We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay in Luang Prabang” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kiridara

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Kiridara to your Saves list
Kiridara
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   22/13 North Road | Ban Naviengkham, Luang Prabang, Laos   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 67 Hotels in Luang Prabang
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Pleasant stay in Luang Prabang”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I am glad we stayed at the Kiridara as we had a very enjoyable experience. The GM was friendly, helpful, in fact, there were no complaints about service with the exception of having to call the hotel when our pre-arranged pickup at the airport failed to show. But the rest of the time, we found the shuttle service into town and pickup was easy to arrange and convenient.

I am puzzled by comments about the staff as without exception we found the front desk staff, the shuttle drivers and the restaurant staff, to be pleasant and quite friendly. Absolutely no complaints with the service.

We stayed in room # 3 which is near the reception and did not have a view except of the terrace and pool. The staff showed us one a bit higher up, but basically the same view so we stayed with the original room. It was actually more convenient as I could just climb onto a low wall over the garden and get to the pool directly. Also our room's balcony area was below the garden and the shrubs afforded more privacy when I would have coffee outside in the early morning. As to stairs, I was traveling with my mother (87 years old) and she had no problems negotiating stairs to the pool or upper area of the hotel. If this is a concern, ask for one of the lower rooms near reception. The beds were super comfortable and we slept well and were not disturbed by any noise.

There were a couple of minor nitpicky things that could be improved (and this was true of all the hotels we stayed in with the exception of the River Resort): better lighting in the rooms (I was glad I packed a head lamp for reading); the shower floors were quite slippery, as were the steps in the pool. I swam mostly in the evening and had the pool to myself--always nice as I like to swim laps for 40 minutes. I did not notice any mosquitoes during the day or night. In fact, we didn't have to use any of the repellant we had packed.

The first day there was a breakfast buffet in the restaurant. We helped ourselves and then went upstairs to the terrace. The following days there was no buffet so we ordered from a menu and sat at the terrace. The staff might want to explain breakfast options to guests as there was some confusion initially about ordering the meal and where we could sit. (Restaurant or terrace by the pool). The omelets, bacon, fruit plate and toast were fine. Coffee (latte) was good.

Overall, I recommend the hotel and would stay again. The manager and his staff are doing a fine job.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your kind note in TripAdvisor that your enjoyed your stay with us. Also, thank you for your comments in regards to lightening in room and slippery shower floor, will look into it and rectify at the earliest. my sincere apology having not picked you up from the airport, will address it to front office manager to check into it, and not to repeat it again in future.

Thank you again, We look forward to welcoming you again in not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    304
    70
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
72
174
39
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (92)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Minor things detracted from our stay. Rooms well designed and breakfast very good. Lovely outlook from the infinity pool. Unfortunately some distance from the historic town centre. These strong points were diminished by not being always picked by the hotel shuttle, breakfast dishes not being promptly collected, uncontrolled children in the pool area and surliness of some staff when requesting use of the hotel shuttle. It seemed we were spoiling their day. During our stay the hotel accepted "day guests" to use the pool to the detriment of full paying guests. This results in fewer recliner chairs available at peak periods. Large mosquitos appear at sunset if sitting outside. Generally not relaxing around the pool when children were around and there were quite a few around. In hindsight would have been better selecting to stay in a town hotel without a pool as we travelled multiple times each day.

Room Tip: Reassess your need for a pool as it might not be relaxing if poorly controlled children are also sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your stay with us, also thank you for sharing your comments on Transfer shuttle, uncontrolled children at the pool area and mosquitoes at the pool deck during sunset time, i will address it to the mangers concerned to look into it and rectify it at the soonest.
Thank you again, and from today we look forward to welcoming you again in not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buderim, Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

From the time of arrival on being greeted by the Assistant Manager to our departure four days later my wife and I enjoyed the facilities of this excellent hotel and the readiness of the staff to help in any way possible.

It's location somewhat removed from the city centre is a plus especially with the ready availability of the shuttle service not only to deliver but also to collect.

