We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round wonderful experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of My Dream Boutique Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added My Dream Boutique Resort to your Saves list
My Dream Boutique Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   Ban Mougga Village, Mougaga Street, Luang Prabang, Laos   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 230 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“All round wonderful experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The My Dream Resort is, simply put, wonderful. From the moment you walk through the natural arbour of Bamboo, you are made to feel welcome and relaxed. All of the staff are beyond helpful, the decor is elegant and beautiful and the food is delicious. We stayed in a Garden view bungalow and it was as though we were staying in a private home, with a nice big balcony overlooking lush tropical gardens , perfectly manicured right down to the banks of the river.
There is something magical about Luang Prabang, it exudes an overwhelming sense of peace, and I am happy to say that the My Dream Resort only adds to the magic. I would recommend this hotel to anyone, and offer my thanks and congratulations to the owner and his team. A 5 star experience!

Room Tip: " the Garden view Bungalow provides privacy and beauty"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    399
    119
    25
    4
    1
See reviews for
90
254
54
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
cheltenham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great relaxed hotel with very friendly staff. We stayed in a villa which was well furnished with a lovely view of the well kept gardens. Not far to walk into town over the bamboo bridge or cycle over the bike bridge. Highly recommended.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Stayed at My Dream Resort for 4 nights in April with 4 children (ages 14 down to 7). The accommodations were tastefully decorated with attention to detail (hot water, toiletries, drinks in room). We all loved being greeted in the morning and all day with a "Saibadee" from everyone on staff including the cat. The staff went above and beyond to help us coordinate details of our trip like a ride to Nong Kiaw (he stayed overnight and waited for us) and a reconfiguration of a previously booked elephant tour. The pool was perfect to cool down in in the afternoons. The resort is very peaceful (sometimes overly quiet). I'd say families with rowdy children might disturb its tranquility. The walk into town over the bridge was about 10 -12 minutes and a favorite with all of us. We do not like to be in the center of town with all of the tourists. We also loved having the bikes available to tool around town and get a real feel for LP. We had to get three rooms to fit our brood---took three overlooking the pool. I would not hesitate to stay at My Dream Resort.

Room Tip: higher rooms overlooking the pool or perhaps the garden bungalows. the first floor ones didn't s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We loved this hotel! We were impressed by the friendly staff and amazing rooms! All is made from natural materials and blends in with nature. All rooms have balconies, overlooking the lovely lush garden. The small pool is great to relax after a day of sightseeing. The breakfast is good too. There is a small buffet but the staff is more than happy with anything extra you like, such as eggs and smoothies. We loved the free bike rental and enjoyed biking around town. The location is closeby the centre but at night time it can be quite dark. Better to use a bicycle if you want to go to town for diner and drinks and use the main bridge. During day time you can use the foot bridge, which is managed by a family and you can use for a very small fee. The hotel is just a 15 minute drive from the airport.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Lovely spacious room with a great garden view and very quite, bathroom was beautiful. Very nice buffet breakfast. Swimming pool was small but clean. It took only 5 minutes to walk into town and they also offer free bicycles.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi, Vietnam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

The small boutique hotel is situated about 10 minutes walk from the centre of LP using the bamboo bridge in the dry season...20 minutes walk if you go across the metal bridge. Quiet location on the banks of the river with nice gardens.Some residual noise from surrounding locations but not so bad. Small pool with about 10 loungers...seats not people!
Staff are hilariously inept but so nice its hard to be critical. Things don't get done...change a light bulb...fix the aircon...bring food at the same time so the attention to modest details is poor.We had a suite at first and it was good although the sink did not work and the bathroom was a little smelly.Changed to a standard room for late checkout and these were nice and better value.Be patient, take some mosquito repellent and you will have a good time. Good service to and from airport. Guests of all ages...mature to young singles and kids.

Room Tip: Standard rooms better value.Big difference in price between high and low season
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SomnuekLuangPrabang, Owner at My Dream Boutique Resort, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear guest,

To meet the standards of western guests' service expectations is really hard in Laos, but we are trying hard to get our staff trained and upgraded thanks to your patience and guidance. Your criticism helps us a lot to improve the quality of our service. The same applies to the amenities and bathroom facilities as the maintenance requires constant efforts from our side. However, we greatly appreciate your understanding for slight inconveniences and assure you our willingness to achieve better results in all issues you mentioned.

With Best Regards
The Management Team
here at My Dream Boutique Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lara, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed in early April for 2 nights only as they were fully booked for the other nights that we were in Luang Prabang. We travelled with two girls aged 14 & 11 and this resort ticked all the boxes for us. We chose this hotel based upon reviews on this site and the fact that it has a pool and we were not disappointed. Our stay was excellent with brilliant customer service from all managers and staff and the added bonus of great food at very reasonable prices. This hotel would suit singles, couples and also families. They offer free airport pick-up and a shuttle service to the old town area which is very handy even though the resort is only a 15 minute walk away. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to My Dream Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Dream Boutique Resort

Address: Ban Mougga Village, Mougaga Street, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 230 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — My Dream Boutique Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a peaceful garden, leading down to an uninterrupted view of the Nam Khan river, My Dream is an oasis of tranquility, just minutes from Luang Prabang's bustling town centre. Rooms and furnishings of natural woods and woven Lao fabrics blend seamlessly into lush surroundings. Sunshine streams through floor-to-ceiling glass doors, which open out to private balconies. You may choose a room in Sala, Chandara, or Latsana, or select your own bungalow – or bungalow suite. All are light, airy, and a reflection of Lao culture and design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your My Dream Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage My Dream Boutique Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.