We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Good value guesthouse” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Meuang Lao

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Meuang Lao to your Saves list
Villa Meuang Lao
Ban Pakham, Luang Prabang, Laos   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 67 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great location. Good value guesthouse”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for 3 nights in 2 different rooms. One twin, one double. Double room was very nice with lots of natural light, (room 6 I think). Twin room (8 I think) was much bigger but darker room. Friendly staff with excellent English. If the hotel served breakfast and had toiletries in the room would definitely have been 5 stars.
Close to everything but still quiet at night.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    66
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
10
58
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights, very good for the price. Property was well located, clean, rooms were surprisingly large, bathroom was clean and large also. I would give it a 5 circle rating except for the fact that the shower's temperature swung too much for you to get too comfortable. It was manageable but annoying. Other than that, it was a very nice place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
K_Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012 via mobile

Nice property that is excellently located in the heart of old town, near everything. The pros are good size rooms, very clean, free tea, coffee and banana in the lobby. The WiFi was a bit spotty, there is no view to speak of, no breakfast included and the management wasn't particularly helpful in adding an extra bed in a room or securing a taxi back to the airport. For less than 30 USD a night, still very good value for what you get.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for two nights and have booked in again. The hotel is very relaxed, extremely clean, and good sized rooms. The bathroom has a piping hot shower and is also very clean. For the price tag on the rooms this place gets 10/10.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

With so many good reviews for this place, it's hard to add something new. Let me give my summary. The villa: Very good sized rooms, comfortable bed, CLEAN bathroom, private, quiet, friendly staff. There is a/c and fans but we only used the fans.
The area: a small street off the main road by Mekong River, morning markets at top of the street. National Museum and Mt Phousi minutes walk away. It is a very central and convenient location. we walked everywhere from here. Plenty of places to eat by the river minutes away.
why would you pay more when you can get this kind of value?
we stayed 4 nights here and would happily have sayed another week.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

Five of us booked in to the Villa Meuang in August 2012. We're volunteers from Australia working in Hanoi and we needed a long weekend break. Our holiday organiser member could not have found a better place. It's located, as others have said, half a block from the Mekong, with it's great views and excellent dining venues, and half a block the other way from the bustling and intriguing morning market. It's also two blocks from the main street.

The hotel itself is small, quiet and charming. My double upstairs room was spacious with a good bathroom, and shuttered windows on two sides. The rooms, like the hotel itself, have attractive polished wood features and veranda corridors almost all round.

The hotel itself has no dining facilities but the local options are many and delicious. The staff will make you a cup of tea or coffee at any time and lend you an umbrella if, like us, you find you've arrived in the middle of the wet season.

I'll be back. In fact, I might even retire there!

Room Tip: I think my upstairs room was more spacious than my friends' downstairs rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CORSE
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

Very good value compares to others hotels in Luang Prabang. Rooms are cleans and big enough. Close walk to the Mekong River. I would definitely recommend this place to all my friends who plan holidays in Laos.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Meuang Lao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Meuang Lao

Address: Ban Pakham, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 67 Hotels in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Villa Meuang Lao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Meuang Lao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.