Wonderful pool and excellent restaurant.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for your Kind note in TripAdvisor. We look forward to welcoming you again in not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

My travelling buddies and I were recommended to stay in the Kiridara Hotel in Luang Prabang for our local Travel agent in Singapore. When we arrived at the hotel, we were taken aback by the entrance to the hotel and its beautiful ambience - a far-cry from what you see from the main road! The rooms are big with a balcony overlooking a swimming pool and its surrounding greenery. As the units are also built on an ascending slope, those at the top would have the most picturesque view, especially in the late evening when the lights are on! Amenities of the room is superb - large and airy; roomy and very clean washrooms, complete with wireless functionality and a TV. The hotel provides super services, especially for the breakfast spread. We have travelled extensively but this is one hotel which provides one of the best breakfast spreads! It is really good value for money. We will definitely choose to stay at the Kiridara when we visit Luang Prabang again.

Room Tip: Rooms in the top units are the best if you have no problems climbing up there. As all the units are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments on TripAdvisor, we look forward to welcoming you soon in not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

The Kiridara is a well managed attractive hotel situated a little way out of town in an elevated position with some nice views. Walking into town is a bit of a track but the hotel offers a free shuttle in and out of town at any time , just specify time and place of pick up, they are very obliging . We used the hotel bikes for a day which are free and enabled us to get out of town a bit. All very safe.
Rooms are spacious and most look onto the pool. Clean towels every day which is nice. Good breakfast to suit all either in the restaurant or around the pool terrace. Most people seem to have dinner in the town as we did. Lots of choice from street food to fine restaurants. Manager of hotel very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: During the school holidays in Hong Kong etc the hotel attracts more family's so a room away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for your lovely comments on TripAdvisor, which will motivate us to strive for perfection.
we look forward to welcoming you soon in not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

An all round positive experience for my whole family 2 adults and 2 secondary aged children. Not disappointed at all. The hotel had excellent service and attention, from the manager across to all staff. No issues of concern. The High Tea in the afternoon was a particular favourite with the children! Whilst it was on the edge of the town, the shuttle bus enabled easy and regular access, as did the bicycles. Thanks for a great stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you for your Kind note in TripAdvisor, that you had a great stay with excellent service and attention.
we look forward to welcoming you again in not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Dear Francis and staff,

Thank you for an excellent stay. From the moment I arrived I felt like a valued customer. As a single female traveller I appreciated the on time pick up from the airport and the personal greeting from Francis at the hotel was a lovely touch.

The room and the hotel were faultless although the gym is not worth a visit. It definitely required more equipment including some free weights if it's to get any real use. I booked the hotel including because of the gym but didn't use it.

The other downside is the location. For such a short stay I would have preferred being closer to the city. I didn't have sufficient time to familiarise myself with the location to ride on one of the free bikes (which I otherwise would have). The driver service is acceptable but could be improved by clearer English communication as to pick up points, or even a regular shuttle style at peak times to allow guests familiarity.

Another suggestion is diet soft drinks in the mini bar.

This seems quite a critical review but is not. The above points are minor. The breakfast was outstanding. My room impeccably maintained. The staff only too pleased to assist ( for example, when my tour was running late reception staff telephoned them twice for me to ensure they were coming- this gave me great peace of mind).

Had I stayed longer and had additional time, I would have found the distance from town less of a hindrance and also had the chance to fully enjoy all the facilities. I will definitely return and recommend this hotel. I suggest it is particularly well suited to more upmarket travellers especially couples who do not mind walking biking or driving to town and are prepared to pay a relatively premium rate. 5 stars without a doubt. Katherine

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrancisLaos, Hotel Manager at Kiridara, responded to this review, November 3, 2013
Thank you Katherine for your lovely comments in TripAdvisor, which will motivate us to strive for perfection, also thank you for sharing your suggestions, i will make sure it will be addressed to the concerned managers to look into it to improve further.
Thank you once again, and from today we look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kiridara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kiridara

Address: 22/13 North Road | Ban Naviengkham, Luang Prabang, Laos
Phone Number:
Location: Laos > Luang Prabang Province > Luang Prabang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Luang Prabang
#7 Family Hotel in Luang Prabang
#7 Luxury Hotel in Luang Prabang
#8 Romantic Hotel in Luang Prabang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kiridara 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kiridara is an elegant, contemporary and luxurious boutique hotel located in the mystical city of Luang Prabang. Our 24 room boutique hotel scaled on a hillside and surrounded by native teak forests, offers panoramic views of Mount Phou Si, with easy access to central Luang Prabang and Luang Prabang International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Splendia, Despegar.com, Priceline, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Jetsetter so you can book your Kiridara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kiridara Hotel Luang Prabang

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kiridara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.