We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of My Dream Boutique Resort

Save Saved
You added My Dream Boutique Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
My Dream Boutique Resort
Ban Mougga Village, Mougaga Street, Luang Prabang, Laos   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 221 Luang Prabang B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We have just travelled through Indochina and this was the best hotel of all. It is set back from a little village (so don't be alarmed when you arrive) and you walk down this little path and then you see the hotel lit with tiny lights - it is stunning. It doesn't have all the modern amenities but that is what makes it so special. Every member of staff liked to have a chat (even the manager does his best to come over) - and the gardener who keeps the gardens beautifully. At the end of the garden you can sit and look over the river. The rooms are gorgeous, bowls of fruit on arrival, a balcony which you can lean over and almost pick the bananas yourself and mosquito nets over the beds. Very comfortable and welcoming. Free shuttle service into town and airport and you can use the pushbikes the hotel offers anytime. Breakfast is nice but not a huge selection and it is all wooden so the rooms can be quite noisy (you are asked to keep the noise down and the manager advised that they are working on this problem of noise). I would highly recommend this hotel - and whilst it is a little out of town - you can walk there easily. Beware the Bamboo Bridge though to get into town - tricky to get down to and a bit ricketty and creaky - not for the faint hearted!! There is another bridge though which is a little more stable. There is also a lovely swimming pool where Jack the resident hotel cat enjoys sunning himself on the sun loungers there.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the higher floor - the best view of the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    269
    97
    21
    2
    1
See reviews for
69
170
46
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

This was my second stay at this lovely hotel. The staff are wonderful and will arrange anything you need. Walking back over the bamboo bridge as the sun sets over the Nam Khan river is delightful. Make sure you stop for a browse at the little jewellery shop next to the bridge (hand made by a lovely recently married Lao girl who speaks perfect English). Dyen Sabai is a great place for cocktails or a meal, but we also had delicious pizzas at the newly opened pizza cafe just down the road from Dyen Sabai. It's run by a friendly Canadian called JP who has opened the pizza place to help fund his English school. So you're supporting a good cause when you enjoy a beer Lao and a pizza!

My Dream also funds some schools in the Luang Prabang district. Somnuek will organise a visit to one of the schools if you're interested. It was a wonderful wonderful experience. The children were so excited by my short visit and the teachers very friendly and appreciated the gifts of pens, pencils, chalk and frisbees. It takes 2-3 hours as the schools are in the hills outside Luang Prabang.

My Dream is a very special place. Very comfortable, high quality but they go the extra mile. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights with out 2 children (8 and 11) just after New Year. It was perfect. We had connecting deluxe rooms and found the place lovely and quiet. It’s a little out of town, but in my opinion this is a bonus as it makes you travel a little more and experience the delights of Luang Prabang. We used the free bikes every day and cycled our way around the town. At night there is a free shuttle bus into town, or we just walked, and on the way home we quite often would just jump in a Tuk-Tuk for about 50 000 kip. All the drivers knew the location of the hotel so it was no problem.
The rooms were clean and new, the staff helpful and the breakfasts perfectly adequate with a lot of choice. One of the reasons we chose this hotel was because it had a swimming pool for the kids to enjoy in the hot afternoons. There are not too many places in LP with pools.
The location is not a problem as LP is such a small place, and it’s a bonus to have some peace and quiet at the end of the day away from the busy street life.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We split our stay in LP between two hotels, My Dream and then another more affordable one in the center of town. We loved My Dream for the resort itself but also really enjoyed being right in town for the rest of our stay.
On the first day, we took the bicycles into town (about 15 minutes but was a great ride). Around town we saw plenty of signs advertising bicycle rentals but the bikes looked pretty beat up, so we were very glad to have the free ones from the hotel. We also arranged a motorbike rental through the front desk one day and took it to Kuang Si Falls (highly recommended as the road is pretty empty for whole journey).
There were plenty of nice touches - mosquito coils around the restaurant tables at sunset and little pots of burning coal were placed under the tables on a particularly cold day. The staff is very friendly and most speak very good English.
From the back of the resort, you can walk to the river where there is a single bench making for a intimate place to have a drink.
We would definitely recommend staying here, either for part or the entire time you spend in LP.

Room Tip: The rooms overlooking the pool on the second floor are nice and a bit quieter than the ones in the n...
See more room tips
Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We are a couple and stayed at the hotel in December 2012 for 5 nights.

Summary of the review: Good hotel to rest and splurge a bit. Food is quite good, staff is very gentle, the free bike rental is very nice (crossing the river bridge by bike everyday just feels awesome!) and the room is simple but clean and has a balcony. Only downside is the price: we payed 75 dollars a night there and personally I think it is too expensive given we were in Laos or SE Asia.

Now, some details of the hotel:

LOCATION: The hotel is located on the other side of the river. For most attractions and the night market, you will have to cross the bridge. This could be a problem, but for us this was actually quite good fun. The hotel gives us free bikes to explore Luang Prabang and riding the bikes feels great! Therefore, if you like exploring a city and dont mind riding bikes the location wont be a problem to you. However, if you dont likes bikes or going around, the hotel location can be a problem

ROOM: Rooms are simple but nice. There is an aircon, TV and a private toilet. Also, we stayed in rooms with balcony and it was quite pleasant to stay there at the end of the day drinking a beer.

