good with options for all people.

The high point is definitely the coffee though, oh yeah and air con... Go and try it!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    25
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
luang prabang
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Affordable, comfortable, tasty!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This is one of our favorite spots in town. We go once or twice a week. I like the eclectic menu which includes Mexican food (only place you can get Mexican in LPQ!), Indian food, and standard Western fare. All fairly priced. Breakfast is pretty amazing there! They also have great specials every now and then. Right now is mango season and you can get a mango cobbler for 5000 kip, which is 60 US cents - can't beat that! The staff are really nice and helpful too.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

I eat here regularly and especially love their wide breakfast selection. The breakfast bowl of fresh fruit, homemade yogurt and muesli is particularly good. Dishes vary from tacos, fried rice and bagels, and are all at a reasonable price. Service is friendly and professional and the aircon, atmosphere and wifi can make it hard to leave! A great cafe

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Proof tripadvisor isn't always right!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Average food for a steep price! We ate several things on the menu and were not full. Boring salad, tiny pizza, weird curry, watery iced tea. Air con is the only good thing here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra_Freeman, Manager at Pilgrim's Cafe, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Sorry you were expecting something else. Regarding the garden salad, I agree and have added carrots, cabbage and broccoli to add more flavor. The curry was replaced with macaroni and cheese earlier this month, so the cashier probably shouldn't have taken the order for curry. The $2.00 US pizza and iced tea are a limited time special. The pizza is on display in the case beside the cashier, so it easy to see if it was enough for a meal. The watery iced tea is not normal, more often the comment is that the tea is too strong. Other than being disappointed with us, I hope you enjoyed your visit to Luang Prabang. Thanks for taking the time to help us improve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Delicious food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Delicious food, good service, and very relaxing place, I come here almost everyday, all menu in pilgrim are delicious, I love all kind of food in pilgrim.

Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pilgrim's Cafe also viewed

Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
Luang Prabang, Luang Prabang Province
 

Been to Pilgrim's Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pilgrim's Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.