STAFF: Staff was very friendly and helpful. Nothing to complain here - only complements.

FACILITIES: The hotel has a big garden and is located just next to the river. The swimming pool is very inviting but we did not use it in the end.

Our stay in Laos was the best in our SE Asia trip, and the hotel contributed for this. Still, 75 dollars a night is pricey for what the hotel offers. Compared to what we have seem in Laos, Cambodia and Vietnam, I would say that a fair price would be something like 40 dollars a night (which is actually above what we paid in other hotels, so we are treating the my dream resort with a premium)

Room Tip: There are several types of rooms in the hotel with different rates. In the middle of our stay we mov...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SomnuekLuangPrabang, Owner at My Dream Boutique Resort, responded to this review, January 12, 2013
Dear Helviolc,

MY DREAM boutique hotel had carefully selected its location years ago. The criteria for it was to be near the city center but not too close to it as to avoid its hustle bustle and the noise it brings about. Most of the guests cherish this location as there are free bicycles available by which one can reach downtown in 10 minutes by the old bridge and during the winter season there is a bamboo bridge crossing the Namkhan River that shortens the distance to the core city to about 10 minutes walking.
The prices of MY DREAM are moderately calculated taking the standard of amenities provided to the guest into account as well as the general standard in that category of a small boutique hotel in Luang Prabang. There have been little complaints about that so far by our esteemed guests. Of course, this city may have a somewhat higher price level as other cities of its size in Southeast Asia, but this is due to Luang Prabang’s unique world heritage character and the rich testimony of temple architecture and other cultural legacies it provides.

With Best Regards,
Mr HUNG POR
and the Management Team
here at My Dream Boutique Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

We are staying for 4 nights at My Dream and are loving it. We have a spacious bungalow overlooking the garden that runs down to the river which is spotlessly clean. The restaurant and reception overlooks the pool and then the bungalows are a walk down some steep steps. Breakfast is good and hot and eggs are cooked to order. The staff are helpful and there are plenty of bicycles for guest to use. We have been walking and the town is not far over the pedestrian bridge. Each evening we get the free hotel shuttle to the night market and have dinner at a restaurant before getting the shuttle back. The other rooms are near reception and are higher up the hill. The textiles for sale at the night market are very good quality and interesting.It's a very relaxing hotel and well worth a visit. Highly recommended for couples or families.

Room Tip: The bungalows are very comfortable and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

As a family of four with two teenage children, this resort catered to all our needs.
Our rooms were perfect as up in the upper side looking out high. We stayed here for five nights in total. On the final night of our stay my partner and I had to move rooms as they had double booked our rooms however we had booked at least 6 months prior. This was a bit of a disappointing ending to the stay here but it seems we had no choice. It was a bit annoying trying to pack the bags that night with the kids down the other level. The manager had been so good to us during our stay that we decided that moving was best to help all involved.....
Positives :-
-- relaxing resort and loved pool area
-- comfortable well designed rooms
-- free use of bikes
-- manager attentive to your needs

Negatives :-
-- out of the action of the town
-- yes fruit platters would be good at breakfast
-- please invest in some good toasters that toast quick

Overall we loved this place, and was everything we hoped it to be. I would recommend my dream boutique resort for your stay. You will arrive travel tired and leave feeling refreshed and happy.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SomnuekLuangPrabang, Owner at My Dream Boutique Resort, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear Franjipanikoonya ,

Thank you so much for your good review, MY DREAM boutique hotel is heavily booked in almost every season and our hotel team is gratefully acknowledging this, but sometimes there are unfortunately shortcomings in our reservation planning. We are very sorry about this and can only admit that we are working on it. Changing of rooms are disturbing and may be time consuming; we know and try to avoid it, of course.

With respect to the negative aspects of our esteemed guests' assessment we are thankful for the suggestions and we consider ready made fruit platters to be supplemented for breakfast and also the toasters might be ready to be changed soon. The location, however, cannot be changed and is praised by many guests as most cherish MY DREAM'S calm and relaxed atmosphere outside the hustle bustle of the city center.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to My Dream Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about My Dream Boutique Resort

Address: Ban Mougga Village, Mougaga Street, Luang Prabang, Laos
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 221 B&Bs / Inns in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a peaceful garden, leading down to an uninterrupted view of the Nam Khan river, My Dream is an oasis of tranquility, just minutes from Luang Prabang's bustling town centre. Rooms and furnishings of natural woods and woven Lao fabrics blend seamlessly into lush surroundings. Sunshine streams through floor-to-ceiling glass doors, which open out to private balconies. You may choose a room in Sala, Chandara, or Latsana, or select your own bungalow – or bungalow suite. All are light, airy, and a reflection of Lao culture and design. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your My Dream Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage My Dream Boutique Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.